Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Gateway to Central Park

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The Essex Hotel is across the street from the southern boundary of Central Park- a truly outstanding place. The variety of landscapes that one sees on a short walk is inspiring. Several small playgrounds for kids are available, as well as the carousel and some convenient outdoor cafes. Recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to JW Marriott Essex House, and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are delighted you appreciated your time exploring Central Park. Next time you are in the area, we would be delighted to accommodate you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Great Staff, Beautiful Hotel and Perfect Location

Posted May 24, 2017
There's not a better place to stay than the JW Marriott on Central Park South when you are in Midtown Manhattan. The staff is always kind, professional and helpful. The rooms are always clean. It's not an overly noisy area so you can actually sleep. The hotel is very nice with a rich history, but it never feels stuffy or snobby. I stay here quarterly for work and really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Midtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Sara , Hotel Management
Dear Gina, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at JW Marriott Essex House. It was a pleasure to accommodate you, and we are thrilled you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and comfortable guest rooms. We look forward to your next business-related visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist in booking your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent location. Close to everything. Staff were wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We are grateful for your kind review and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Great hotel and we enjoyed our stay. My one complaint is upon check out the staff person acted very disinterested. Handed us our bill without a word. As freidnly as the staff was upon our arrival and stay I was surprised there wasn't a smile and a "Thank You" or "Come back to see us again."
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the majority of your visit. It concerns us knowing you noticed any shortcomings in service upon your departure. We hope this will not prevent you from visiting us again in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by Ramiro

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Requested and paid for Park or city view and was given view onto the inside court construction area. No water, no coffee maker
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ramiro, Thank you for your review and for your choice to stay with us. We are disappointed knowing your visit was anything but exceptional. We hope you will consider returning for a much-improved experience soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel, great location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
National register of historic places 1930s art deco wonder! Nice view of Central park, public transportation easily accessible. A bit too much nickel-and-diming, no free internet, refrigerator stocked with refreshments on lockdown, no room for my apple or water bottle. Business center charges for internet too ! At least there is an option to print boarding pass for free. Very accommodating and friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing your stay at JW Marriott Essex House. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Manhattan, and we are thrilled your expectations were met. We are extremely proud of our Art Deco public spaces and are pleased you appreciated them. We regret any miscommunication regarding pricing, and we hope this not detract from the overall quality of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by barbara

Exceptional Essex house.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was lovely with such a comfortable bed. We had a family suite with our 2 teenagers in a room beside ours. They had a really good sized room with a gorgeous on suite with massive shower. They were very impressed. We didn't pay for a room with a view and you could hear the large air con fans way down below in the courtyard. It's New York so we didn't expect silence and it wasn't a problem. The staff at the hotel were so helpful from front desk to concierge and we probably should have used the concierge more. The area is amazing with Central Park right outside the front door. Be warned it is an expensive area for eating and drinking but a wonderful base from which to explore. Central Park bike rental was just around the corner which was so handy. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time in New York. It is lovely to hear your expectations were exceeded in terms of our exceptional service, central location and spacious accommodations. We are proud to provide a comfortable oasis in the heart of the city and are thrilled you were able to take advantage of the surrounding area. Your kind words will be passed along to our concierge and the rest of our outstanding team. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WW III

First class operation

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Convenient, classy, facilities maintained superbly!