Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pawtucket, RI

Nice Hotel close to The Barclays Center

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Second time returning to NU Hotel because it's close to the Barclays Center. Also love the parking garage right next door, makes it easy and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Affordable, clean hotel in great part of Brooklyn.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Its location in Boerum Hill, close to the Brooklyn promenade, its cleanliness, its price.
Location: There are restaurants, boutiques, and movie theaters up and down Smith and Court Streets, and quaint Brooklyn Heights is a 5-minute walk.
Nu Hotel was exactly what I needed for my recent trip to NY. My room was immaculately clean, very quiet (considering it was on Atlantic Avenue, that's impressive!), and comfortable. It's located in a part of Brooklyn that's very family friendly - there are tons of restaurants on Smith and Court Streets, and a beautiful family park just a few blocks away. Nu Hotel is also conveniently located to several main subway lines, so getting in and out of downtown Manhattan takes less than 10 minutes. For anyone visiting NYC on business who'd prefer not to stay in Midtown, or families visiting NYC with small children, I'd highly recommend staying at Nu Hotel instead of staying in Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Big room for the price. Convenient to subway. Free breakfast was good: boiled and peeled eggs, orange juice that seemed fresh, cereal and breads.
Cons: The mini-bar experience was on steroids, with booze and snacks scattered all about the room. Too much.
Location: I was there to work. There seemed to be plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel.
I was there on a business trip, in and out after one night. Check-in was efficient, with a very cheerful woman seated on the edge of their lobby bar doing the work. She called an hour later to see if the room met my needs. It did, although the free Internet service seemed a bit slow, and one of the two bed lamps didn't work. The dresser surface was cluttered with overpriced food and drink options, but it was easy enough to consolidate and move them out of the way. Otherwise it was roomy, comfortable and clean and just a short walk to a major subway hub to get back into Manhattan or further into Brooklyn. I will stay there again unless the prices escalate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room as well as the location of the hotel in relation to public transportation. I was sorry to hear that one of the bedside lamps did not work while you were here, but thank you for letting us know so my engineer can fix this issue. You are always welcome to stay with us whenever you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Clean hotel near downtown Brooklyn

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Convenience, breakfast, size of room and bathroom
Cons: When we first walked in, all of us thought we were entering the bar and walked back out. Some better indication of the hotel entry would be nice.
Location: Hotel is in Downtown Brooklyn, several blocks from the Barclay Center, with multiple subways close by. Lots of good restaurants= great location
Hotel was very clean. Breakfast each morning was quite sufficient for us. We were visiting family and this was very convenient. Be aware that a $50 per day charge covers incidentals, if you have any. It should be reversed when you check out if you didn't use the Mini-bar, or more accurately, the maxi-bar. There was a bit of confusion when we checked out. We had booked thru Expedia and pre-paid. The clerk could not find the record of pre-paying and wanted to charge my credit card. After about 15 minutes, she was able to find the pre-pay record. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
very good experience at NU hotel, great location and friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The location was great for me. The staff was great!
Cons: Too expensive!
Location: Close to everything in Brooklyn and easy to get to the subway.
The staff was very helpful and the hotel was nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a fantastic time!

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Staff was super friendly and helpful. Great part of town. Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! I am very happy to hear that you thought the staff was super friendly and helpful. We strive our best to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Brooklyn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Hidden charges, beware!

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Well this was the fourth time in 13 months that I've stayed at the hotel. Every other occasion my stay has been above average but this time the experience was very poor. The sliding wardrobe in my room was half hanging off its hinges, the room had no disposal bins and the room service would arrive late very day. To top it up, the view from my room was awful, all I could see was a wall in front of me and the room felt claustrophobic. This morning I have today received my monthly bank statement and to my horror I have been charged 10.00 Usd on April 30th the day I checked out. Even though I had booked and paid until May the 1st through Expedia. Then I have been charged a further 46.82 Usd on May 1st? I am unaware of both these charges as I had paid in cash when I had checked out. This is daylight robbery and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you're travelling from the UK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laurie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice gem in Brooklyn

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at the Nu hotel with my husband and 1-year old son ahead of a friend's wedding on Memorial Day Weekend. It's about a $20 cab ride (before tip) from Grand Central station and is at a convenient location on the corner of Smith and Atlantic so it's walking distance to tons of restaurants, neighbourhood shops and places like Trader Joe's, Rite Aid, Dunkin Donuts, etc. The staff were courteous and professional and the room was comfortable and featured pretty much any incidental you could think of. I liked that they provided a price list of all the incidentals so you would not be surprised once you received your bill. They also provided a crib for my son to sleep in at night upon request. My only critique was that the bed was a little low to the ground. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel to others and would definitely stay here again should I be visiting the area.