Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Rooms Too HOT

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The decor and the overall European ambiance.
Cons: Get the proper AC to cover the square footage of the tiny room. I had to endure seating it out in the bathroom while putting on my make up.
Location: Great location and you can walk to many major attractions.
The tiny room was very clean and perfect for one small person, however, room that I stayed in was very warm even with the window AC on. It only cooled for a few hours and then it was hot. Also, it was an extremely loud AC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Dear Allison, Thank you for your comments from your stay with us recently. We were happy you enjoyed the location of the hotel and especially the ambiance which is always commented on by our guests. We are very sorry that your AC was not working properly for your room during your stay and wish we could have resolved this issue while you were with us. Our team is very good to resolve guest issues although we do not get them often. We hope you will give us another opportunity next time you are in NYC so we can make it up to you. Have a great rest of your summer. All the Best. The Hotel Wales Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from italia

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Buona zona ma lontano dalla subway. Hotel vecchiotto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry we are not closer to the subway system but we are Upper East Side which is a little distance from the subway. We are in a very quiet neighborhood. Our hotel is older from the point of being quaint and smaller. Thanks again for your comments and have a great rest of your summer. The Hotel Wales Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

Well located to good restaurants and museums

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Many good restaurants and bars located within a few blocks. Also close to the Guggenheim Museum and only a few blocks from Central Park.
Room was nice, with a small living room and a TINY bathroom. Also had a kitchen. Overall, for a king suite, I would rate it a 3, especially for the price. However, the hotel staff was friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

A GEM

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Location, size and staff
Cons: Just a of talc, tired looking in some places but not a criticism.
Location: A road away from Central Park , museums, subways, restaurants, deli's on your doorstep. If you get on the subway or a bus you can go anywhere.
Lovely small hotel in an excellent location. Nice traditional look on entering which follows through to all areas and rooms. Staff were all friendly and helpful whatever time of day. The free tea and coffee on the mezzanine 24/7 a bonus, staff and guests soon got used to the English lady in her robe early mornings getting tea for three! Rooftop terrace also a treat as the weather was glorious and you can see Central Park which is so near. No facilities up there but you can take food and drink up ( no glassware though). Only downside for me was that we were at the front of the hotel and Madison Avenue is extremely busy all the time. Thank goodness for earplugs!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
창문이 이중이 아니어서 조금 추웠어요.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just say no -

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was extremely uncomfortable. Room was tiny and claustrophobic. Bed was a double, not even queen size. I would NOT recommend anyone stay there.
4 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kelly from Colorado

Great stay in NYC

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Our first time in NYC. The Hotel's location on the Upper East side had a neighborhood vibe that made us feel welcome. Central Park was nearby and offered a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of sight seeing. All the attractions were easily accessible via nearby subway stops. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous, especially Alek and Shaheen in helping us with transportation. I will come back and stay here again.