Ratings based on 8,585 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

inexpensive for midtown manhattan!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The price, the location, the classic design of the building.
Cons: More staff at check-in, new in-room radiators.
Location: My god, it's right over Penn Station!
It is a poorly-maintained hotel from a bygone era. I loved everything about it. It is extremely practical - outstanding price&location! Two things weren't perfect from my perspective: the check-in line was very slow (about 40 minutes), but I think it was a fluke of timing (we showed up at the same time as a big crowd). And the heater in the room seemed to have two settings: 75F (on) and 65F (off). Well worth it for the price and location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Great location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great location hotel outdated not clean , we had a room that was not clean we asked to change it they did but the second room was the old furniture not clean the beds you feel the wires . But its in a great location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A crime scene

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Over a 2 hour wait to check in, we arrived at 7:30 on a Fri night. Room was filthy, small and musty. Holes and streaks all over the walls. Wouldn't bathe my dog in the tub, it was so gross. Pay extra and find a better place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always LOVED this hotel!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: This hotel has really great history. You should read about it online!
Cons: Rooms are clean, but I suppose they could be renovated...for the picky among us...
Location: EVERYTHING'S nearby. It's directly across from Penn Station, and on 32nd is the really cool St. Francis of Assisi.... Macy's is 2 blocks away -
At the right times during the year, I'm able to get fabulous rates for my stays at this hotel in NYC. The location cannot be better, and the staff has always been helpful and efficient. This hotel, denigrated as it has been by others, is my favorite for affordability, location, and staff receptiveness!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommend this hotel.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Close time square.
No clean, comfortable, good condition. Small room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodmere

Excellent hotel would totally comebagsin

Posted Jan 10, 2017
I had a great time at the hotel would come again I enjoyed the cable in the room the staff were very helpful and friendly the service was amazing I look forward to coming again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Horrible and never again

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Horrible horrible . The lobby is very deceiving . When we got to our room our door was very beat up . The bed was very low to the ground. They only provide you with 2 very flat pillows . The bed was super hard. The shower floor looked so nasty I had to wear slippers . Didn't trust it . The shower itself it's really small . The shower head spits out the water so hard it hurts and u can't move the shower head . My hair was soaked and I didn't even wash it . There's no microwave. They don't provide you with complimentary soaps toothbrush toothpaste none of that . The line to check in was super long . Now I see why I paid very cheap . I get what I pay for but I've seen 50 motels way better then hotel Pennsylvania!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Motel 8 in Manhattan

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Now I can see why they charge such low prices. It is all about putting as many people in one place, not about excellence Not a great place at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bug, aging Central hotel, great as a base

Posted Jan 6, 2017
3 night stay over NY. Second time we've stayed and never had a problem!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Outdated hotel badly needing refurbished

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Rooms not clean. U have to go out the hotel for your paid breakfast which is served on a tray with plastic plates and cutlery