Ratings based on 21,560 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Old Hotel, Good Value, Great Location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Great central location, lots of transportation options. Old classic feel to the hotel.
Cons: Check in took over 30 minutes. Long line, not enough staff, and they admit it's always like that. Concierge never answered phone, it rang 45 minutes.
Location: Madison Square Garden and Penn Station are right across the street. Tons of places to eat and shop.
Slow check-in, but the room was fine, clean and usable. No more or less than advertised. Furniture was old, desk a bit wobbly. Office chair at desk was the newest thing in the room. Nice TV, heater & plumbing all worked fine. Cordless phone handset was dead, had to use speakerphone or remote phone. Mattress/sheets/pillows fine but headboard was loose on the wall. Tons of high school kids in February. Not a problem, just surprised at how many. Not too noisy. Good value overall, I'd stay here again for a budget trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJO

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Room was extremely dim, small, no security box, bathroom was OK, except for the shower floor that was cracked and had missing tiles. I will definitely go back again, but I will pay the superior room, the Penn 5000
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

functional

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: cheap, good position
Cons: renovation is underway (I think) but the pace needs to increase. still quite tired-looking in places
Location: opposite penn station, plenty of yellow cabs outside, subway etc. near Empire state building and maceys.
I use this hotel every time I am in new York. it is cheap, and conveniently located opposite penn station
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Feb 22, 2017
There are definitely better hotels for the same price in the area. They gave me 3 sets of key cards that did not work, then they gave me a free upgrade to a room with a broken door you can just push to open with no key card. Then there were charges on my credit card the hotel staff could not explain although the charges were from them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
My friend and I had reservations..got up to the room it was filthy- the sheets were nasty and the toilet was over flowed and it smelt terrible..we immediately went back down to cancel our room and they told me if I called Expedia I could get a refund. The hotel is being difficult about giving us our money back when we didn't even stay there for more then 5 mins!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Cleaning staff were lovely
Location: Superb location
Hotel is spot on for location, it's a bit dated but worth the money you are paying for it, it served its purpose for our stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please don't any one in your website

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Please takeout this hotel from your website, this hotel is not worth of single star
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never staying here again.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
First off all staff was very slow, I checked in on a Friday you would think they'd have more staff checking in guests. It was two people and the line just got longer and longer. The room was not worth the stay considering the TV did not work what so ever all you heard was sound no video. What I did hear throughout the night was the guest next door coughing every 5 minutes. The shower curtain was dirty with black marks not sure what that's about. The room was a good size but even the heater was old and knows seemed broken. Again never staying again, I regret even giving them my money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Du Bois, Pa

Good hotel for West Minister Dog Show

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Can't beat the location. Staff was great.
Cons: Old hotel needs renovated. Check in time is ridiculous.
Location: Perfect location. Right in middle of everything.
Was concerned after reading reviews. My family rented two rooms. Not quite as nice as pictures show. The air conditioning didn't work, but window opened and worked just fine. Our room was clean enough, but old. Phone and clock radio didn't work. My kids tv didn't work well either. We had our phones and notepads so didn't matter. Also, didn't spend much time in hotel so other than the long, long, long check in lines, it was fine. Front desk crew and maids were very nice and helpful. We were there for the West Minster Dog Show. Most of the dogs stay here, so definitely worth it. They also had a free shuttle every half hour to day shows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

good location. good value. Met expectations.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Good location. Across from Madison Square Gardens and easy walk to Times Square and he MOMA. Dog friendly!
Cons: The rooms not renovated are cheaper and that's ok. Check in needs to be easier. Check in staff are very good though.
Reasonable value for NYC and very historical location.