Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible B&B in Brooklyn

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This place was horrible. Run down, not cleaned the whole time we were there -including the bath / which was a shared bath though that was not clear. There were giant cockroaches in the bathroom. There was a bad smell throughout. Our towels were never changed. The furniture was run down and beat up. The host was never seen except on check in. Do not stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Charming interiors in a quiet spot of the city

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The interiors were almost entirely original, from the 19th century, and in great condition. If you like historic buildings, this the place to stay.
Cons: Staff were not always on site, but were very helpful when they were.
Location: Close to Prospect Park and Brooklyn Botanic Garden, and the rest of the city via public transport.
Easy check in and was upgraded to a bigger room. Fairly priced. Extremely quiet for the location. Very clean rooms and well equipped kitchen. Comfortable furniture. Very spacious bathroom on each floor. It seemed like some of the other guests were regulars. Amazing interiors, with original woodwork and stained glass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
It s near the subway station. Just 10min walk. I like the building, quaint but comfortable enough. It's on a very nice and quiet street. However the house keeper is not around most of the time. That s the only complaint.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Deceitful marketing!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The best part is the block, it's nice and pretty quiet. It's not too far from the subway. The brownstones are a nice touch on the entire block.
Cons: See above!
Location: There are places to eat and some neighborhood shopping - all within walking distance. The subway is just a few blocks. Parking is hard to find.
I don't know if the woman who answered the door - if she's the owner or caretaker, but there's no pride in this bed & breakfast, it's very sterile. The "ebony" room is really a closet, there's no dresser, no mirror, a person can't turn around in the room without having to open and/or close the door. There were only 2 sets of towels in a dusty small closet. The bathroom is pretty roomy but there was a sizable clump of hair around a white plastic drainage in the bathtub - it was obviously not well-cleaned. The stove is pretty small and it didn't work, unless the other guests used matches. There are 3 guest-rooms on the 3rd/top floor and only 1 small table and 2 chairs in a small kitchenette. According to the website, the advertisement is $10 for breakfast but that's not true at all. You do your own cooking, but how can you if you didn't know that you need matches to light the stove and it's very small. The main floor is so bland and uninviting, it's as if the guests are discouraged from sitting at the dining room table for too long. There's no one around during the day, some guests arrived a little bit early than check-in, maybe 2 hours, they could only drop off their luggage and go back outside. I know this because I was the only only there when they rang the bell as I was on my way in and out. Even when I checked out, the woman wasn't there... what should be done with the used towels or the key. I would not recommend this bed & breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was a last minute booking. I stayed for three days. Michelle was an amazing host and the house is incredible
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed staying at Lefferts Gardens Residence. The room was spacious and clean. It's a beautiful brownstone and the rooms are really lovely. The rooms are on the second and third floors. There is a shared bathroom per floor and a shared kitchenette on the third floor. If you enjoy choosing your own adventure while traveling, this is the place! My husband and I had fruit and cheese each morning in the kitchenette and then picked up pastries and coffee each morning at one of the local cafes. The neighborhood has several good restaurants that we tried, and many others that we didn't have time for! Be sure to stop into a West Indian market or deli. You won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful room in a house in a quite area. Exactly what I was looking for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economical and Convenient

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
For the money it was worth it to stay there. It was the first bnb that I've ever stayed in that didn't include the breakfast unless you paid additional for it. So technically, it's a b! But we were still happy with our stay, and would stay there again with no problem. For NYC, we felt very safe, very convenient to subway, and a very unique stay. You cat get that atmosphere at a chain hotel!!! Thank you Michelle for having us!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Warm Atmosphere, An OK Stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Cons: More basic toiletries should be offered.
Location: A 10 minute walk from the station, near Prospect Park, a nice place to visit.
I had an OK time. My room was nice and quiet and had a great bed and look to it. Shared bathroom was fine too. I brought my own towels, because while there were towels offered in it, they were snatched up quickly and unless you want to ask for some, I would advise bringing your own. The b&b is very on-your-own and you don't see anyone else in the building aside from a couple other people who are staying. I thoroughly enjoyed the vintage and homey look and feel to it.
2 out of 5
by Clifford from Ottawa, ON

Disappointing

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was not offered or available. Wifi signal weak on upper floor and my room had no TV. Stayed 3 nights and never saw owner - which is weird for a B&B. Only positive was common kitchen had fridge, microwave and coffeemaker if you wanted to buy groceries to make your own breakfast