Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. FL

Hotel Okay, area sketchy.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
I was worried about the hotel because of the area it was in. Once inside I felt better, Hotel was clean and comfortable. I stayed because it said it was close to JFK airport and it offered a shuttle. It was not very close and it did not offer a shuttle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Room smelt like an ashtray, for good reason

Posted Aug 10, 2016
I arrived late in the evening and was pleased to see someone behind the desk who checked my ID quickly. That was then end of the positives. He went off to check the room and came back about 10mins later saying all was ok. When I got into my room the smell of cigarette ash was strong. I later found a pile of ash sitting on the side of the bath. The plug sockets were poorly fitted and dangerous and when I tried to sit on the bed and watch TV to unwind it didn't work. In the morning I went to have breakfast before my early taxi and found that the breakfast consisited mostly of doughnuts and not a lot else. The morning staff were incredibly unfriendly and discourteous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have slept in the Airport

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Our flight was cancelled and found every other hotel close to the airport was booked solid. They staff was nice, the lobby area was clean but as we made our way to the elevator a fight broke out between 2 women that were staying there. The women moved their hair pulling and yelling outside. Our room smelled terrible, something like a mixture of cigarettes and Marijuana. I swept the room expecting a dead body stuffed in a corner. I should have slept at LaGuardia or taken the extra time to go back to Manhattan. The other problem was that the room rate was gouged up in price to a tune of almost 4 times what it normally is. The hotel we stayed in across from Carnegie Hall was more than half the price less of this Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Horrible

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Promised us two cribs. They didn't have any in the hotel, or so they said. Room was grungy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel scruffy and area somewhat rundown.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Bathroom was nice.
Cons: Revamp
Location: Rundown, noisy street.
One clerk, Garry? was a bit uncooperative. Not his job. The other younger, bearded clerk was very helpful. Room was smoky when I arrived, I am a non smoker and easily detected this but it was late at night I had been travelling all day and just wanted to sleep so I did not complain. On the second night of my stay at about 06.15am, someone tried to access my room and actually opened the lock inside the door, so I presume it was a staff member with appropriate key. The chain prevented further access and I was aroused from a deep sleep, but thought I was dreaming. The opened door lock confirmed my observations and I reported this to "Garry", who said he would ask the staff, however by the time I was leaving he had nothing to report.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Should have gone with my first mind

Posted May 23, 2016 on Orbitz
I went against my original thought about staying at a Howard Johnson, and regretted every minute of it. The hotel smelled of mildew and smoke, and my wife lined her bed with the bath towels to not sleep on the covers and end up smelling like a cigar bar. The carpet and furniture need to be completely replaced. Minimum interaction with the staff. Thankfully, checkout and transport to the airport was easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

My time at howard johnson

Posted May 12, 2016
It was good. Needed a place to stay and they gave me one. Decent room but the bed needs work, and wish they had h.d. televisions. Also remove air conditioner. You need a better one.
4 out of 5
by Fazeelah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's smell nothing but cigarette

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Terrible! the room smell like cigarette the bed was uncomfortable, You hear running arguing and I was scared.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from emmett

It's alright not a bad place.

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Smell in the elevator and hallway. Decent customer service, not great. Need better covers.