Ratings based on 9,852 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Value!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Polite staff, clean room, great location. Great value!
Cons: Would like a refrigerator in the room.
Location: Nice location just one block from Times Square!
Older hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms, but nothing fancy. Wish there were a refrigerator in the room, but what a great value and location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Driffield, East Yorkshire

Excellent location

Posted May 24, 2017
Just around the corner from Times Square, the location of this hotel is perfect. It is a little tired, but the room was clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galapagos Islands

Nice hotel, very very good located.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The location, besides it is very traditional
Cons: The asensor
Location: Perfect location nearby times square, you have restaurants, shops, pubs attractions very close even the public transportation
I recommend Hotel St James, basic hotel with an amazing location, close to the most popular atractions, just around of time square. The staf very nice and they are improving their facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth, MA

excellent location

Posted May 23, 2017
Hotel is old and needs updating. Also has no amenities. However location is great and staff is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very affordable and pleasing basic hotel.

Posted May 22, 2017
The first night we were in a room at the front of the hotel which we found to be far too noisy for us. The hotel, without any hesitation, immediately moved us to a room at the rear which was much more quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and of course the location is excellent, being less than a block from times square (a place that you learn to avoid after being there a few days as it is extremely busy with lots of touts and street sellers after your dollars). Although the hotel itself does not have any amenieties of its own in the sense of a bar or restaurant I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting an affordable centrally located place to stay in New York with tonnes of deli's and bars within 10's of yards of the front door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Time Square and Broadway

Posted May 21, 2017
First visit to New York and really enjoyed the city and hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly good hotel in the theater district.

Posted May 19, 2017
Older, but well-mainined property in the middle fo everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Simple room but an awesome location

Posted May 19, 2017
This hotel was perfect for us. It was half a block from Times Square and it allowed us to be close enough to walk everywhere. The room was clean just very small and simple but that is all we needed since we just used it to sleep at the end of the day. Most of the time we were out exploring the city so the tiny room was no big deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

couldn't have asked for better!

Posted May 18, 2017
We had such a great stay at the Hotel St James, all the staff were lovely and the room was always so tidy upon our return. It's really close, REALLY CLOSE to Times Square and the shopping district and about a 10 minute walk from Central Park so everything is within reach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel dated but spotless clean, great location,

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel st James, Joey the receptionist very friendly and helpful, always smiling, dated but spotless, 2 great deli next door and Times Square and end of st, great location, will defo recommend to anybody