Ratings based on 5,121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Charming and convenient

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The decor,room and courtyard.
Cons: The noise of the a/c was a little bothersome, but not horrible.
Location: Restaurants, Times Square and theatre district all in walking distance
Celebrating anniversary. Great location for our plans, show, dinner and subway to WTC site. Hotel was ver comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tustin, CA

Beautiful hotel near lots of great sights

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The history, the beautiful staircase, the late night bar.
Cons: I wish the room was a little larger, although I am aware they offer suites for a higher price.
Location: You are right across from St Patrick's Cathedral which provides a beautiful view, and lots of great shopping is just blocks away on Fifth Ave.
Arriving at The Palace was wonderful. The exterior was gorgeous and the bellhops were great. Checking in was a breeze. When we walked into our room, we were blown away by the fantastic view of St. Patrick's Cathedral. The room was very nice, and house keeping everyday made it special and fresh. The amenities of the hotel were wonderful, the bar under the staircase was a treat. I highly recommend getting some great, New York old fashioned beverages there, and they are open late!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Wonderful staff and very clean and close to everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We stayed with our 2 teenagers for a family visit to New York. Hotel was very comfortable. Friendly staff helped us with taxis and restaurant suggestions. The courtyard was lovely to sit in the morning for coffee or night for a cocktail. Pomme Palais in lobby has excellent breakfast items.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Was way better than I could have imagined. Got the room for a great price. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Hôtel "luxueux" avec défauts

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: L'ancienne entrée du côté de Madison avenue a du cachet, mais est surtout utilisé pour des mariages, des sociétés. Concierges souvent compétents.
Cons: Equipements des chambres à revoir, wi-fi payant.
Location: Situation intéressante proche de Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue, et à quelques quartiers de Central Park.
Chambre confortable mais lits doubles étroits. Coffre-fort défectueux, les baskets de l'ancien occupant traînait sous le lit, wi-fi non compris. Souvent des peignoirs sont mis à disposition pour cette catégorie d'hôtel, ce qui ne fut pas le cas ici. Pour un meilleur confort et service, il faudra passer aux "Towers", à des tarifs encore plus élévés et dans ce cas on serait beaucoup mieux à par exemple Peninsula ou le Plaza, de vrais hôtels de luxe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location and skyline view.
Location: Within walking distance to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, great shopping and restaurants, Times Square, subway stations.
Perfect location within walking distance to lots of attractions. Upgrade to a skyline view, the best money I ever spent!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great place to stay in the Big Apple

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything-location, elegance, service.
Cons: All mentioned about -would be helpful if they had an inc house restaurant
Location: 5th Ave shopping-MOMA-Morgan library -Rockefeller Center-not far from Central Park/Plaza
Elegant -location could not have been better. Beautiful facility and rooms.The personnel were overall great , but the reason I rated hotel staff as 4 instead of 5 was 1-some of the staff at front door who helped you get cabs etc. were disorganized or did not communicate well--other were fabulous. In terms of the concierge mostly great -but night time one did not know much about some of the younger hipper places in the Village-just informed about area immediately around the hotel and did not go out of their way to investigate things. Would also be nice if hotel had an in house restaurant. This may sound critical but I would give this hotel a rating of 9/10. Just pointing out some things for constructive criticism.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Superb!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: This was at one time a Helmsley Hotel. Among the best places I've stayed, anywhere.
Cons: The Madison Avenue courtyard was twice cordoned off for movie shoots during our stay. It would have been nice to have received advanced notice.
Location: Central park, Rockefeller Center, New York Public Library and Times Square are all close by.
Located just below the Southeast (bottom right) corner of Central Park and directly across from St. Patrick's Cathedral. An easy walk to Rockefeller Center and the best of 5th Avenue (which runs parallel to the Madison Avenue location of the hotel). Fabulous room. Everything about the hotel seemed very clean and tidy. Room service menu and lobby food can be a bit pricey. Quick connections to NYC subway and bus routes. For those who choose to use the subway, it is best to use the "E train" to and from NY Penn Station; that is, if you don't mind toting luggage up and down plenty of corridors and stairways.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norge

Flott beliggenhet

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotellet er rent og pent med strålende beliggenhet og svært hyggelig betjening.