Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, great location, very expensive bar

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The ambience and the location.
This hotel is very nice, the staff is professional and very helpful, the location is excellent, the room was very comfortable. I would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you can afford it, do it.

Posted May 16, 2017
This is a classic, small luxury inn of the sort one finds in larger cities and in resorts. Well trained staff anxious to help, perfectly functioning albeit older facilities and good food and drink. Quiet, yet centrally located. LuThere is little to complain about and a lot to make you happy. Just be prepared to pay the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Posted May 3, 2017
Instead of providing a renovated room, which nearly all of the hotel's are, we were "double upgraded" into the room that is held for hotel staff in case they have to stay overnight. The room has not been improved since the hotel opened; it has no separate shower, the bathroom sink counter had a huge, unfilled crack running across the width of the marble and mold in the caulking around the ancient tub. The faucets are so old they do not turn or close easily. This is not what a five star hotel facility. The staff decided to provide a room that was not at all worth the money that I contracted for. Shame on them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but deceiving.

Posted May 3, 2017
Unfortunately, this hotel is not fully renovated! The pictures depicted on the booking page are NOT the actual hotel room. When I complained, the staff was kind enough to move me to the model room that is shown in the pictures. My colleague however, was in an old unrenovated room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Upper East Side elegant, immaculate hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The staff, the bed, the pillow, my room, my breakfast!
Cons: The bathroom was lovely but a little dated. Not much counter space but enough for me. The tub/shower combination was older and less than ideal.
Location: Barney's, Bergdorf's just 5 blocks south and 2 blocks west. Many of the museums are well within walking distance as well.
This was the best, most comfortable room I have ever stayed in while in NYC and I have been coming for over 30 years. It was quiet (interior room 603), dark enough, cool enough and the bed and pillow were divine! Room service breakfast, while expensive (yes, NYC), was beautiful and delicious. The staff couldn't have been more solicitous. While a little off my beaten path, it provided me with extra walking time in great weather. I will definitely look into staying there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic NY hotel but needs some refining

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Bathroom not fully stocked--had to request items. Ditto a delivery that sat at front desk. Can hear noise easily from halls and other rooms. Toilet had flusher bar that you use your foot to depress--should definitely be updated as it was a pain to use. Weren't told that the kitchen would be closed for the week and there aren't a lot of restaurants in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aspen

Small but lovely room.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Staff are unbelievably nice...great location..charming hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
My only two complaints are the phantom phone calls in the middle of the night and the cost of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and elegant small hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Large room, great staff, great bar, good location, all round wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay, dated / needed maintenance.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The look and feel. The spa, and quite a long menu to order from.
Cons: Bathroom, had been renovated/ repaired too many times. No bathroom fan. The decor is obviously dated and in need of replacement or new finishing.
Location: It's NYC, there is quite a bit to do nearby.
Excellent staff, however the room I was in was a bit dated and need of maintenance. My better half reported that her massage in the spa was "absolutely incredible". I did stay in one of their smaller rooms. Would I repeat? Probably not, but overall I did enjoy my stay.