Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Greenpoint, Williamsburg and easy subway rides to the city! Bathroom products were amazing!
Cons: Free ice, water and coffee.
Location: Perfect and many things close by.
The location could not be improved upon. The rooms were extremely small - even more so than most NYC hotels. The air conditioning didnt work well and the toilet ran but those things were fixed quickly. The pool was always grossly crowded - usually with lovey-dovey couples who should've stayed in their rooms. No ice and you had to buy water and $6 coffee in the lobby. The roof top bar was lovely but the waitresses and bartenders were clueless. The tried to tell us that Prosecco and chardonnay were the same thing and they were out of most of their beer selections. Overall very hit or miss but I'd stay here again just for the location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fun young hotel -all about the scene!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The decor and design was esthetically pleasing.
Cons: Customer service fell short. The staff were friendly but did not have a clue about customer service.
Location: Perfect location! Tons to see and do and buy on Bedford. Close to the subway.
So this trip to NY was an anniversary trip with my husband and we were excited to spend some time in Brooklyn. The scene was very much about the pool and the roof top bar. We did not take advantage of the pool but we did grab a cocktail at the bar. But as we were trying to order the bartender cut us off to take an order from a cocktail waitress. We got our drinks and I hung out at the bar to see if he wanted to ask me if I wanted to leave my tab open or close it. He never came by. So my husband and I settled into one of the plush couches to enjoy the skyline view and watch the drunk bikini clad 20somethings flirt with the tousled-blond-tipped arrow-tattoo-on-the-forearm guy. No other staff ever came by in the hour we sat up there. So thanks for the anniversary cocktail guys. Then since it was super humid and the air conditioner did not cool down past 75, we tried out the sexy shower. It was one of those cool one-glass-door with rain shower head ones so the water needed to be dammed into the shower by some rolled up towels. As I bent over to put my towel dam in place, I saw a pair of royal blue Calvin Cline boxer briefs that did not belong to my husband. No biggie we weren't gonna touch them and they weren't doing anything to ruin our night. We mentioned it to the front desk on our way out the next morning and they asked "so what do you want to do?" Not "Oh wow, that's kinda gnarly, can we take care of that for you?" The kids/staff could use some practice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great spot to stay - go exploring to eat / drink

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable beds, good location, soft pillows, nice rooms. Friendly staff. Bellhop was very helpful in getting a cab / storing bags.
Cons: Overall knowledge of the staff - prepare to give some local recommendations, improve speed of service at the desk and bars, especially the rooftop.
Location: Schedule Brooklyn Brewery tour several weeks in advance if you want in. Mabel's Smokehouse / BBQ, AllsWell are great places to visit.
The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are very polite. It's in a good spot within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, the Brooklyn Brewery, etc. You'll see some New York "graffiti" nearby which is actually street art and it's in a pretty safe neighborhood. My primary complaint with the hotel is that the staff, while mostly friendly, seem like they were transported there in a sealed plastic bag. I asked for recommendations by phone two days before my visit and got a list of NYC attractions e-mailed to me, which looked like a copy/paste from Google. Upon arrival, only one staff member was able to recommend a restaurant nearby - the others went to Google to find one. I can do that! I wanted a *local* recommendation! The main level lobby bar is underwhelming. I think they had a grand total of one cider and one beer stocked and all the red wine was "chilled" - not our thing. When I asked for a mojito and got one with cucumbers in it, I asked for another without and the pool bartender gave me a look of astonishment... but did remake the drink. Upon arriving at the rooftop bar at 10:55 at night, and with a reasonably good number of people there, the only bartender informed me that the rooftop area was closing/no longer serving. On my way out, I commented on this to the front desk who told me that, no, the rooftop operates until at least 11:45. Better off going to one of the other places in the neighborhood to drink. There are at least 20 in a 3 minute walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Amenities, location, and comfort are worth the price.
Cons: Staff could be better organized, more attentive, and could treat guests better.
Location: Location is great! Parks, stores, food trucks, night clubs, etc. are all nearby! Great for a fun night out walking around in the streets.
Very fancy and probably the best option in Brooklyn. The staff are rude, and it is not family-friendly at all though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new joisey

Los Angeles weekend pool scene. Big fun

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Great people staff food wine ! A fantastic time The day beds were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little bit of LA in Broolyn

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great great great weekend pool scene.... The heck with the Hamptons... save gas, save time, relax - be happy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Forget it

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Overpriced, poor service. The pool is constantly overrun by bogan fraternity kids - in the afternoon it's like a warm bath filled with cheap alcohol. Service is confused and contradictory, restaurant serves terrible food. Go anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from World Traveler/Southerner

Lucky Us...Brooklyn wins - hotel room AND POOL!!!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The location is primo....Nice park across the street and lots of eateries nearby.
Cons: Reducing the number of "Day Dippers" (non-guests paying for pool use). and more hooks to hand thingies on in the rooms.
Location: Mable's BBQ - excellent. The rooftop bar is also lovely, but it is often booked for private functions.
Having to choose between the Wythe in Williamsburg or the McCarren we choose the one with the pool and what a winner it was. Yes, the room (King) was adequately equipped, rather small but acceptable for two people. We found it in good condition, nicely appointed and quiet on the upper pool side which was nice. Since the hotel also charges non-guests ($40 day) admission to enjoy the pool - on a sunny hot day in late June we were a bit put-off by the crowd by 1pm at poolside. But the majority of them were upper crust Willie Hipsters, harmless, noisy but lovely to look at and amusing to watch. As a guest you are provided with premium access to comfy double loungers by the pool and a wait staff eager to provide eats and drinks. Check in was a breeze, and keeping our luggage safe while we headed for a lunch date after we checked out was a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Walking distance to a lot of stores and restaurants. Nice neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Sadly lacking....

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Location near family.
Cons: Amenities, housekeeping, soundproofing. Room service was weak.
Location: Brooklyn has a vibrant street scene. Lots of great restaurants nearby.
Booked a suite for myself and husband and nephew. Couch did not fold out. Had to call three times to get linens for leather couch. "Kitchen" poorly outfitted - no trash can, no paper towels, no soap for sink. Housekeeping failed to dump trash or replace used coffee cups. Street side location on sixth floor loud till wee hours. Room service pastries for breakfast laughable. Tiny, burnt and tossed on a melamine plate. At over $600 per night, there are many better options.