Ratings based on 736 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Small, very comfortable European style hotel with unprepossessing lobby, but charming rooms. Mine was a mini-suite, very well decorated. Sarabeth's restaurant on the first floor (not attached to the hotel) is good for breakfast, and there are quite a number of good restaurants in the neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank yu so much for the great feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear from you and were very happy we took good care of you while you were with us. We do hope to see you again so we can serve you you next time you plan in visiting our neighborhood. Thank you ad all the best. Steven Kipnis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This old hotel is beautifully renovated.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: excellent location
Nice people, rooms large enough, wonderful restaurant with it. We're coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to sedn us our great 5 Star score and your feedback from your recent stay with us. We so much appreciate hearing from you so you can share your thoughts with our future guests and we can do the same with our hotel team as we love to hear what you have to say. We were so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and that our staff took great care of you. We do so much look forward to seeing you again next time you plan on visiting the NYC area. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Mt. Sinai Hospital

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very professional and kind staff, particularly Lorraine. Hotel staff immediately addressed and resolved to my satisfaction two concerns I had with the room. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Hotel is within reasonable walking distance or short, inexpensive hired transportation to Mt. Sinai Hospital. There are good restaurants, a bookstore, markets, pharmacies, and other shops in the immediate area. Highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Morning and thank you so very much for the great feedback for our team and future guests. We do appreciate hearing from you and we were so happy that our team went out of their way to insure you had a great stay and thank you for pointing out Lorraine as she will be thrilled. It was also good to see we were close to your needs of Mt. Sinai and within walking distance for you. We do look forward to seeing back again next time you come to our neighborhood. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean. Convenient. Nice staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017
I would recommend staying here for various of reasons. Staff was very nice & accomadating. A block a way from Central Park. Room was super clean & affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Steph lane Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear from our guests on their stays with us so we can share them with our hotel team and future guests. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our accommodations and of course, our great staff. We were glad to serve you and look forward to seeing you again next time you return to our neighborhood. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Little Hotel in NYC

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
This is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at Hotel Wales. Same great accommodations and service. Convenient location in Manhattan close to Central Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Flag, Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear from our guests on their stays with us so we can share them with our hotel team and future guests. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our accommodations and of course, our great staff. We were glad to serve you and look forward to seeing you again next time you return to our neighborhood. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Tiny rooms but handy location for Upper East Side

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Handy for jogging around Central Park in the morning.
Cons: Bring in the TARDIS to make the rooms bigger! Provide a buffet breakfast. Get new lifts. Fix the gym. Replace the heating.
Location: Central Park. MET, Guggenheim, Design Museum all near. Subway stop a few blocks away.
Very convenient for Mount Sinai, Central Park, MET etc... but expect tiny tiny rooms and not much else, no fridge, no microwave, very narrow beds. I heard two other guests complain about room size and one about the heating. Hotel doesn't provide breakfast but there is a good (if expensive) restaurant next door and cafes around the neighbourhood. Two achingly slow (and of course tiny) elevators take you up and down. The heating in my room was ok but the radiators 'banged' through the night like some prisoners were trying to communicate to each other. My colleague's room heating wasn't good. The M level does have a spacious sitting room with some coffee in a thermos in the corner. Miniscule gym, running machine broken. I stayed for a week and was glad to leave. Fine perhaps a short break (if you don't mind 'tiny'!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Morning Dee, Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We do appreciate the comments so we can share them with our hotel team and continue to work on improving our services and hotel for our guests. It was great to see you really enjoyed our location for your needs here on the Upper East Side. We do want to apologize for the issues you mentioned related to our standard size rooms which you reserved and heating at times in the hotel. As you might know, our hotel was opened in 1901 and unfortunately we do have an older heating system which at times does create a bit of noise but and we are sorry for this inconvenience. Regarding our rooms, we price our accommodations on the room sizes which is why the rates are lower on these standard rooms. We do have half our hotel are suites so we hope next time you return to our neighborhood, you might reserve one of these which will provide you much m ore space for the length of time you might need. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

A shower to die for, but the rest is a disaster

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Near hospital. Free paper.
Cons: Maintenance
The shower is big and fancy with two heads and great pressure. The rest is not good, and disappointing. The room is small and cramped, terribly hot, even with the radiator off, it was over 90 degrees in the winter with windows that don't open. The phone and the door latch did not work. The free coffee was not filled in the am. Check in was slow. Good location for Mount Sinai Hospital and free NY Times was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Morning Sport, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate the comments so we can always work to improve our services for our guests. We were happy you enjoyed our great location and shower system in the rooms. We do apologize that you felt the room was small for your needs. We do price our rooms based on size and we hope you eill give us another opportunity next time and reserve one of our beautiful suites. We are also sorry that your phone and latch did not work and hope you were able to reach out to our responsive team to resolve these issues. Please give us another chance to show you our great hotel next time you return to our neighborhood. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean and comfortable hotel Upper Eastside

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Central Park, 3 Guys Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, proximity to bus lines, Jewish Museum.
My sister and I stayed here six days and entertained her 10 year old grandson who was on school break. We enjoyed exploring the area, finding affordable and delicious restaurant food a few blocks away(3 Guys Restaurant) and slept well in our hotel room. The Staff was responsive to our 10 year old's need for a pencil to do his homework, and several other requests. The second floor Mezzanine is spacious and made our card games easy to enjoy. Also enjoyed the Penthouse view on the roof to happily take advantage of the warmer than normal February weather. We will return to Hotel Wales.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Steven, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon MJ and thank you so very much for the great comments from you recent stay with us. It is so important for us to reach your feedback so we can share them with our hotel team as we all enjoy reading what you have t say so we can continue to improve our services for our guests. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and amenities such as our Carnegie Lounge and 24 hour Coffee/Tea service for our guests. Our Rooftop Terrace is always well received and as you said, very nice that our weather has been cooperating for you to take advantage of it. We really look forward to seeing you again next time you return to NYC and our Upper East Side neighborhood. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
5 out of 5
by James

Quintessential New York

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is quintessential New York. It's a hundred year old building that has been renovated with the most modern amenities. My room was very stylishly furnished and had a great view of the city and even a sliver of Central Park. With Sarabeth's restaurant next door, a place with great food that many locals enjoy as well, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning James, WOW! Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel while you were with us. We feel so good when our guests let us know we have gone out of way to provide you with great service as this is always our goal. We know we are not perfect but we do strive for that. We re glad you enjoyed our accommodations and location here on the Upper East Side and we do hope to see you back again next time you plan on visiting the NYC area once again. Thanks again and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel - good location - very friendly people. had a good time - good restaurants around and short distance to central park and museums
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning and thank you very much for the 5 Star rating on your recent visit to our hotel. We do appreciate the comments and we were very happy to serve you while you were with us. It was great to see you enjoyed our hotel and our great team at the hotel and we very much look forward to seeing you again next time you return to the NYC area. We would love to serve you once again. Thank you and all the best. The Hotel Wales Team