Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Great Staff, Beautiful Hotel and Perfect Location

Posted May 24, 2017
There's not a better place to stay than the JW Marriott on Central Park South when you are in Midtown Manhattan. The staff is always kind, professional and helpful. The rooms are always clean. It's not an overly noisy area so you can actually sleep. The hotel is very nice with a rich history, but it never feels stuffy or snobby. I stay here quarterly for work and really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Midtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent location. Close to everything. Staff were wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We are grateful for your kind review and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Great hotel and we enjoyed our stay. My one complaint is upon check out the staff person acted very disinterested. Handed us our bill without a word. As freidnly as the staff was upon our arrival and stay I was surprised there wasn't a smile and a "Thank You" or "Come back to see us again."
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the majority of your visit. It concerns us knowing you noticed any shortcomings in service upon your departure. We hope this will not prevent you from visiting us again in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel, great location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
National register of historic places 1930s art deco wonder! Nice view of Central park, public transportation easily accessible. A bit too much nickel-and-diming, no free internet, refrigerator stocked with refreshments on lockdown, no room for my apple or water bottle. Business center charges for internet too ! At least there is an option to print boarding pass for free. Very accommodating and friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing your stay at JW Marriott Essex House. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Manhattan, and we are thrilled your expectations were met. We are extremely proud of our Art Deco public spaces and are pleased you appreciated them. We regret any miscommunication regarding pricing, and we hope this not detract from the overall quality of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
by barbara

Exceptional Essex house.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was lovely with such a comfortable bed. We had a family suite with our 2 teenagers in a room beside ours. They had a really good sized room with a gorgeous on suite with massive shower. They were very impressed. We didn't pay for a room with a view and you could hear the large air con fans way down below in the courtyard. It's New York so we didn't expect silence and it wasn't a problem. The staff at the hotel were so helpful from front desk to concierge and we probably should have used the concierge more. The area is amazing with Central Park right outside the front door. Be warned it is an expensive area for eating and drinking but a wonderful base from which to explore. Central Park bike rental was just around the corner which was so handy. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time in New York. It is lovely to hear your expectations were exceeded in terms of our exceptional service, central location and spacious accommodations. We are proud to provide a comfortable oasis in the heart of the city and are thrilled you were able to take advantage of the surrounding area. Your kind words will be passed along to our concierge and the rest of our outstanding team. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WW III

First class operation

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Convenient, classy, facilities maintained superbly!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
paid for a central park view room and to my surprise it was a partial view that you have to look outside the window to the other side to see the park,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your helpful feedback. We regret any miscommunication regarding the view from your guest room. We hope this did not detract from the overall quality of your visit. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great stay with the family!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
From the initial check in, concierge support, bar staff, welcome staff, room size, quality, cleanliness and value for money, I can not find any fault in our 6 night stay at the hotel. Great location and great hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear huw, We are pleased to read your kind words. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed a flawless stay in New York City. Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels