Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Easton, MD

The accommodations were disappointing

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Luxurious with wonderful public spaces. Well located. Very professional staff.
Room was very small. How do you sell a room for two people that is so small there is only one small desk chair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, We appreciate the time you have taken to share this review. It is delightful to hear you enjoyed our Art Deco lobby and other public areas as well as our convenient location and helpful colleagues. It is disappointing your expectations were not met in other aspects of your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you with an improved visit in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel of contrasts

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Essex House is a historical hotel located at one of the most beautiful spots of Manhattan. When I arrived after a long haul flight, I was politely greeted at the reception and provided with a room on the 7th floor. The room was spacious, but the other qualities were far from being expected for a $500 per night lodging. Smelly carpets, dingy furniture... The window view was depressing: an endless brick wall with a garbage receptacles in the bottom. Next morning I was relocated to a much nice room on 35th floor with a Central Park view, clean and pleasing. People who helped me with relocation were very-very nice. However, it was $75 a night more. Caveat emptor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear the service you received throughout your stay was consistently friendly and helpful. However, we are concerned to hear your expectations were not met all-around. We are always willing to provide assistance before, during and after your stay, and we encourage you to contact us directly. We hope you consider another stay with us in the future, as we would be delighted to improve upon this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Summer in Central Park

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Lovely location across the street from Central Park. The hotel charges for everything. No free newspapers. $9 bottles of water in room fridge. Outrageous! No free wifi in room. You have to lug your laptop to the lobby area to get work done. The price of the hotel is higher than I would pay normally but I only did because of its location. Can't beat it. It's close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We appreciate your review. It sounds as though our location provided you with ease of access to many destinations around the city and we are pleased to hear it. However, we regret you were not satisfied overall but value your feedback for moving forward. We hope to see you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

awesome!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great hotel. Love it every time I go. Wonderful people and great service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your loyalty to our Central Park hotel. It has been our pleasure to provide you with an exceptional stay, every time. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brussels

Great location but very late check-in

Posted Jul 3, 2016
located fantastically for Central Park, 5th Avenue and Time Square. Only problem I met was a confusing between the hotel and Expedia. The check-in time given by the two wasn't the same. Expedia states 3pm, whereas to my disappointment the hotel told me it was 4pm. 4pm is very late, especially for European travellers, but the hotel staff was fantastic in finding a solution so everything turned out great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. While we regret to know of the confusion you encountered with checking in to hotel, we are thrilled you had a phenomenal stay. It sounds as though you had the opportunity to explore some of the city’s greatest attractions and we are pleased to hear it. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midwest

NYC girls weekend

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Friendliness of staff, attention to detail. I looked on line for the values of the hotel and it notes customer service- this was not modeled.
Location: Central Park, shopping, Times Square, good restaurants.
Cleaning was marginal, dirty food glasses and items left in room, this was reported to the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Chris from Dorset

So much for a final night's treat!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
We had already booked a good room, but our son upgraded us to a large suite, which was great. But the following made our stay most disappointing: - the reception area was noisy; we had to queue; and the whole area seemed chaotic - we had to ask for the complimentary water, and coffee/tea facilities - there was no fridge in the room to keep the water chilled. The staff put a temporary one in for me - I never did get the mini-bar open (probably just as well!) - I was charged for Wi-Fi access at 16.95 US$ for 24 hours, until I complained - The room was next to the external aircon units, so it was noisy at night - we were woken up by workmen on the roof directly outside our window - the restaurant was no more than a bar, and was noisy and cramped. Hardly in keeping with the style of the hotel - the flashing light on the phone for message notification didn't actually deliver a message, but asked you to ring the front desk. Absolutely useless! - the other four hotels where we stayed in the US and Canada were all far superior to the Essex in all of the above criticisms. The Essex needs someone in charge to get to grips with some basics. We won't be staying there ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We regret to hear your expectations were not exceeded during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and has been relayed to the appropriate departments. We welcome you to contact us directly to discuss your experience further and wish you safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room is small, bed is small - definitely not a queen. Bathtub is nice unless you're taller than 5ft. Food for room service is mediocore at best - like a cheap diner. Service is good. Lobby is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear our colleagues provided you with exceptional service throughout your stay and that you were impressed with the Art Deco design of our lobby. We regret the remainder of your stay did not quite meet your expectations but appreciate your feedback. We hope your travels will bring you back to New York City in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Zack from Dallas, TX

Fantastic location, staff & hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
The location next to the park was awesome. The hotel staff was amazing in virtually every way, from check-in to hailing a cab. The hotel itself looks fantastic. The only thing I didn't like was that the room itself - for roughly $500/night - was very basic, and the view of essentially an internal wall was non-existent. I imagine if you paid for a nicer room, it could have been amazing, too. But for an already expensive room price, I would have expected a room higher in the building with a park or city view, instead of one of what appeared to be the HVAC.
5 out of 5
by Delia from Guayaquil

Excelente Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente ubicación, la vista de la habitación espectacular