Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glad I chose this hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Everything. The location, the decor and the customer service.
Cons: A place to put the carry on or luggage.
We stayed at the Hyatt Herald for 3 nights. My husband and I were very pleased with their service, the facilities and the location. Check in was smooth and the person who helped us with the check in was very accommodating when I asked if it was possible to have a room with a view. We could see the Empire State Building from our window!. The hotel close to many attractions: 4 minutes walking distance to the Empire State Building, a block away from 5th Avenue, so we could walk all the way to Rockefeller Plaza (1 mile away), Radio Music Hall and Time Square. The hotel has a nice modern decoration and features. The room was small but with space saver furniture. The only thing I would say it was inconvenient, it did not have enough space to lay our carry ons. Customer service was excellent, specially from Raul, a young man who greeted us every morning when we came down to the lobby. He gave us excellent directions how to get to the September 11 Memorial and also was very attentive. We will stay here again in our next visit to Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location drinks and snacks available to purchase 24 hours.
Cons: Cost of food
Location: Two blocks from the Empire State building, close to Metro and PATH stops, short walk from Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Times Square.
Hotel was very nice, clean, with very friendly staff. Great location in midtown Manhattan near the Empire State Building and several Metro stops. Area was nice and safe, near to shops. My only issue was with the cost of food (which was good), particularly breakfast, though I think this is fairly standard for the area so not necessarily a criticism of the hotel specifically.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chillicothe OH

Engagement Weekend

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very clean and in close proximity of The Empire State Building.
Location: We loved the close proximity of the Empire State Building.
We took a quick weekend trip to NYC for my son's surprise engagement which he planned on doing at the top of the Empire State Building. We booked 3 king size rooms which were very nice and clean. My only negative would be that we had requested a view of the Empire State Building (because of the big question) and none of the three rooms had a view. The rooms were also all on different floors. :-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful well kept hotel and great location !

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Wonderful professional staff . well kept room with all amenities . great to have a 24 hour gun . restaurant food was good too ! I asked for late check out and they were so sweet about it . restuarbt staff comped our meal too.!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Staff was very warm and friendly! Coming back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Great hotel, amazing location. In the heart of midtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Service is fabulous and worth coming back for!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The hotel is a great option, if you want to be close to Times Square and the midtown action, without being in Times Square and the midtown action! The service was outstanding and the Hyatt should be commended. My every wish was met without hesitation - a quieter room change, assistance buying wine from the liquor store next store (an umbrella was even offered to keep the snow off of me as we walked to the store), cabs were hailed any time of day - the rush hour hailing was the most impressive. The lobby is contemporary and lively. The rooms spacious for NYC and completely functional. No true closet or luggage rack, but it is what you see in the pictures on the site. The washrooms were a great size. I was there for work but would definitely stay for any reason. The Javitts Centre was a 15 minute walk, totally doable and delightful along the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff and no-fuss hotel that has a very convenient location. They have free cookies and coffee at the lobby which my family loved. Rooftop is cozy and has nice view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Better than expected

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Staff. access, location, comfort
Cons: Breakfast included
Location: In the middle of everything. Close to the Empire sates, many metro lines, Macy's, Times Square, restaurants, etc.. All at walking distance.
Excellent hotel in the middle of everything. Close to the Empire sates, many metro lines, etc. The hotel is modern construction with stylish rooms. Staff is very helpful and friendly. My best experience so far in several trips to new York. I came to NY for new year eve celebration and interesting prices were lower than usual and I was able to stay in this hotel. Usually is more expensive in higher seasons. Breakfast was available at the hotel but it was not included in the price. Strongly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hearald Square New York

Excellent position and great hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Stayed here for three nights and had a fantastic time. Hotel was in a great location and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Fresh cookies every day we're delicious which my daughter loved. New York was very busy this time of year but still managed to do everything I wished for, a great experience.