Ratings based on 2,478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly and very nice, a rare find!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
It's so difficult to find a hotel that will take a dog, let alone an 85 lb black lab! 70 Park accommodated us in a beautiful room on one of their dog friendly floors. No additional fee for a pet, and the location is safe and well lit for those late night or early morning walks with your furry friend. The room was a good size for NYC and well appointed... very comfortable! We spent more time in the room than we normally would because it was so nice! Shout out to Kevin, one of the managers, who was super helpful with information for food delivery. We would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Brenda Correa , Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you for the five star feedback! I couldn't be happier to know that you and your furry friend felt comfortable and welcome, which is exactly what we strive for. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Kevin and we look forward to welcoming you back! Cordially, Brenda Correa, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Issues with this hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: good location
Cons: Expedia/hotel should not advertise itself as a Kimpton Brand because it is not. The hotel is in desperate need of update.
Location: The location on Park Ave. is excellent. Just a couple of blocks away from Grand Central.
I booked this hotel through Expedia which I will never do again. I was looking for a Kimpton brand hotel in New York City to celebrate our son's 21st birthday and chose "70 Park Avenue Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel." My confirmation clearly stated that it was a Kimpton Hotel. The confirmation clearly stated our reservation was for a Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, non-smoking. We needed Queen beds because there are 3 of us in the room. Upon arrival I was told that the hotel is not, in fact, a Kimpton brand hotel and that they had no Queen rooms available for us. We were told that they had no obligation to honor Expedia's reservation for two queen beds and that we should have booked directly with the hotel. We were moved into a Double Room, very small for three people. When I asked if they would reduce our room rate since we were not given the room (or hotel for that matter) that we reserved, they said that since we booked through Expedia they could not change the rate. We paid a Kimpton brand rate which normally includes breakfast and a wine/app happy hour daily. All that the hotel offered was a cup of coffee (small) - if you wanted a medium size it was not complimentary. I am not happy that Expedia would book us at a hotel that was not the hotel we requested (Kimpton) and the amenities which Kimpton offers. The hotel is tired, worn and badly in need of updating. The bathrooms are impossibly small. In the future, we will not book through Expedia nor would we stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Sarah H, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy you enjoyed our location. We sincerely apologize about the frustrations during your stay with regards to the room type. I have shared your feedback with our team so we can look into situations like this further. Due to us now being an Iberostar Hotel we do no longer have the wine hour however still serve the same complimentary coffee and tea that Kimpton did. Just to confirm Kimpton did not offer complimentary breakfast at this location. We again apologize for the frustrations caused and hope we can welcome you back. Regards, Sarah H- Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not entirely sure if they offer room service ( I didn't see a menu in my room ), they have a small mini-bar in the room in case you get hungry though.
Location: Location is great, a few blocks away from grand central station and within walking distance of many mid-town Manhattan tourist spots.
I just stayed one night but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The hotel location is absolute best,. Walking distance to mid-town Manhattan attractions and easy access to train stations, etc. The rooms were updated, comfortable, clean, and surprisingly quiet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Sarah Hill, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Unfortunately at this time we do not offer room service however our team as always here with recommendations. We hope to welcome you back again. Regards, Sarah H- Assistant Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrale Lage, aber ungenügende Zimmerausstattung

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: zentrale Lage, sehr freundliches Personal
Cons: Ausstattung siehe Bemerkung oben.
Das Hotel liegt zentral bei Grand Central Station. Seriöse Umgebung, laute Straße, guter Kaffee morgens for free, sehr freundliches Personal. Ausstattung der Fußböden im Empfang, Gang und im Zimmer mit abgenutztem Teppich. Unser Deluxe-Zimmer war sehr klein, hatte einen winzigen Schrank, so dass unsere Kleidung in den Koffern verbleiben musste. Der Safe war im oberen Regal des Schrankes angebracht und nur schwer zu erreichen. Wände mit Flecken und renovierungsbedürftig. Fenster dreckig. Mini-Bar ohne Tür.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Bill B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to know that out location was perfect for your stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding the room and have shared this with our Housekeeping team. We take pride in offering sleek and presentable amenities and want to ensure we are taking the necessary measure to ensure are rooms are up to par. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back gain. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Great Location Excellent Hotel Staff, really! Room is small, but very clean
Cons: Heat/AC not very comfy Mattress disappointing Not the comfort level we are a custom too at this Hotel
Location: Great location, three shorts blocks from Grand Central
Great Location Excellent Hotel Staff Room is small, but very clean Heat/AC not very comfy Mattress disappointing Not the comfort level we are a custom too at this Hotel. Previous stays the mattress was very comfortable. Should get back to the premium sleep mattress!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Bill B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the mattresses and the HVAC unit and have shared this with our team so we can ensure we get these items rectified. We hope to welcome you back again. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location, classy, small rooms

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Location and quality.
Cons: My room was small, and I assume I could pay more, for a larger room. But, I was very satisfied, based on the value.
Location: Great location. Easy walk to Time Square, Broadway theaters, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, and subway to go downtown.
Could not ask for a better location, and very nice accommodations and staff. The room was very small, but the price was very reasonable, so no complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Bill B, Hotel Management
Dear Gabe, Thank you for the five stars. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and thank you for mentioning our team. Please know we have many options of room and sizes and would be happy to show you a better suited room on your next stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
The staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful. Clean and comfortable rooms. Convenient location and easily accessible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Bill B, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Thanks for the five stars. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
5 out of 5
by Deborah Jean from Milton, MA

We will definitely stay here again!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful. Loved the wine hour when we arrived and the coffee from Pete's was great too. Room was a great size, especially for New York and had all the amenities. Location is outstanding and you can get anywhere in the city by taxi, metro, or subway. We had a wonderful time!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Dear Deborah Jean, Thank you for the five stars. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us from our location to our amenities and service. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
3 out of 5
by Eduardo

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you Eduardo for taking the time to give us a review. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again and provide a 5 star stay. Regards, Bill B- General Manager
4 out of 5
by GRAHAM D

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Dear Graham D, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again. Regards, Bill B- General Manager