Ratings based on 8,586 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Outdated hotel badly needing refurbished

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Rooms not clean. U have to go out the hotel for your paid breakfast which is served on a tray with plastic plates and cutlery
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Just what you need

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Security, location, free wi-fi and gym.
Cons: Some of the staff in reception could be kínder. A Christmas activity for guests could be a plus.
Location: Empire State Building, Times Square, Penn Station (to go everywhere when you don´t want to walk), Fifth Avenue, Macy´s, Manhattan Mall, and much more.
This hotel - fourth time I stay here - is perfectly located, with good staff (some are not as kind as others, but it does not mean they´re bad), and I´ve got free wi-fi and gym. And rates are fair and did not get any extra charge when I check out, that´s what I was told; by the way, check-in was fast, and check-out not the same, but at least faster that the other times. Maybe I could complain because for a little more than 24 hour did not have wi-fi (it just disconneted, but then it was solved), and I had problems with my key (the second day it did not work, I chaged it and the same the next day, but forunately my boyfriend´s key did work all the time, so nothing to die for). I´ve always left in the room, with no security mesures, what I buy, and everything is fine when I come back. Maybe the hotel should make some free Christmas activity for guests, I don´t know, it could be fun and a plus. Love to stay at Hotel Pennsylvania.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

So disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Not worth the money for an old and very dirty hotel room. Beds are super gross
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice location

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast service
Cons: Condicionts and prsentation of the rooms
Location: near from all major attractions
It was good as I only used it to sleep, however it should improve the conditions and presentation of the rooms. Excellent breakfast service. Nice location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, trade off is out dated rooms.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Our first room in the 7th floor was unacceptable. Not as advertised, was really dirty and outdated. The hotel staff was extremly nice and upgraded us to the 12th floor. That room was clean, updated and quiet. It was just getting there. The hallways were dark, dirty and stinky. Overall for the price of the room in NY on New Year's Eve it was a great deal. The hotel staff made it right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Time Square NY

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Hotel staff was very good. The installation of the hotel very poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location that's about it

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel is right in the middle of everything and that is great you're close to everything but for the price you're paying the rooms should be better. The rooms are ugly and very old looking and they don't have a microwave or fridge which all hotels I've been in do have so for the price you're paying it should at least have that and the rooms should be nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Value pricing is this hotel's only benefit.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Value and location
Cons: Everything.
Location: It's mid town, so everything is at your doorstep, including transport and shopping.
Well, you've read all the reviews and the picture should be very clear to you what you're going to experience at the Hotel Penn. Value and location are its only guest offering, because it really doesn't have any other redeeming qualities. The hallways and rooms are something out of a 1940's move set, which was also probably the last time they did any upgrades to the hotel. This hotel seems to be very popular with European travelers and those looking to save money on the hotel so you can spend it on other activities, and there's always some wisdom in that. Set your expectations low, then reduce your expectations again by half, and then you'll be able to smile knowing that you're getting value pricing and will in a good location. I did notice that the front desk staff seems genuinely friendly, worthy of note given some challenges that go with being a receptionist at a crowded budget oriented property, and some of the cliche customers that come with that level of property. Will I stay there again? I'll definitely try not to. If I had to stay there again, then I will check-in with appropriate expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Convenient to public transportation and in easy walking distance of shopping and sights. We were there over Christmas, and they may have been short handed, but our room was never cleaned some days. LONG lines for checking in and out, so be sure to purchase early any luggage tags you need to store luggage and take advantage of express check-out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine stay for what it was.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Not that nice but priced well for the proximity to everything near Times SquareThe Staff were all friendly and there is a nice bar downstairs.