Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice location!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The location was close to many good restaurants. Very polite and helpful staff.
Cons: The restaurant/bar service could be improved - along with the communication regarding needed repairs in the room.
Location: Close to many good restaurants, China Town and Little Italy.
The hotel staff was very helpful and very smooth check in and check out. Not a fan of the view in our room, or the all-glass windows in the bathroom, however, they were able to cover the bathroom window when requested, for privacy. The in-room safe was broken, and despite 2 phone calls, was never repaired. We had slow service in the bar and restaurants although the food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The 7th Floor Foghorn.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
I'm a Ny'ker so the noise from the city is bearable. However, you may want to ask about the rooms that lets out a really loud foghorn like noise whenever someone, somewhere in the hotel uses their bathroom in the middle of the night or early morning. Closing our bathroom door helped muffle the foghorn; but it was incredibly loud and obnoxious, and definitely a rude awakening especially in the middle of the night. Not sure how many rooms heard this noise, but I'll be surprised if we were the only one. Otherwise, the room was super clean, staff was fine, bed is a little stiff but fine, and the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Was very nice. I enjoyed the bath tub with the steam. The staff was very nice and it was an overall great weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Adam P., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! So happy you enjoyed your stay. Our soaking tubs and steam showers have become a signature amenity for us along with our amazing staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back anytime. All the Best, Adam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Great experience!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
What a great stay! We stayed in the corner room with balcony and the room was amazing with great views. The staff was incredible and the room was great. Definately recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Adam P., Hotel Management
Thanks Krysta! We loved having you and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for sharing your pictures. We hope to have you back on Rivington anytime. All the Best, Adam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on CheapTickets
Staff couldnt be anymore helpful particular housekeeping. They gave us a grt room and the area is just tons of fun. Bars, restaurants, shopping everywhere you look. Would def recommend and go back to the Hotel on Rivington!
3 out of 5
by Crystal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good place I would stay again. The most comfortable bed ever. Very quiet. Cool room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello there! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review. Very happy you enjoyed your stay! Our beds are all Tempur-Pedic mattresses with Frette linens. Hope to see you again soon on Rivington! Best, Adam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing. Lighting was not good - either harsh white or nothing from only ceiling lights. No lamps or controllable lighting by the bed. Mattress and bedding were quite comfortable. But the bathroom, especially shower floor, didn't appear clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello there, thank you for your review. We value your feedback and really appreciate you staying with us. I will follow up with our team about getting some more dimmable lights in the room. Our beds are all Tempur-Pedic mattresses with Frette linens and we love them too (thanks!). I can assure you though that our rooms are cleaned thoroughly top to bottom and if you experienced anything otherwise, we'd be happy to correct it straightaway or move you to another room. Cleanliness is a basic offering for us and we certainly focus on that. Thank you very much for your review. All the Best, Adam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional view, great location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The view was amazing. Great location. Clean comfortable room. Responsive staff. A few minor problems with thermostat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Adam P., Hotel Management
Hello there and thank you for your "exceptional" review! We love hearing from our guests and are delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Hotel on Rivington. I trust the thermostat was sorted out efficiently, must keep cozy in NYC this time of year! We hope to have you back soon! All the Best, Adam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
PROS: Ceiling to floor windows in the room. Large room. Pretty decor. AMAZING french toast room service. CONS: A ceiling to floor window IN THE BATHROOM that could not be covered. You had to turn on the hot water and wait until it fogged up slightly in order to use the toilet or shower in privacy. Super weird and not at all environmental. Another con is that there was someone's half-eaten plate of food in the mini-fridge when we arrived. It was shoved in there since there was no room to actually use the fridge since it was filled with overpriced beverages. We would have liked to use the fridge. I also didn't like that the room didn't have a peep hole. Considering that guests don't have to use a key card to use the elevator at night, the security didn't feel so great. I recently moved from NYC, so I'm not a scaredy cat, but it's never smart to open your door without checking who's there. My final irritation is that the room service menu listed incorrect hours so on three separate occasions when I tried to order dinner or lunch they were CLOSED. It was really frustrating since I was traveling for business and just wanted to relax. All in all, this hotel could be great but it just needs to fix a couple of things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Adam P., Hotel Management
Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving us your feedback. It is very helpful in our quest to always improve. There is no excuse for our lack of room service during the printed hours or some the minibar not being cleaned out. Very embarrassing and we apologize for these oversights. We do however require key card access to use the elevators after-hours as well as having a pretty tight security throughout all hours. I will followup with our Enginerring team regarding the peepholes, thank you for mentioning this. We do also provide privacy screens for the bathrooms and can gladly have them installed if you would consider visiting us again. We very much hope you will give us another chance! All the Best, Adam