Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely small hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Perfect blend of small, personal, and discreet. Staff was very attentive without being fawning or intrusive. Room and public areas were very comfortable and warm. Extremely was well maintained and regularly serviced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paris in NYC

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Gorgeous hotel on lovely quiet elegant Upper East Side of Manhattan where youbfeel looked after in an intimate luxurious way! Understated luxury!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aspen

Great staff and a fantastic location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The staff were exceptional. Rooms older but immaculate and comfy. Incredible location. Great room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novi, Michigan

We Will Be Back

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Quiet. Nicely decorated in the rooms and in the public areas. Friendly and helpful staff. Location.
Cons: I would just be making something up if I put something here.
Location: Located within walking distance of many landmarks including Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square and a short ride to everything else.
We researched so many hotels in Manhatten before our trip and Hotel Plaza Athenee was both highly rated and has a good of rates as we would be able to find in the pricey Midtown district. It is off the beaten path on 64th street but within easy walking distance of all the places we wanted to visit including Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Shopping, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. It was a very short cab ride to other locations like the Empire State Building and Soho that we visited. The hotel itself is best described as a "boutique" hotel that is very nicely appointed, quiet and you will not find more friendly and helpful staff in any hotel. The rooms were very nice, quiet and my wife and I commented we wanted to ship the bed home because it was so comfortable. We ate lunch in the lounge our first day and the food was very tasty as well. Overall, this was a five-star experience. We will be back! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel condition

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Cons: Total renovation
The hotel needs an urgent renovation. Old bathrooms, lots of dust...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location small hotel staff not very pleasant

Posted Jan 1, 2017
I have booked for 4 people at the hotel they told me this room is only for 3 people so I paid 100 per day and 75 for extra day for a bed per day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Great location a bit dated

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We loved the location of this so hotel as it is so close the central park and the shops on Madison and fifth avenues. However, the hotel can benefit from a renovation. The staff were helpful and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The staff treated us like royalty
Location: Great location near Central Park
it was like finding a little piece of Europe in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

This is an old world hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room, and ambiance.
Cons: Modernize the bathrooms a bit (tub?), and perhaps the carpeting.
Location: Amazing location for shopping, dining. Centrally located....
Plaza Athenee is a lovely, old world hotel. The rooms are a decent size for NYC, but this is an old hotel, so elevators, carpets, bath fixtures, etc. are older. The hotel does not have a real lobby, and the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday. That being said, it is surrounded by great restaurants, recommend Il Molino for Italian, Vauclause for French. It is in the heart of Madison Ave shopping, and is a private discrete hotel that gets a lot of well known guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Exceptional Staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Wonderful hotel with old world ambiance but with every comfort. Also excellent spa.