Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good find in Brooklyn

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean and comfortable.
Cons: More electrical outlets and perhaps a free bottle of water.
Location: The location is in Williamsburg just across the street from a large park. It is an easy subway ride into Manhattan.
A former New Yorker, I usually stay with family in Manhattan when visiting NYC. On this occasion I wanted to be close to my son who recently moved to Williamsburg. This was the perfect place. Just a few blocks from him. The lobby of the hotel is fairly spartan so I was surprised when I entered my room. It was very clean and spacious enough. The bathroom was large with a big shower and good water pressure. My only complaint was the lack of outlets. In this day and age, with the need to constantly recharged electronics, an abundance of outlets is necessary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington

Great location to all cool spots in Williamsburg.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location and cool vibe
Cons: Rooftop open more nights
Location: Easy access to everything. Loved Peter Pan for breakfast and Sweet Chicks for lunch!
Great staff. Very helpful. Helped us secure a spot on the street for leaving a vehicle rental on first day. Quick uber drivers to go anywhere. Great location to walk or uber to all cool places in Williamsburg. Close enough to walk to the train into the city. Hotel nice and clean. Quiet. I would like to come back in the summer when the pool is open. Rooftop bar only open on Friday and Saturday. That was a little disappointing. Other than that, perfect stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great location. Friendly and accommodating staff Would go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep searching

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Well first off the pool area was out until May , theres only one microwave in the building and the room is very small. I originally wanted to visit the william dale and I should have for the small price difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nesconset, New York

Good stay, friendly staff, a little disappointing

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Welcome was friendly. Location is good. Room was generally clean. The bathroom, however, was poorly designed. I tried to wash my face in the sink and, because of its design, water splashed everywhere, including on the shelf below, where the hair dryer and the extra toilet paper were shelved. A knob in the shower came off. Also, the staff never told me that they had a continental breakfast. I figured it out on my own when I went in search of coffee the sencond morning. There was a lovely looking cappuccino maker behind the breakfast bar but, when I inquired, I was told curtly that it was just for show.
2 out of 5
by Latisha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ernesto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna

Friendly, hip and comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
I really liked the McCarren and was happy I booked that hotel. I wish there was a more comprehensive list of their amenities though (their website isn't helpful either) because I did some work to coordinate a crib rental when it turns out they had cribs available on request. I was annoyed because the restaurant/bar was closed for the period that I was there. It's not a huge deal, but I specifically booked that hotel because it had a bar/restaurant since I wanted to have room service available as needed given that I was travelling cross country by myself with my baby and wasn't sure what his sleep schedule would be. All in all the stay was great. Friendly staff, hip and comfortable decor in a cool Brooklyn neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Perfect hotel for a quick trip to Brooklyn!

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
What a great hotel! Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! Very close to great restaurants. Very comfortable room. Will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
by Blaise

Fun spot in a great part of town

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great little hotel in a fun area.