Ratings based on 1,923 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location and spacious room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Spacious junior suite and great location. However 3 o'clock check in was nearly 4. No time to relax before our dinner engagement! Other than that lovely hotel -- great stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erfurt

Freundliches Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Sehr freundliches Check-in und Beantwortung organisatorischer Fragen durch die nette Dame (Juliana) an der Rezeption. Der Pool ist super.
Cons: Die Fenster ziehen und das Bad hat keine Möglichkeiten um Waschtaschen zu deponieren und vor allem nasse Handtücher und Badekleidung aufzuhängen.
Location: Ideale, zentrale Lage zwischen Central Park, Broadway und Rockefeller Center mit Metroanschluss überall hin.
4 Damen hatten für ihre 4-tägige "Crazy-Lady-NY-Tour" eine Suite in der 40. Etage gemietet. Die gute, zentrale Lage bot maximale Flexibilität in der Tagesgestaltung, einschließlich Pool-Nutzung am frühen Morgen oder am Abend. Der Ausblick vom Zimmer aus war zwar nicht auf Central-Park oder sonstig Bedeutsames, aber dennoch großstädtisch - attraktiv. Gefrühstückt haben wir in einem der zahlreichen Cafés in der Nähe, am besten im Europa-Café Ecke 57th/7Ave. Vorgefundene schmutzige Bettwäsche auf dem Couch-Bett wurde umgehend gewechselt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelmed

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel and stay were fine, though underwhelming and not to expectations. The crowd was not chic. The website picture of the pool shows a sexy gal in a leather swimsuit and ripped dude being all glamorous. The reality was 10 unsupervised kids, screaming in the enclosed space -- we decided against staying. It was a nice evening so decided to go out on the roof deck, except that the doors were locked and the pool attendant advised it was only open in the summer. So we retreated back to the room, which was on the 5th floor and directly adjacent to an HVAC system blower right outside the windows, which never stopped. Like the last room the hotel would ever rent, only in an emergency. Maybe it was the Expedia suite. The bed was comfortable, the shower was good and the room was clean, though dingier than expected. We were there to be in the city, thankfully not to just hang in the hotel. If this hotel was 2 or 3 stars and half the price we would have been happy but unfortunately expected more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for first trip to NY

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Perfectly located for our kids' first trip to NYC-- centrally located to a lot of the main NYC attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

starwoods should be embarrassed

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: entire upgrade is required. Hotel is old and tired. Get rid of hamburger stand, street vendors and barbershop in lobby Create real bar
This claims to be a 4 star hotel-but is 3 star or worse. Here is a short summary (1) the lobby- this is the only hotel lobby we have ever seen that has a hamburger stand less than 5 feet from the reception/check in desk. In fact guests trying to check in often discover that they are in the hamburger line. The only bar in the hotel is actually the sides if a hallway leading from the street to the check in desk. This is a 42 story hotel and the only lobby area is a very small area with two concrete benches as the only seating area and which during the day was filled with vendors at card tables selling cheap watches, cheap jewelry, pillows, towels and I♥️NY souvenirs ( SERIOUSLY!). Half of the ground floor elevator lobby has been converted to a barbershop with windows so you can watchpeople getting haircuts during your looong wait for an elevator They have converted almost all of their lobby area to money making areas (2) the room-small with dirty carpet but great view. to say it was Spartan is an insult to Sparta. The room is very tired and crying out for remodeling 3) location- very good Message to Starwoods and Ownership- It is time to spend some money to retrofit this hotel. Please please upgrade the rooms and dark and dirty hallways; get rid of the hamburger stands, street vendors and barbershop in what used to be the lobby; create a real lobby with seating areas; create a real bar/lounge area; Unless you do that, you will not deserve 3 stars - or a return visit from us
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mckinney, United States of America

If you are looking for a 4-5 star...NOT it.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We always stay at very nice hotels when we go to the city this was such a disappointment Dirty carpet, ragety old furniture w stains on it. Kids said pull out sofa was uncomfortable. Besides location nothing else good. I recommend the park Hyatt around the block.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

どこにでもアクセスの良いホテル

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: 立地やホテル内の様々なサービスが最高でした。
Cons: 特になし
Location: セントラルパークまで徒歩3分ほど。5番街へも徒歩5分ほどとどこに行くにも近かったです。音楽で有名な「カーネギーホール」の裏に位置していて、迷ったときでも分かりやすいと思います。
マンハッタンを観光する上で、セントラルパークや5番街、そして地下鉄の駅にも近く、タイムズスクエアにも徒歩圏内で行ける距離にあり、最高の立地でした。客室も清潔で何も申し分のない良いホテルです。英語が苦手な私は旅前から不安でしたが、日本人のコンシェルジュも居て頼りになりました。食事に関してもホテル近くにレストランやデリ、24時間営業しているスーパーなどもあるので、困ることはありませんが、ホテル1Fにある「バーガージョイント」はオススメです。むしろこのハンバーガー屋が1Fにあるのでこのホテルを選んだと言っても過言ではありません。土日は行列が出来るほどの人気のハンバーガー屋ですが、平日は比較的空いていました。英語が苦手なので私は出来ませんでしたが、客室から電話で事前に注文しておき、ピックアップに行く方もいるそうです。日本では出店していないハンバーガー屋さんなので是非ともこのホテルに泊まったらお試し頂きたいです。また、24時間使えるスポーツジムとプールもあります。私は水着を忘れてしまい、行けなかったですが、プールはホテルの最上階にあり、セントラルパークが一望できるので特に長期滞在する方はゆっくりと行ってみてはいかがでしょうか?総評ですが、またNYに旅行に行くことがあればリピートしようと思いました。それくらい良いホテルでした。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointing

Posted Nov 16, 2016
This is my 3rd stay in the past year.unfortunately, each time I noticed something negative about it. This time was the most disappointing. At Checkin, we waited a good 17 minutes to reach the desk as there were 35 people in line & only 2 employees checking guests in.When we finally got in the room, I noticed, the grout in the shower was black with mold. The bathroom again was very small, 2 people could not be in there simultaneously. Lastly & most disturbing was trying to swim in a pool with young children sneezing into it to the extent my 11 year old daughter commented on the visible mucus floating on the surface, Which happened repeatedly over the course of the 30 minutes we were there. The pool attendant did speak to another child about his running around but did not address what ultimately, was a sanitary issue. We were so disgusted we opted to cut our time short in the pool. I would be reluctant to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phillips

Better Communication

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Very excessible to everywhere we wanted to go please other places.
Wasn't aware of a hold fund during check in, since rooms was paid in advance. Would have been nice to be informed. Otherwise, good room in a pinch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Lage, Freundlichkeit, grosszügige Zimmer
Cons: Zimmerdesign könnte moderner sein, Wasserkocher wären schön im Zimmer
Location: Absolut zentral, damit guter Ausgangspunkt für alle Aktivitäten.
Grosses Zimmer, verhältnismäßig großes Bad, freundliches Personal, sauber