Ratings based on 9,307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Excellent
Check in very quick and staff very helpful. Great location for exploring New York. Nice deli and bars adjacent. Hotel is generally clean and tidy. One down side of our trip was that we did not receive our early morning wake up call that was requested.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful, simply wonderful!!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
A great hotel in a wonderful location - friendly staff and nice rooms - THANK YOU!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location and very comfy beds

Posted Dec 7, 2016
loved it. just stepped out and on the heart of the city. great wee diner next door
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great location, clean room value for money

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The rooms could have a little DYI
Location: The Irish bars and the Roof Top bar on the same row was a great night out.
The hotel was in a great location, the rooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels and beds made. However the hotel is very basic, no drinks bar and the radiator was held up by a wooden little block, which we found funny. The room was not cold at all. We was out of the hotel more hours then we was in there, so cant fault it really, you get what you pay for. There was wi-fi throughout the hotel which was a blessing, and the staff was so friendly and happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

nice hotel central location

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Amenities like coffee making facilities, fridge
Location: Hotel was central for all trips I had planned
Although the hotel was of an older style and in need of a revamp it was fine and central for what I needed from this trip,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near all attractions

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Good location although lack of sleep due to noise from main street at night. You get what you pay for no frills.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York. NY

Ideal Location for Times Square

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: As I have stated the staff are very friendly, the location to Time Square and of course the comfort and clealiness of the hotel.
Cons: I do not think you could really improve it, maybe coffee making facilities, but then again, there is a wonderful deli just two doors down.
Location: 200 yards off Times Square. One end of the street is Times Square the other is 5th Avenue. You are within walking distance of Central Park, Macy's.
The Hotel St James is ideally situated just off Times Square, the staff are very friendly and helpful and very. The hotel has roughly 144 rooms and it has the feeling of a family run hotel. This was my 4th time staying here and do not have any qualms about recommending this hotel to other people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amstetten, AT

super Lage

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Lage
Cons: Fenster tauschen/renovieren
Location: nähe Times Square, gute Anbindung zu öffentl. Verkehrsmittel
Zimmer war relativ groß (2 Doppelbetten), allerdings waren die Fenster sehr undicht, sprich, es war nachts sehr laut. Hotel ist aber super gelegen, somit würden wir nächstes Mal auch wieder dort buchen. Preis/Leistung passt!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great location for Times Square and central park

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location, value for money
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing. Blocks of wood propping up the radiator does not give a good impression.
Location: Fantastic location for central park and times square. Close to Penn Station for transport to-from Newark airport.
The original room we where given was very hot/stuffy so had to open window wide to get some fresh air. The room was also a little on the small side. We spoke to the guy on reception about it... sorry can't remember his name. We where offered a different room which turned out to be bigger, cooler and with a bigger bed. Can't grumble at that customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Joey, Hotel Management
We look forward to your future stay!