Ratings based on 3,002 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location, good price!

Posted May 26, 2017
The location of this tiny hotel can't be beat. Restaurants, theater, subway, some shopping right nearby. Free wifi and a small business center with access to printing are a plus, as is the good (not great) Italian Restaurant Coeli located in the hotel. I will definitely stay here again if the price stays right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Close to time square and metro

Posted May 24, 2017
Room tiny, bed tiny, no good for 2 average size adults, booked last minute. Clean and tidy noisey air con.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location the only atteaction

Posted May 24, 2017
Except the location there is nothing else to write about this place. Yes it has the old world charm but they can at least keep a kettle to make tea/coffee, in the lobby if not in the room. The front staff is more keen to look at the computer screen or phone than at guests. They didn't even bother to put up a notice when the lift stopped working letting a old man fetch a bag all by himself. But the location, right next door to Times Square erases all these bad experiences. So if the price is right go for it & ignore the snobby staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted May 22, 2017
Small but clean, had a comfy bed. Door lock was broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but good deal for the money

Posted May 21, 2017
While it was a small hotel room (not unusual for NYC), and a mini-fridge or coffee maker would have been nice, the deal on this room was well worth it. It's also in the middle of everything yet strangely quiet for being so close to the middle of the circus of Times Square. The biggest problem I had was that the food in the direct area was tourist trap junk, and it took a few blocks to get somewhere with interesting options. Then again, the subways were all around to, which made the food issue minimal except during the day of the snowstorm when I was there. The staff was also very helpful and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horseheads, NY

Typical Old-Time NYC Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The bed was good and the location was great.
Location: Just on the fringes of Time Square District. The Book of Mormon was next door and 8th Ave was only a building away. Really good location.
The location is great, the room was just OK. Very small, no work space to speak of, small bathroom. The bed was very good, I had a king room and the mattress was firm and the room was nice and dark, so I did sleep well! The room overall appeared to be clean. I did miss having a window, the small one I had looked out over a section of roof that let in no light. Overall, the hotel was quiet enough and served my purposes of having a reasonably priced stay at a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice inexpensive stay in the theater district.

Posted May 16, 2017
Overall, a very positive experience. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, allowing us into our room when we got there early, and greeting us every time we came into the hotel. Also, for being in the theater district, the rooms were quite quiet – we really didn't hear much of any traffic noise. In addition, the air-conditioner worked very well. Now, the room was very small, but this is to be expected. In all, a very quaint oldee hotel that had a nice comfortable feeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok if you want to slum it for a couple of nights

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, lick of paint and a few carpets.
Location: Time Square, theatres, Empire State.
On the face of it hotel looked good and the staff where friendly and great location close to Time Square, hotel very old which we new but room was dirty we had to ask for fresh bed linen which we had to change ourselves, our room was small and dark as the only window was to a very dark ally way, there where no facilities to make a drink there was an iron but no board and the A/C worked but didn't get very cold. Overall ok if you want to slum it for a couple of nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

Close to Broadway!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly. We arrived early and the kept our bags while we walked the city.
Cons: I really can't think of anything they can do for improvement.
Location: It's NYC...2 blocks from Broadway!
While the Mayfair rooms are "tight", they are quaint and clean. The rooms show a bit of age, but the staff is excellent...the location is excellent and the price is fair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

BED BUGS

Posted May 1, 2017
I had an employee stay here and he was covered in bed bug bites. Mayfair staff was very helpful about the issue. But i do not recommend this hotel unless you like little friends.