Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saranac lake ny

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: pool was nice to have in brooklyn
Cons: staff attentiveness/ clean rooms
we could not check in early and actually had to check in late(after 4)the room was not overly clean and at 4:30 on the next day i had to go and request that they clean room/make bed etc. they are all about the pool and the rooms seam to be a second thought. this is unacceptable at this price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dortmund

Tolles Hotel mit "aber"

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Der saubere Poolbereich....ein guter Start in den Tag.
Cons: Ja, es sollte für Buchungsinteressierte dringend ein Hinweis auf die an Frei- und Samstagen stattfindenden DJ Partys und Clubnights erfolgen.
Wir suchten eine komfortable Unterkunft, in der wir abends entspannen und abschalten können. Das McCarren ist toll, nicht zu groß, das Personal ist klasse und das Umfeld/Lage optimal und vernünftig. Leider finden an Frei- und Samstagen Clubnights auf der Dachterrasse statt. An Schlaf ist dann nicht zu denken. Das Partyvolk fährt nachts mit dem Fahrstuhl auf und ab und die Bässe dröhnen in jedes Zimmer. Man muß sich dann die Frage stellen, ob man in einem Hotel ist oder in einer Diskothek. Ein Hinweis auf diese massive Lärmbelästigung fehlt bislang leider in den Buchungsportalen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Cool Hotel, Great Location, Great Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: rooftop bar, restaurant, staff
Location: The location was also great. So many excellent bars and cafes on Bedford Avenue. The subway is a 5 minute walk
We had an excellent stay at McCarren. Having only stayed in Manhattan before we decided to try out Williamsburg. We weren't disappointed and the hotel was a key part of that. We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation, the downstairs restaurant and the roof top bar. We knew to expect that the rooms would not be massive, but were impressed with the spec of the bathrooms, even the radio/docking station was a nice touch. The bed was so comfortable it is a wonder that we managed to get up. The restaurant menu, although a little limited, had some interesting dishes, and a very good beer selection. We found all of the staff we dealt with to be polite, friendly, and helpful and some went beyond in terms of sorting out stuff for us. We were a month too early for the pool unfortunately, but hopefully we'll get to try it in the future.
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Würde wieder in dieses Hotel gehen!!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Wir waren in Brooklyn um drei Konzerte im Rough Trade zu besuchen. Die Lage war ideal. Die Gegend hat ein besonderes 'Flair' Das Personal war sehr hilfsbereit!
3 out of 5
by Mary from Boston

The Highs and Lows of Staying at the McCarren

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Highs - The location can't be beat and we loved being so close to everything in the Green Point area. The neighbor hood is packed with great sights to see from the shops to the parks and there are many fabulous restaurants to eat at. Lows - The bed was extremely uncomfortable made for two rough nights of sleep. The AM coffee in the lobby was unappealing - curdling milk and clumped sugar packets - made us wonder what else is lurking just under the surface of things. We're likely to stay elsewhere the next time we are in Brooklyn.
5 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Amy from Jonestown, PA

Beautiful But Loud Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was beautiful. We were in town for my sister's wedding. Most of the family was staying at the McCarren. I had requested that we be on one floor if possible prior to check in. We were all on different floors. But, it was mostly okay. The rooms were wonderful! My biggest problem with the hotel was the rooftop lounge. The music was playing loudly long after 2am on Fri and Sat. I did not sleep at all the night before the wedding, which tainted my view of the hotel. We were on the 7th floor. My family on the 2nd and 3rd floors heard nothing, though. So request lower floors!! I called multiple times to the front desk to ask when the music would stop. They told me times that continued to come and go. My husband finally called at 2:15am and they shut off the music. (We later heard it was a private event, so they just didn't stop the music when they should have) I loved the hotel, but not sleeping for two nights really ruined this hotel for me. :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Central hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Great shower
Cons: Reception area - comfortable chairs to relax if waiting for a late flight
Location: Good location to individual shops and wonderful restaurants
We found the staff very pleasant. The room was tiny, very tiny, and really should only have been used for single occupancy. There was only a single (very small) wardrobe and a couple of very small drawers. We couldn't empty our cases which was unfortunate as we were staying for 4 nights. The hotel was clean and the staff always smiling.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Fairbanks, Alaska

Best hotel and staff in Brooklyn and the best bed

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was my first visit to NYC ever and for pleasure. I was well informed by both Martin and Andre on the best sites to see and best way to navigate NYC to get the most bang for my buck. They no doubt saved me a day in travel time which allowed me to see more of the sites. You are very fortunate to have such a caring and knowledgeable staff working for you.
4 out of 5
by Christina from Philadelphia

Great find in Brooklyn

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. My room was modern yet comfortable. I came during the off-season, so the pool and roof deck were closed. I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises.