Ratings based on 6,072 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great location

Posted May 26, 2017
Nice staff, great hotel. Everything was clean and the room was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Great location, close to the subway and sight seeing bus tour stops. Also across the street from CVS in case you forgot any essentials. Would have liked free wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms, no space to move

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More room in the rooms and better lighting everywhere including the bathroom.
Location: Great restaurants, park nearby.
I stayed in a "deluxe" king room which was just slightly bigger than the king sized bed. My husband and I could barely squeeze by each other and we are pretty normal sized people. There is one small desk chair for seating which basically needs to be up against the desk at all times. I was in NYC for a gala and left the next day. It would have been out of the question to stay at NYLO any longer than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Connie W., Hotel Management
We're so glad that you enjoyed our Upper West Side location and being steps away from great restaurants and the park. I am so sorry you were unsatisfied by your guest room though. We would really appreciate the chance to welcome you back to a larger room you might be more comfortable in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

luxurious and kid friendly

Posted May 15, 2017
Our two queen suite was perfect for the whole family. Very comfortable pillow top beds. Wood floors and a little couch area - perfect for hanging out, getting ready for the day, playing, etc. Most hotels have carpet, which I find gross, but this room was very modern, clean, spacious, and comfortable. We could slide the bed to the wall so the little ones didn't fall out. The bathroom was large and stunning with a long hand held wand (also great for bathing kids). And the lobby was very cozy with lots of personality and style. Plus, it is walking distance to many parks and playgrounds, the Natural History Museum, and lots of great restaurants. The staff was very nice. The doorman always helped us up and down the entrance steps with our double stroller. The bar gave us a complementary drink, and the registration was happy to let us check out late. All in all, it was the perfect choice for us. We will definitely be coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Lovely Hotel in a great location

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Very nice room with a view over Broadway. Really nice bar and reception area.
Cons: The check in process wasn't very informative and we had to find our own way to our room.
Location: Five minutes walk from Central Park, the Natural history museum and the nearest subway stop, which gives easy access to all of Manhattan and beyond.
Overall it was a very pleasurable stay. We actually went to New York to see Barbra Streissand so decided to make a long weekend of it and had a fabulous time. The best bits were the Highline (Chelsea), the 9-11 memorial, and Central park. Best food was at Keste in Bleeker street in Greenwich, great Pizzas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missississauga ontario Canada

Very nice and comfortable location close time squa

Posted May 13, 2017
The hotel was excellent and very good location people visiting to New York City I will recommend the property to my friend and family and for my next trip to new your Hotel service and Staff was excellent and I am thankful to all hotel staff for their hospitality Masood Ahmed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Problem Solved

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location vibe rooms quiet
We had a problem; I wrote to hotel and it was resolved within days. Very good service and a very appealing neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico city

Great location close to the subway system

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: water heating system for lower floors
Location: Lincoln Ctr, Central Park, just a great shopping location
They outdid with the renovation very trendy loved it ( I am 60 yrs young!) the only problem we were in the second floor it took 15 mins to warm the water at the shower We are very conscious of the shortage of potable water that has to be fixed!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Small, but clean rooms. Comfortable! Free bottled water was a plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Great location for my needs

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location was the primary attraction, but I felt it satisfied my needs in every possible way. I had a room up high, away from street noise.
Cons: The entrance is unimpressive, but I don't think it could/should be changed. It's a New York hotel, and that's the way they are. And that's not bad.
Location: With its proximity to Broadway, I'm sure there were many things to do; but my schedule did not permit any sightseeing.
I chose this hotel for its proximity to a wedding I was attending, and its related events. It was great from that standpoint, and turned out to be great for other reasons. The staff was friendly and helpful; the attached restaurant had good food and service; and there is a variety of bar choices to satisfy any need--comfortable lounging, socializing, people-watching, etc. My room was very close to the elevator, which operated very quickly and efficiently.