Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dortmund

Tolles Hotel mit "aber"

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Der saubere Poolbereich....ein guter Start in den Tag.
Cons: Ja, es sollte für Buchungsinteressierte dringend ein Hinweis auf die an Frei- und Samstagen stattfindenden DJ Partys und Clubnights erfolgen.
Wir suchten eine komfortable Unterkunft, in der wir abends entspannen und abschalten können. Das McCarren ist toll, nicht zu groß, das Personal ist klasse und das Umfeld/Lage optimal und vernünftig. Leider finden an Frei- und Samstagen Clubnights auf der Dachterrasse statt. An Schlaf ist dann nicht zu denken. Das Partyvolk fährt nachts mit dem Fahrstuhl auf und ab und die Bässe dröhnen in jedes Zimmer. Man muß sich dann die Frage stellen, ob man in einem Hotel ist oder in einer Diskothek. Ein Hinweis auf diese massive Lärmbelästigung fehlt bislang leider in den Buchungsportalen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Cool Hotel, Great Location, Great Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: rooftop bar, restaurant, staff
Location: The location was also great. So many excellent bars and cafes on Bedford Avenue. The subway is a 5 minute walk
We had an excellent stay at McCarren. Having only stayed in Manhattan before we decided to try out Williamsburg. We weren't disappointed and the hotel was a key part of that. We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation, the downstairs restaurant and the roof top bar. We knew to expect that the rooms would not be massive, but were impressed with the spec of the bathrooms, even the radio/docking station was a nice touch. The bed was so comfortable it is a wonder that we managed to get up. The restaurant menu, although a little limited, had some interesting dishes, and a very good beer selection. We found all of the staff we dealt with to be polite, friendly, and helpful and some went beyond in terms of sorting out stuff for us. We were a month too early for the pool unfortunately, but hopefully we'll get to try it in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Central hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Great shower
Cons: Reception area - comfortable chairs to relax if waiting for a late flight
Location: Good location to individual shops and wonderful restaurants
We found the staff very pleasant. The room was tiny, very tiny, and really should only have been used for single occupancy. There was only a single (very small) wardrobe and a couple of very small drawers. We couldn't empty our cases which was unfortunate as we were staying for 4 nights. The hotel was clean and the staff always smiling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Don't feel like adding 50 characters at all it was a horrible stay and I'm never going there again that's it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Front staff was very kind.
Cons: See above.
Location: Very close to Greenpoint and Williamsburg...and my daughter.
Had a bad experience in the middle of the night. Intermittent beeping noise (like a smoke detector battery going bad but softer). I called downstairs and eventually a maintenance guy came up and when I began explain the problem he finished my sentence as he knew exactly what I was talking about. He said the noise was coming from behind the wall and I would need to change rooms. Really. 3:40AM. I toughed it out and they gave me $50 towards my bill. Probably should have done more for a restless nights sleep. In addition - light next to the bed didn't work and the phone was not lit. And why can't placed put an outlet next to the bed for your iphone?!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room & location could have used less comotion

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
We were only there one night but there was a lot of maintenance going on. Lots of equipment (air movers and dehumidifiers)at lobby entrance when we arrived and filling up hallway on our floor. One elevator was out of service when we arrived and both were out of service when we checked out so had to carry bags down the stairs. They also tested the fire alarm system without advance notice to us that it was happening. At first we thought it was the equipment in the hallway beeping and then an announcement was made that it was a test of alarm system. We enjoyed the room as it was nice, clean and comfortable. It just felt like we were there on maintenance day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great hotel warms up cold city

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Since it was below temperatures outside, I spent a lot of time inside my hotel room. You will not be disappointed by the beauty of the room. Very modern, comfortable and clean. It may be a little small for two people but it is New York. The bed is very comfortable. The only complaint might have been the music from the roof top club. It was a little loud but really didn't bother me that much. The hotel staff were very nice especially Toni, Martin and Dayana.
5 out of 5
by Pauline from Portland ME

Best place to stay in Williamsburg.

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
It is always a pleasure staying at this hotel. For us the convenience of location, cleanliness and great customer service is key.
4 out of 5
by Holly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Lovely hotel, close to everything

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Convenience, comfort, cleanliness, staff
Location: Maison Premier on Bedford Ave for happy hour drinks & oysters. Right by L train, and 15 min walk to J train - easy access to Manhattan.
I can't say enough good about this hotel & it's wonderful staff. The location is in the heart of Williamsburg where all the cool spots are walkable. The hotel is charming, very clean & maintained. A winter stay, so nice & quiet. I understand it's more lively when the pool is open. The staff made my stay, especially Martin (gosh, I hope I got his name right). If I needed my room cleaned late in the day, it was done. When I needed a car to Manhattan, it was there within minutes. When it was sensed I was having a particularly bad day, I was given a complimentary drink card for the bar. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate their guests, which is what you want when you're paying a premium. As a woman traveling solo, I felt very safe & secure. Rooms were on the small end (typical for NY), but so clean, cozy & comfortable. I stayed in a king room with balcony overlooking the park. Best hotel in Williamsburg, in my opinion. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.