Ratings based on 2,214 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Good location but under construction.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Don't rent out rooms when you are in the middle of a major remodel
Location: Good location
The property was under construction, fumes in the hall and rooms would knock you down. Would take 20 minutes to get an elevator or you had to walk down the stairs. There was no ice maker, you did not need an alarm the hammering and sawing would wake you up every morning @ 7:00. They turned off the electricity from midnight until 6:30 in the morning so we had no lights or air conditioning. Must have been 80% when it came back on, the worst part was they did not tell anyone ahead of time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Under too much Construction

Posted May 2, 2017
We stayed three nights and were terribly disappointed. We had stayed there previously when it was the Strand and loved the boutique feel and friendliness of its staff. There is construction everywhere - with work materials, ladders blocking entrances and exits. There did seem to be a lull on Saturday and Sunday but Friday and Monday were abysmal. Despite requesting an early check-in, our room wasn't ready when we arrived and had to wait two hours. The room itself had no space for luggage, food, drinks, or much of anything. We had to ask for a luggage rack to rest one of the small carry-ons on and used the small chair for the other. The closet was extremely small; we had to ask the staff to bring ice every day since there were no machines. The vacuum cleaner stood outside our room door for four days; don't know if it was used or not. We had a room with two double beds that basically consumed all available space - and it was a renovated room. There was a very long wait on Friday night for the elevator; we saw one couple taking the stairs in order to get to the theater on time. The one positive was the comfort of the bed - very good. We booked this hotel in the fall of 2016 for our recent spring trip so probably paid way too much for the room, based on rates I'm seeing now. We won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, CA

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Nice hotel and very accommodating and helpful staff but the experience was ruined by all the noise from ongoing construction work. Could barely get a decent sleep. Had to wait 5-10 min for the one working elevator. The rooms were very small but kinda expected for New York City anyways. Had to checkout after the first night. The staff were very friendly and understanding and helped us with full refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan New York

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Just under renovations when we were there. Tjer than that it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW Georgia

Expedia withholds Information

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The staff and the fruit infused water waiting for us all day.
Cons: Expedia needs to inform their clients of renovations before a person books their travel
I was surprised that Expedia did not tell us the extent of the renovations that were occurring during the time of our stay. It was MAJOR renovations!! This was our first visit to NYC and I was disappointed with the appearance of the hotel. But the staff was so gracious and helpful and just all around awesome that it more than made up for the physical state of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Disasterous!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location of the hotel was very good
Cons: Hopefully after the construction ends it will be great.
Location: We could walk to the theater district, 5th Ave. shopping, good restaurants, and a subway stop was 3 blocks away.
We had been told that some areas of the hotel would be under construction during our stay, but that was a complete understatement. No lobby, rerouting through a narrow passageway, long waits for the small elevators, and they were dirty with construction powder. Once the front desk people were wearing masks, but we weren't offered that same protection. The hotel should NEVER have been open during this time!! And we paid the normal room rate - no discounts for our inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Newl

Friendly, clean, and comfortable!

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. We moved to this hotel from another one that was undesirable. This hotel was excellent from the minute you pulled up to the front door. Excellent service from the door and bell staff. Front desk folks were always friendly and welcomed you each time you came in the building. They were helpful with advice to restaurants and attractions and the best method of transportation to get there. Excellent in all areas! Would definitely come back here if in New York again!
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Great rooms and my room had an amazing view of the Empire State Building! There is also a very cool rooftop lounge.
5 out of 5
by Christina

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay! Everyone at the hotel was so nice and friendly.