Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

Well located to good restaurants and museums

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Many good restaurants and bars located within a few blocks. Also close to the Guggenheim Museum and only a few blocks from Central Park.
Room was nice, with a small living room and a TINY bathroom. Also had a kitchen. Overall, for a king suite, I would rate it a 3, especially for the price. However, the hotel staff was friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

A GEM

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Location, size and staff
Cons: Just a of talc, tired looking in some places but not a criticism.
Location: A road away from Central Park , museums, subways, restaurants, deli's on your doorstep. If you get on the subway or a bus you can go anywhere.
Lovely small hotel in an excellent location. Nice traditional look on entering which follows through to all areas and rooms. Staff were all friendly and helpful whatever time of day. The free tea and coffee on the mezzanine 24/7 a bonus, staff and guests soon got used to the English lady in her robe early mornings getting tea for three! Rooftop terrace also a treat as the weather was glorious and you can see Central Park which is so near. No facilities up there but you can take food and drink up ( no glassware though). Only downside for me was that we were at the front of the hotel and Madison Avenue is extremely busy all the time. Thank goodness for earplugs!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely hotel with lots of character

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Hotel was a lovely old building with lots of character. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Location for us was perfect as we were near Central Park (a block away) for the kids to have a run about yet also near enough to the subway to get to downtown easily. There is plenty of space to use in those rare down times on a busy trip which we found invaluable especially as we were visiting with friends and for the children to play in. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
綺麗なホテルで使いやすかったです。値段も安く、チェックアウト後に荷物を預かってくれる等サービスも良かったです。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Rochelle

Hôtel très bien placé

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Son emplacement, la disponibilité et la gentillesse du personnel
Location: Central Park, le MET...
Wales Hôtel est idéalement placé proche de Central Park et de la ligne de métro 4/5/6. Le MET est à 10 minutes à pied, et Times Square à 20 minutes en métro
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Hotel Wales

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Beautiful, old hotel with a great restaurant. All the staff were helpful & welcoming. Great service at a lovely hotel in a quiet neighborhood. One block from Central Park and within walking distance of the Met and several other museums. We had a roomy king suite with bedroom & sitting room. We'd definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carrollton Virginia

Pleasant surprise first try

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Bell person looking at his cell phone when we arrived, did not acknowledge us. We entered what turned out to be the wrong door -- to a restaurant.
Location: Very nice "Paris Bistro" across the street. Proximity to Met Museum and Lexington Subway -- handy upper east side location.
Great location for our objectives and pleasant surprise on upside for our experience. We arrived to find that we had been "ungraded" from our 2 DBL to a "king suite", but we explained this was actually a sort-of downgrade for us, since we strongly prefer 2 beds -- one of us has some pain and tossing/turning during the night that can be worse for both of us to be in same bed -- even a king. The desk person said they did the "upgrade" because they were full, and therefore we could not get a 2 DBL. We went out for the afternoon and early evening, asking that perhaps the clerk could consult with management. When we returned, we were more than pleasantly surprised to find we now had a 2-queen suite -- VERY nice. We also found the 2nd floor lounge area with coffee in the morning was a pleasant site. Parking was also handled well -- bell person took the car to a nearby garage. We had checked this already on a web site, but convenient to have the hotel take care of this detail. Overall a very nice experience, and we will come back whenever we are doing business or visits on the upper east side.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Ria

La pasamos bien

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: En especial la atención de la gente
Cons: Si, con servicio de alimentación al cuarto.
Location: Central Park muy cerca. Esta en la milla de la Museos, Gugenheim y otros muy cerca. Un metro cerca para desplazarse a downtown Manhattan.
Edificio viejo pero acogedor. Baños pequeños. Lo mejor la atención del personal, amables, serviciales y resuelven las necesidades del cliente. Lástima que no tienen servicio de alimentación al cuarto. Excelente ubicación para visitar Central Park, cerca de un metro (aprox 4 cuadras).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Lovely room. Perfect !

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Very good location and nice staff. The 24 hours cafeteria is my favorite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salina, ks

I have stayed with Hotel Wales 5-6 times past 2 yr

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Very close to my son's home at 84th and Lexington area. Less than 10 minute walk.