Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark from Maryland

If you need a one bedroom in New York....

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location and space.
Cons: New and nicer linens and the rooms could use some sprucing up, including the heating which was either off or blowing extremely hot
Location: Everything is within walking distance as Grand Central is three blocks away
We've stayed here a few times. The location is exceptional for a Christmas weekend. The staff is fine and the rooms have everything you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by teresa from Ireland

exelent location

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels
Only complaint was we were only left one towel one of the days to shower .
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lot of money and little to offer

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Doorman accommodating. Market 1 block away. Computer (2) room with 1 printer.
Cons: Appliances should work. Reservations and conditions should be honored.
Location: can't say.
Very disappointing. Upon arrival, shown a single bed rather than the two reserved. We were told # beds is "only a request, not a guarantee." Upon my insistence, another room was assigned --- but on a smoking floor. Pee yew. Could smell smoke through the vents. No accessible free electrical outlets. No extension cords in all of hotel and housekeeping. No known stores nearby to buy one. Freezer in mini frig did not work and all frozen food had to be dumped. For the price, I'd expect in-room Internet access to be included but it wasn't and we had to pay extra. Business room had no color printer. No dish soap or washing cloth/sponge. We paid extra per night for cancellation protection but hotel owner/manager failed to honor ---we had to leave 2 days early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Different room than what booked

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: Pics should match room you get!
When I booked the room, I picked the more expensive room as pics showed renovated rooms that I needed the good refrigerator for personal reasons. When I arrived, they provided me the non-renovated room. I asked to be changed to renovated room and staff did not accommodate as they had given renovated room away to someone else. Unfortunately, because of my situation, I had to book a room elsewhere in NY that had good refrigerator. I was not refunded. Disappointing given my personal situation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Staff, kitchen, convenient to Grand Central Station.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We love that it is convenient to Grand Central Station. It's also an easy walk for us to Macy's, Fifth Avenue, etc.
I have been meeting my best friend in NYC the Thursday after thanksgiving for 16 years. Many of those trips WD have stayed at Murray Hill East Suites and we find it to be a great place to stay. It is very convenient to Grand Central Station, Macy's and other places we go. The staff is excellent and having a kitchen means we can heat up leftovers. We will continue to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Older hotel with great service

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
People were extremely nice and helpful. If you don't mind an older hotel it's fine. Disappointed that there weren't more restaurants/bars open after midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Abigail Jin from Mass.

Great location!

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
I travelled to NYC with three friends so we definitely wanted a suite to accommodate all of our needs. Luckily, the Hotel upgraded us to the Penthouse on the 15th floor and we were very happy with the size and conveniences of the room! The kitchen, dining and living areas were the perfect size for our group, and the bedroom and bathroom worked well for us as well. The décor was dated but the room was comfortable, the kitchen and living space was convenient. The location was perfect, close to Grand Central Station and public Subway transit. The neighborhood offered a variety of stores, bars, and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly, w easy bag-storage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by scott from albany

dated furnishings but very clean, friendly, great

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel staff was wonderful, very effecient and friendly. The hotel suites are huge. The interiors aer a bit dated but very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosario from Tuscumbia, AL

Like home away from home

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Spacious, clean, centrally located.
Cons: Some coffee mugs in the kitchen (cups were a bit small), a glass quart measuring cup for heating liquids in the microwave -- minor stuff though.
Location: Walk to Sixth Avenue to watch the Thanksgiving Day parade, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building.
We were so pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and cleanliness of our suite (one bedroom apartment really). There was plenty of closet space for all our belongings. We found out that the stove did not light, and though we did not mention it because we thought we'd make do with the microwave and toaster, a repairman showed up on the third morning of our stay to fix it. The cleaning staff did a great job of cleaning our room every day, and even though we didn't request it, left extra towels, soap, shampoo, and coffee. There were a couple of nights when there were loud noises in the middle of the night (one night it was someone hammering, the next night it was someone playing music), but both times it did not last long, and our boys, who are 8 and 10, were not awakened. The staff was friendly, there were often cabs right outside, and Grand Central was a short walk. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and are planning on staying here on our next trip to NYC.