Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay, dated / needed maintenance.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The look and feel. The spa, and quite a long menu to order from.
Cons: Bathroom, had been renovated/ repaired too many times. No bathroom fan. The decor is obviously dated and in need of replacement or new finishing.
Location: It's NYC, there is quite a bit to do nearby.
Excellent staff, however the room I was in was a bit dated and need of maintenance. My better half reported that her massage in the spa was "absolutely incredible". I did stay in one of their smaller rooms. Would I repeat? Probably not, but overall I did enjoy my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel upper east side

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This hotel is well located on the upper east side. It is surprisingly quiet at night and a true respite from the hustle and bustle of NYC. The staff is very professional. The bathrooms are small and clean but not very updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Excellent

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I had a One night stay during a snowstorm and all the staff was accomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sj

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Plaza Athenee did not disappoint!! Overall great hotel, great location and staff. The rooms are spacious compare to other NY hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and lovely hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Room service and food expensive and not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine

Elegant and classic hotel close to Central Park

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The Plaza Athenee is an elegant hotel close to Central Park. The rooms are comfortable though the hotel decor may need some updates in a few areas. The SPA is excellent . The entire staff is very attentive and makes the guests feel welcome. The bar area is not large but very comfortable after a long day in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Luxury Hotel on Quiet Street

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The Plaza Athenee' is our favorite NY Hotel. The facilities are lovely, the location is perfect and the staff has always been extremely attentive and accommodating. Front desk, doorman, room service or bartender - all make you feel special and welcome. The only downside is that we have to leave always too soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Great location, truly lovely staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Great staff!
Cons: Bar/restaurant was ordinary.
Everything was lovely. Little things in the room could have us some TLC, table tops next to bed were badly watermarked. Overall it was a very nice experience. The concierge went out of his way to reassure me that he would help me get to my train if there were problems due to a planned demonstration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely small hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Perfect blend of small, personal, and discreet. Staff was very attentive without being fawning or intrusive. Room and public areas were very comfortable and warm. Extremely was well maintained and regularly serviced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paris in NYC

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Gorgeous hotel on lovely quiet elegant Upper East Side of Manhattan where youbfeel looked after in an intimate luxurious way! Understated luxury!