Ratings based on 2,051 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Would not stay again

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Grand Central.
Cons: I have stayed at older properties where they have managed to keep the rooms in good condition and items serviced. Doesn't seem to be a priority.
Location: A few blocks from Grand Central Station so perfect for anyone needing to get around the city for business or tourism.
I have had to travel to NY a number of times over the years and have been able to find reasonably priced hotels in the city. We had not tried the Jolly Madison before but it was close to the event we were attending and at a decent rate given the difference in the dollar. I have travelled a lot in the US and this was probably the worst quality I have experienced. I am not a high maintenance guest but there were a number of things broken or unservicable in the room. Room cleanliness was poor and some of the linens were permanently stained. Even with the windows closed the street noise was exceptional. Staff were pleasant but seemed to be accustomed to this feedback from guests. A very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Netherlands

Very convenient for all of New York's attractions.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The convenient location.
Cons: Well, the hotel is due for major renovation which will take at least a year.
Location: The hotel is just around the corner from the Morgan Library and Museum. It is very near the New York Public Library where there is a subway station.
Now, before I make my complaint, let me just say that we love this hotel. This was the third time that we stayed in this hotel. But, we had a major problem with the hotel telephone system. My cousin from Boston booked into the hotel the day after we did. We could not leave him messages because his telephone was not working. By coincidence, his room was the one he stayed in last year and there was a problem at that time. Thus, his telephone had not been repaired in the year between his visits. Because we were not able to contact him except by written messages, he missed the final performance of " Aida " at the Metropolitan Opera. We were not at all pleased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Good location, not the best hotel condition. Wifi: poor signal. Tv: no cable, not working properly. Needs to fix some things (old elevators, etc)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Comfortable, quaint and reasonably priced

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Comfortable, affordable and quiet. We enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is older. It was close to tons of fun activities and great restaurants, we walked everywhere and loved the location. NH Hotels in general are awesome. This is one of their older hotels, but was perfect for our stay in NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

for the price, A very clean , comfortable stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: good service and comfortable room
Cons: A little run down but ok
Location: great location: Eateries and to all museum's and iconic locations.
Great Location for Manhattan. very accessible and close to restaurant's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good location, great base

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Close to Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building and not far from Times Square this hotel is an ideal base for a visit to New York. No restaurant, but great diner on the corner across the street. Room was clean and tidy, if a little basic but we weren't in New York to stay in the room! Staff were helpful with enquiries
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good position.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: I like the friendliness of the hotel, and that it is so central and within walking distance of places I want to go.
Cons: Perhaps having coffee making facilities in the room, or available in the large reception area.
Location: The location was perfect for me, within walking distance of the main stores, Bryant Park, Times Square and the Broadway theatres.
We had a nice room, the room staff were polite and efficient. The people on Reception were so helpful and polite, particularly Stefano and Mustafa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maddison Ave, NYC

SUPERB LOCATION

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: I like the staff and how professional they are!
Cons: Well the thing I would improved on is the room ambience but they are doing so already
Location: the location and how close it is to everything. 10 MINS TO TIME SQUARE. This hotel is on Madison close to 5th ave.
Both my friend and I were traveling from Canada. Our stay was from Thursday-Monday. However, when we checked-in our room was not the best, It was a bit outdated. Expedia sent me an email asking me how did my check-in with I responded with a sad face because its not what we expected. Right away I got a call from the sales manager for the hotel and she ask what the issue was I told her and she offered us a upgrade with no cost. Point in case, is that the staff here is professional and they ensure that we had a great time our upgraded room was excellent. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is under constuction so there is no restaurants or amenities but you are never going to be in the room 10 mins walk to Time Square and there are restaurant close by a breakfast place across from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Centrally located and friendly staff.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Central location to broadway, Macy's etc.
Cons: Room furniture was old fashioned possibly mahogany so quite dark.
Location: Broadway, Macy's port authority.
We would have needed a heavy throw on the bed as there is just a chenille cover at the end of the bed so we left the heater on all night.the bar was closed as they are currently renovating. We would stay again simply because of the location but would prefer to stay elsewhere if could get for a comparable price. It was good value and very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire uk

Excellent location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice hotel in a good location close to 5th ave, Times Square and grand central station. Hotel is tired and dated but room was nice and Bed was comfy.