Ratings based on 4,816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel in the Upper West side.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
I stayed in the NYLO for 2 nights and had a great experience. This is the hotel we keep coming back to every time we go to NY. It is in a great area, and is just a short subway ride away from Times square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great hotel-we will return

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Nice rooftop view, comfortable beds, room temp was great (adjustable). lemon-scented bath products were perfect for summer. great location close to Central Park, Riverside. Quiet room despite major construction next door. All staff were helpful and friendly. Small rooms but had everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

well situated Upper West Side

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: We liked that the rooms in this hotel weren't as dated as other properties on the upper west side in this price range.
Cons: The attached restaurant Serrafina could cater better for children on their breakfast menu - plain pancakes not available.
Location: Natural History Museum subway Central Park Burke and Wills - restaurant, Sugar and Plumm - restaurant, good latte Nice Maton _restaurant,
We really liked this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 7 nights, and had ony possitive interactions the entire time. One of the porters was on very friendly terms with my 2 young children, giving them colouring books and crayons when we returned to the hotel one evening. They were always very excited to see him and he returned their enthusiasm asking about their adventures of the day. The room had everything we needed and the lobby had ample, very comfortable sitting area for the clientel. The AC in our room worked well, our stay was in August and it was particularly hot and humid in the city. Our room had 2 full size or double beds with reading lights, a safe, a wing back chair, a desk and chair and cubbies for storage and a great view of the skyline from the 12th floor. A bar fridge was an optional extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
I got upgrade and breakfast because right now the hotel surround by construction site but it not disturb me at all because I went out around 10.30 am and come back 10.30 pm
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Enthusiastic staff, mechanical nightmares

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The staff, the bed, the outside balcony, the neighborhood, Serafina downstairs.
Cons: Need a separate elevator for the staff. Need to make sure that the mechanicals are in good working order. Don't give a flawed room to a guest.
Location: Within walking distance of Lincoln Center, Central Park and two subway lines. Great restaurants and great grocery stores -- Fairway and Citarella.
This was the first time I stayed in this hotel as NYLO. Upon entering my room, I noticed a piercing noise (like a smoke alarm whose batteries have run out). I called the front desk and was told that someone would come in to fix it while I was out for the night. I came back to the room and there was no noise so I went to bed. At around 2:00 a.m., the noise started up again. I could not sleep. I called the front desk and they said that there was little they could do -- the hotel was full and there was no place to move me. I had to spend the night listening to that piercing noise. The next day I was moved to an upgraded room -- very nice -- but I have to wonder why they ever let me have that first room. The staff was very pleasant and eager to please -- but they were ineffective. There were a couple of other things -- no service elevator. Staff commandeered the elevators with cleaning equipment, luggage racks, etc. when the elevators themselves are very slow. Made trips up and down irritating. Also -- no more fluffy white robes in the rooms -- a disappointment. Overall, my rating is really great staff, eager to please but for some reason many kinks in the infrastructure that don't seem to create a pleasant experience. I hope that the enthusiasm and will to please win the day over time, however, and will give this hotel another chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by MMiller, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the NYLO. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the substandard elevator service during your stay. While we failed to meet your expectations rest assured; your feedback will be reviewed with the appropriate departments so they may be properly addressed. Hopefully, this will enable us to achieve our goal of exceeding our guests' expectations. Warm Regards, Mark Miller General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NY

Great stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015
I stayed for 7 days. i enjoyed every minute. It was comfortable and the staff was very fun and friendly. The room was a bit small but I figured it was New York and that was essentially how New Yorkers live. It was very comfortable and clean. Close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
This hotel was very nice and one of the few available in the upper west side. I would recommend it for parents visiting their college student.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UpstateNY

Disappointing for the ratings and Star rating

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Staff, locale, concept
Cons: Room very beat up- felt like a cheap time-square hotel
Location: almost next to natural history museum, lincoln center close by, lots of food and shopping close. Great locale, and walk able to most places midtown
At a 4.2 user rating and 4 stars, I expected much more. We visit the city very often, usually staying mid-town, but had a function on the upper west side, so after a lot of looking booked this hotel. Cool concept with open bar/cafe and lobby to the street, but room was really shabby. It was rather beat up- walls, some drop ceiling at the entry, furnishings kinda beat too. The "brick" part was some cheap wallpaper on the wall. The bed was comfy, but the room wasn't very clean either. Just really felt like it was probably nice a year or 2 ago, but could have gotten away without the almost $300 pricetag and had a better experience. Staff was really good though.. have to give props there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by MMiller, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the NYLO. While we failed to meet your expectations rest assured; your feedback will be reviewed with appropriate department so they may properly addressed. Hopefully, this will enable us to achieve our goal of exceeding our guests' expectations. I am happy to note that you had pleasant encounters with the staff at NYLO NYC! Warm Regards, Mark Miller General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sophisticated hotel in a neighborhood.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: The beds.
Quirky yet enjoyable. The beds are fantastic. The lobby bar, living room and library are a great place to spend time. The residential neighbors hang out at the bar and bring their dogs. We've been there enough times that we know some of the neighbors and hang out together. The rooftop bar provides a nice view of the Hudson to the west, and other and east. The quirky part is that the property is formerly an apartment building, and some of the apartment tenants have residual rights to their apartments (situated amongst the guest rooms) until they die off or go elsewhere. Some of these folks are quirky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

new York experience

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: clean modern
Cons: food in the bar
Location: central park subways close by
we were booked originally at the comfort inn central park what a dump nest morning got into Nylo what a relief a nice modern stylish hotel thank you!