Ratings based on 6,942 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St George, Ut

Great hotel, near many Manhattan sites.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Banging and Clanging

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Location is great. Super close to the park, Columbus Circle, etc. Great location. The bed was comfortable. Good pillows.
The heat register in the room banged all night long. The hotel staff indicated that the noise was a result of the building being old. I get it, but it was impossible to sleep. It would bang for ten minutes, then stop just long enough to fall asleep and then start banging again. It was startling to wake up to such a sudden noise. I completely expected the super small room - which was fine because I was travelling alone. I'm 5'3" and it was the first time my knees hit the wall while sitting on the toilet! That's how small this place is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stuff for fun, close to the city

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Kt was really good place for the price, had a lot of stuff to do, and close to the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I think the hotel is very expensive for the size of rooms and bathrooms. The restaurant in the hotels is very expensive and is a copy of fast food service ( you have to pick up the food and the options are very limited. Also the hotel doesn't have room service and the charge a service fee for I don't know what
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean small rooms

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Ok experience would like more luxury in the rooms and room size
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Glorified hostel with few ameneties

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Design is stylish. There is a nice bar. Location is very central, walkable distance to 5th ave and central park.
Location: Carnegie Hall, Central Park, Shopping, Transport links
We had a terrible night's sleep and were quite disappointed with the size of the room (literally a couple of feet wider than the bed) and the level of noise - the air conditioning unit is placed directly next to the bed head and windows not at all soundproof - lots of traffic noise. We were not able to do much as we discovered the extent of how difficult it was to get sleep late at night and the hotel said that since we had pre-paid on Expedia, not much they could do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

No room service

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I was desperate for coffee in the morning and had to get dressed and go downstairs. No room service. The cafeteria was like a college dorm. They need a real coffee bar in the lobby ( a cool one opened around the corner they should do a deal!!! )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great staff and excellent location!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Great staff, clean rooms, comfy bed, fun bar!
Cons: The smell in the lobby is overwhelming. Instant headache.
Location: Close to Central Park, lots of great places to eat and shop.
This is my second stay and we love the Hudson. Amazing staff, clean hotel, comfy beds and great location. The only negative is the smell in the lobby is SO perfumy!!! Other than that we love it and will stay here every trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by front desk manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for sending us your feedback. We are glad to read here that we met most of your expectations... thank you also for the highest score! Trust that your feedback is valued, important and will be utilized to propel us to higher standards always. We will look forward to welcome you back and surpass your expectations. Again thank you for your time and for the choice and please accept the very best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Small room close to Central Park

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The location was good and the staff.
Cons: There was no information in the room or the lobby about the Hotel or it's surroundings.
Location: It is within walking distance of most places to see in New York and very close to the subway.
The room was very small, just the bed with minimum space to walk around it. The bathroom had no extraction system , so so after a shower(which was not very good) the room was very wet with condensation. You have to pay pricey Resort Fees whether or not you use them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by front desk manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cherry, Thank you for sending us your feedback. We are glad to read here that our location was perfect for this visit and that our staff provided the usual high standards of service. Please trust that your feedback here is valued and will be utilized to propel us forward towards surpassing your expectations next time around... We will look forward to welcome you back and could perhaps suggest a more spacious room (?). Again thank you for your time here and for the choice and please accept the very best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

To expensive for the size of the room

Posted Feb 9, 2017
It seems like the hotel its old. The rooms are very expensive for its size. The restaurant is very nice environment, but the food is very variety limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by front desk manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sending us your feedback. We are glad to read here that you had an enjoyable visit. Kindly trust that your feedback here is valued and will be utilized to propel us to higher standards always. We will look forward to welcome you back... we could also suggest a more spacious Deluxe room next time (?). Again thank you for your time here and for the choice and please accept the very best regards,