Ratings based on 6,790 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Staff were helpful and friendly, particularly Maureen the Concierge. Bathroom was updated but tiny. Nice renovation of an early 20th century hotel, very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Drafty , noisy room

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Great , central location especially if arriving via the train from Newark Airport. We walked to many of the big sites e.g. Empire State, Times Square.
Hotel lobby and corridors rather poorly lit, though this seems to be true for much of NY interiors style. We asked for travel plug adaptors for our rooms, but they never arrived. The air-conditioning until in the window was very leaky and there was a big draft blowing through it which I had to reduce by hanging my coat over it. They windows are very poorly sound-insulated, so the traffic noise is very loud - the hotel supplies ear plugs! On the plus side, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bed linen fresh and crisp and the shower room well-stocked with soft towels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

An oasis in the city

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: location was just right for navigating Manhattan, good places to eat nearby.
We stayed in a 4 person suite for 7 days. From check in onwards the stay was fantastic, great location, the beds and pillows are so comfortable and we used our coffee machine every morning. The fridge was a godsend for cold drinks and snacks with 2 children in tow! i asked for a bottle opener and it was delivered before I got up in the lift!! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We looked forward to coming back every evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, bizarre room layou

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel is great for getting to all the attractions of NYC. It is within walking distance of Times Square, directly opposite Penn Station and has a great range of eateries nearby.
Cons: The bathroom was really small, like really, really small and the room layout was very, very weird. I have no idea who designed the furniture arrangement etc of the room, but everything was wrong. It was barely possible to watch TV from the sofa, one armchair was virtually in the corridor, the dining table was slap in front of the TV and there was masses of empty space. It took me all my time not to move it all around to something that would function as a space to sit and relax, a space to eat a meal and a space to use the desk - it was just all mixed in and badly!
Location: Just a short walk from the Empire State Building, 15 minutes from Times Square and Grand Central station and close to all the hop on/hop off busses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottm

Central. Good hotel. Conceige great.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi only in reception. Needed a different email address every day. Noise. V noisy. Outside Penn station and Madison Sq. not the hotels fault
Location: Near Penn and red subway line Near Madison Sq Gardens Near Empire State. Great in evenings you can see it all lit up
Subway. Red line across the road. Great line to be near moves you from Battery Park to Central Park easily Concierge recommended 3 restaurants all great We had a family room x2 double beds. Functional but worked. Kitchen basic. Facility in reception area to confirm your flights and print your boarding passes. For free.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I have stayed here 4 times now.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Cons: The only downfall of this hotel is the prices. A pot of coffee for room service and it was 18.00. A bit much for luke warm coffee.
The convenience of this hotel is key. It's steps away from Penn Station. I always take the train in so even if I am going to a game or just to hang out for the night, its very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Good size room, close to transit

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Spacious deluxe queen (410 sq ft and a king size bed). Close to Penn station and subway.
Cons: Not too happy with the shower curtain in the narrow shower since they probably don't get washed very often. Would have preferred a glass door.
Location: Very close to transit. Breakfast at the Breslin (Ace Hotel), MJ Trim shop for buttons, huge Macys a few blocks away.
In town for the NY state fiber festival in Rhinebeck. Easy walk across the street to/from Penn station for our early train and late return after being on our feet all day. Room size was generous and amenities adequate. Fall fiber festival was a hit - already planning for next year. Be prepared for a lot of homeless people sleeping on the streets nearby and some noise from events at MSG
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Good Hotel Great Location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The Staff Location
Cons: Size of the bathroom and shower
Location: Near everything, theater district is a 10 minute walk. Ate at Seven Bistro a few blocks away also very good.
The staff is wonderful, Zoe at the front desk check us in at 11:00 and to our surprise she had a room available. The location is great near everything and the restaurant Nile's in the hotel is quite good. Room, was fairly large (by NYC standards) and clean. The shower was tiny, but that was OK we laughed about it, only room for one at a time!! But that may just be the room we stayed in. Overall I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for the sting in the tail...

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Explain to guests on their arrival that an additional $25 charge per night will be added to the bill for FREE WIFI.
Just beware the additional $25 charge per night that gets added to your bill when you checkout. I had no idea what this was for and it was never explained to me when I arrived to check in. I wasn't alone, two other customers were also complaining about the same Surprise charge at check out. Apparently it is for "services"...FREE WIFI and the gym ?!?!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Noise was unbearable

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The Restaurant was fantastic with good food and great service.
Cons: Training of front of office staff and the rooms in general.
Location: Location was brilliant, a short walk to many attractions.
Despite what appeared to be double glazed windows the traffic noise was constant. The window above the air conditioning unit would not close and the air conditioner was average at best. The room was small and the bed did not allow for people to move around it easily. In addition to the previous problems we also could not find the door hanging notice to get the room cleaned. We eventually found it behind a notice on the back of the door (no mention was made of this at our check-in). When I mentioned this to staff I got a roll of the eyes and no comment. Staff also failed to mention that if we used the attached restaurant for dinner we were entitled to a 20% discount. Thankfully our server, who was excellent (as was the food) did mention the discount. The stay was expensive for what was a tired property.