Ratings based on 19,409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Nice hotel I Belén travel To NY for few days and all the área by the hotel was god
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel, opposite Madison Square Garden.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Location! So close to everything you will want to visit!
Cons: Bathroom could have used a new tub, but that was only a minor issue.
Location: Its close to everything! Highly recommended!
Hotel Pennsylvania was a great choice! Located close to broadway, times square, the Empire State Building, pretty much everything. The subway is right on the corner and Macy's is on the block next door. It wasn't right in the heart of New York so it was a quiet enough place to rest your head at night. Staff were very friendly, and helpful, free breakfast included and the Wifi service was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reserva de hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Antes de reservar en el hotel llamé porque llegábamos a la 1 am y quería confirmar si teníamos qque pagar una noche extra, 2 personas me dijeron que no. Al llegar allá resulta que no tenía reserva, a esa hora y la gerente me dijo que era imposible que alguien de su hotel me hubiera dicho que no necesitaba una noche más. Pagamos la noche extra pero teníamos que hacer check out al día siguiente para que empezara a correr mi reservación, perdiendo 1 hora en una fila porque ellos no me podían dejar en la misma habitación. Por otro lado las habitaciones son viejas con olor a húmedad, el calentador hace mucho ruido, las alfombras están manchadas, los azulejos del baño también se ven manchados.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ANAHEIM,CA

great location

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: location location location
Cons: everything
Location: very close to The Empire State building and Times Square....and LIRR right across the street, a short train ride to JFK
feels old and could use some upgrading, its a great budget friendly place to saty. If you're looking for a place to shower and sleep its perfect. Cant beat the location...you get what you pay for. Will be staying here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for a Madison Square garden event

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The hotel is not WOW, butt it's OK if you are traveling to NY for a show at Madison Square garden. Because when show finish, don't need taxi. Only cross road and that's it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Terrible management and customer service.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Through Expidia I booked a room with two twin beds at Hotel Pennsylvania. Upon check-in I was informed that they didn't have any rooms with twin beds available, that they do not guarantee room types and that I had to call Expedia since they were the party who promised such a room. I refused to call Expedia since Expedia and Hotel Pennsylvania are the parties in business with each other and if there was a discrepancy in what they say they can deliver and what they can actually deliver, it means that their reservation systems are not properly integrated, nor is there consensus on what they offer. I am the customer, not the person who should sort out their operational problems. I should not be inconvenienced by the inept working relationship between Expedia and Hotel Pennsylvania. If the person at front desk immediately took ownership of the problem and showed a sincere attempt to solve the problem instead of charging me with calling Expedia to resolve it myself, I would have been much more willing to accept their offer of a roll away bed. In the end I had no option but to accept their offer of a roll away bed. Even though they in a sense upgraded me to a better room, it was the unpleasantness of having go into confrontation with the front desk clerk and manager before the problem was resolved that ruined my say. Later I heard rumours that Hotel Pennsylvania had rooms available, but that they could not be serviced sinse they laid of a large number of their housekeeping staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth it for location not luxury

Posted Feb 9, 2016
It is near and walking distance to everything. However hotel is very old. Not worth it if you are there for luxury but I will go back as it is convient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Hotel is old but the location is perfect.... They are renovating the rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, with good comfort

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The room and the bathroom with the fluent water hot an cold.
Cons: The server for the wi fi. Also, be explicit with breakfast.
Location: Excellent location, (7th and 34). All is nearby.
Very good room, with an excellent service of hot and cold water for the bath. Very well location. Nevertheless there are two little minus. One: the wi fi did´t work (perhaps because an insufficient server), Two: The breakfast is only a ticket for a store and not very generous. This is not objectionable "in se", but i think that is correct to know before and not after you close the trasaction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and outdated

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I stayed here for 5 nights. Upon arriving, I had to call twice to the lobby and had to wait 30 minutes for the electricity to turn on in the room. The front desk said they cleaned the room but I found left over food and drink in the fridge from previous guests. Since the electricity was off, the leftover food made the room smell horrible. Plus, the room had no ventilation. The walls and chair were covered in dirt and stains. It definitely was not a good experience.