Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Best Hotel I have stayed in hands down!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Everything
Friendliest staff ever, clean, fantastic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to everything

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Closeness to Central Park and safety.
Location: Close to everything.
We had a very short stay because of our plane was delayed by 8 hours and missed it because TSA closed the gate after midnight. So we were rebooked the following morning that cut our stay at the hotel by a day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct

Great location but some issues with room

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The location. Also bed was comfortable.
Cons: Noise level in the suite we were assigned.
Location: Location is excellent-across from the park and convenient to shops and restaurants.
We stayed at this hotel several times years ago and liked the location and the rooms. We were somewhat disappointed with our room this time. We were asked at checkin if we wanted to upgrade our room to a suite for a relatively modest fee. We had reserved suites on our earlier visits because we were traveling with our son, and liked them. We decided to upgrade which may have been a mistake. We were given a suite where we heard loud banging sounds - probably from a nearby stairway or the elevators - several times a hour throughout the day. Also the drain in the tub didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chadds Ford, PA

Went for a weekend - stayed for a blizzard

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Rooms. Locations. Comfort. Staff. Staff. Staff.
Cons: The air was very dry in the rooms. All of us (5 persons) noticed this as an issue.
Location: Across the street from Central Park. Made it handy to go sledding in the snow.
We stayed the weekend plus one on the Jan 2016 Blizzard. The hotel is lovely and the staff was fantastic. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (we booked two) and the beds were very fluffy. The location is perfect for walking to Central Park and plenty of dinning nearby. We had 7th ave. to ourselves during the height of the blizzard and walked down to Times Square - an easy walk. It was a very memorable weekend. The only negative is that the air in the rooms was very dry. Temperature was not an issue, but the dryness became an issue as the days went on. Maybe they could add a humidifier to the ventilation. Would I stay again? Yes. It is a fantastic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Damian, Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad that you had such a splendid visit in New York City, despite the blizzard. At the JW Marriott Essex House, we strive to live up to the JW name, even in tough times and it is a joy to know that you recognized that throughout the blizzard. We apologize that the air in your room was on the dry side and are appreciative of your suggestion. We will take note and discuss as we make improvements. We are delighted to be a part of your memorable trip to the Big Apple and look forward to your return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Damian, Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad that you had such a splendid visit in New York City, despite the blizzard. At the JW Marriott Essex House, we strive to live up to the JW name, even in tough times and it is a joy to know that you recognized that throughout the blizzard. We apologize that the air in your room was on the dry side and are appreciative of your suggestion. We will take note and discuss as we make improvements. We are delighted to be a part of your memorable trip to the Big Apple and look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We had a family suite for our family of five. The two adjoining bedrooms were such amazing space the kids didn't want to leave the hotel!! The location being right on Central Park is perfect. we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Beautiful Central Park hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The best thing about this hotel is its outstanding staff. They were perfect in everyway. Friendly, courteous, and attentive. In addition this hotel is right on Central Park and 5th avenue. The rooms could be updated but still very nice, comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Aus

Nice hotel luxurious appt across from central park

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Hotel is well appointed and located across from Central Park, about 14 blocks away from other attractions. Subway not far away. We walked everywhere. Had family room which worked well with kids having own room. Not much variety in eating options, restaurant a little pricey. Staff polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We stayed for one nite. Room and hotel was very clean and service was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Essex House for your first visit to New York City. We are pleased our accommodations left you feeling refreshed. If you decide to make a second trip, we hope to be your hotel of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

New Year's eve trip to NYC with kids.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Great location on Central Park for watching New Year's Eve fireworks. Perfect view from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Happy New Year! We are pleased that you could celebrate 2016 from the comfort of your room thanks to our location off Central Park. Best wishes, and we hope to accommodate you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Location is everything

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Located in the perfect spot. Roomy with a sense of luxury.
Cons: Maintenance screenings for rooms after each occupant, to address minor repairs.
Location: Perfect springboard into Central Park. Metro stations are nearby, and Times Square is an easy walk down beautiful 7th Ave.
Clearly, being on Central Park, close to numerous nice restaurants and cafes, and a short walk to Times Square are the big draw of the Essex House. The hotel maintains a sense of older charm and elegance. Doors opening to both 59th and 58th streets is convenient. The size of the family suite is nice if you have one or two children to share the sofa bed. The service is what you expect from a hotel in this area - helpful valets, porters, and very nice room service. There were a few rough edges about the room, where age and a need for some renovation are apparent. They were relatively minor, but noticeable - a dent in the wall where the door latch presses into it, a bit of wood filler beside the inside door knob, and a non-working handle on one of the doors separating the two sections of the suite. Overall, a very pleasant experience with attentive service in every aspect. Only the small maintenance touches may give a sense that this hotel isn't all that it should be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Townieboy, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. We are pleased that our fine location and service helped to enhance your stay. In terms of the maintenance issues you encountered, we hope you feel free to let our associates know so that we might make the necessary repairs. As with every hotel, minor issues will crop up, and we do our best to maintain our facilities on a daily basis. To that end, we thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope to welcome you back someday in the future.