Ratings based on 4,240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Très bon séjour en famille. Excellent service au Sofitel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Excellent position of hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Fantastic time in NY. Hotel great with fab restaurants next to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

過ごしやすいホテル

Posted Feb 11, 2016
立地が便利で居心地も良い快適なホテルでしたオススメのホテルです また利用したいと思います。 浴室がキレイなのとベッドの寝心地も 良かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Mycket bra hotell. Bra läge centralt i staden.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Bra sängar, trevlig personal samt att det finns wi-fi på rummet.
Cons: Tydligare information på hotellrummen om minibarer osv.
Location: Det bästa är närheten till det mesta. Times square ligger bara något kvarter bort. Där tar du enkelt tunnelbana vart du vill. på Manhattan.
Mycket nöjd med hotellet, väldigt hjälpsam personal. Tillgång till både stationära datorer för utskrift samt att det finns tillgång till Wi-Fi på rummet. Rummet i mycket bra skick, otroligt bra sängar. Vilket är viktigt om man ska turista mycket vilket innebär mycket gång och hålligång.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Nice hotel, in a good location. On the quiet side. Stayed in an Executive Suite, which was very roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location. Friendly staff

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Nice hotel. Rooms have everything you'd expect. Staff were friendly. Location was excellent. Walking distance from central station, top of the rock, bryant square and times square (but far enough away to avoid the noise)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culpeper, VA

What every Grand Hotel should be!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
From the moment the doorman steps up promptly to pull the brass door handle, to the smiling "Bonjour!" greeting by all hotel staff to the polished marble of the foyer, I felt like I had been transported much further than present-day 44th & 6th. This is what a hotel is supposed to be like! The front desk attendant (Nicholson) was professional, personable and highly efficient and was sincere in his assurance to see to our needs. Our room was relatively small but immaculate and very comfortable. Turn down included bottles of Evian! The hotel is far enough from busy 6th Ave to be very quiet. Breakfast was delightful as David promised my wife the hot chocolate of her dreams (which she confirmed) and their salmon eggs benedict were superb. I loved this hotel and will look forward to staying here again when next I need to return to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful Overnight Stayed

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Location, hotel service, staff
Location: Closed to all major sites- shopping, shows, restaurants, subway.
My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Sofitel hotel. It was our anniversary weekend. We didn't know what to expect from the hotel since it was our first time here. At first we were not sure if the staff will be helpful and friendly as it is labeled as "French Hotel". All the staff that we have talked and met were all friendly! The hotel manager gave us champagne and chocolate cake for our anniversary which we never expect. We loved it! The room is clean and bed is comfortable. The Magnifique breakfast that we got from our reservation was fine as well. The waiter assigned to our table serviced us well. His name is Dos. Overall, we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevens Point, WI

Home Away from Home

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Friendliness, comfortable bed, quiet rooms.
Cons: Fixtures could be updated. On our stay, TV had broken HDMI inputs and fuzzy reception.
Location: Fantastic location. Broadway within walking distance, great transit system in the city, and shopping everywhere.
In the last decade, each of our twice-annual visits to Manhattan has always been marked by stepping through the doors of the Sofitel. Truly our home away from home, it feels intimate and luxurious without being overwhelming and gaudy. Close to Times Square and Broadway, it's an excellent place if you're a fan of the arts. Admittedly each trip we've made has been as a couple, and while there may be more family-oriented hotels, Sofitel is perfect at being a cozy spot for couples and business travelers especially to recharge for the night. The rooms are fairly generous in size, given the location, and I absolutely love the marble bathrooms with their showers and tubs. My only complaint here would be that I've always wished they had proper locking doors for the bathroom for *ahem* privacy, but turn on all the faucets and you get that privacy while mother nature weeps. There's an attached restaurant and bar hidden around the corner from the reception that serves not too bad, albeit overpriced food (but this is to be expected at a luxury hotel). However, none of that matters because, well, you're in New York City... Great food could be had just a couple blocks away. As for the staff, we're almost always pleased with their level of service and attention to detail. Sometimes however, they can go overboard, such as when we forgot to put the 'Do Not Disturb' sign up, and an over-eager housekeeper kept calling at us for several minutes through the latch for turn down service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but doesn't feel luxurious

Posted Feb 6, 2016
It's a lovely hotel experience and the location at 44 and 6th is great. I appreciate that when I asked for high floor and quiet I got 23 floor and it was very quiet. Fine bed and pillows. I like when the tip sheet is the duvet cover bc then I know it gets washed and I don't feel gross sitting on the bed. But it's not a particularly beautiful or high end feeling room and it's pretty tight w the two beds. Bathroom is good size and good counter space. Enjoyed the lanvin products. Very disappointed in the ineffective and incorrect delivery of my special amenities gifts. I kept reminding front desk of what I wanted but I didn't get my request. Very much enjoyed meals at Butter Midtown right out the back door and Fig and Olive a few blocks away. School of Rock very fun show.