Ratings based on 2,062 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great hotel but be aware of the actual price

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, vibe
Cons: Be up front about what the "real" room rate is
Location: Cnr Broadway and West 77th Street is a great location. Close to Central Park, a couple of blocks to a Starbucks, another block or 2 to the Subway
We loved this hotel - the room was small but had great utilization of the space (including being able to slide our suitcases under the bed, good wardrobe and cupboard storage, and interesting and useful storage areas in the bathroom). But, you should pay careful attention to ALL the fees mentioned on the expedia website. Because we booked this hotel "in a rush", we didn't pay enough attention, and so we were surprised to find that our credit card was charged for considerably more than what we had thought was the rate. For each night's stay, you will pay an additional $28.00 approx, plus the hotel will put a hold on your card for another $50 per night for "incidentals". When we asked what the $28.00 was for, we were advised it was for the "complimentary" welcome drink (one drink on the first night of our 6-night stay), plus the use of the "facilities of the hotel", such as the gym, the lounge area, etc. Why don't they just include this $28.00 in the nightly rate???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Quick and friendly check in... Stayed in the deluxe king suite, no complaints!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location away from the noise and traffic.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Too expensive for the level of service. Almost 2k for 5 nights. No thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent room, not a great view

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The stay was fantastic, no issues. It was a bit pricey but that was expected for being in the middle of NYC. The bar downstairs and the lounge area was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We stayed for a couple of nights during the holidays.The hotel was very cozy and charming, with a very classic NY bar in the lobby, not loud at all. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet.The staff was friendly and professional. We will definitely stay there again. Great room for the price. The location was awesome just a few blocks from central park. Surrounding by great restaurants and shops in the Upper West Area. Close by subway and museums like the Natural History Museum and Children museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Nice hotel in a safe and quiet location.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel location was superb. There is a subway two blocks away, and another one 5 blocks down with the express train. There are tons of bars and places to eat within a decent walking distant. Central Park is just a couple blocks away. The rooms were nice, nothing extragavant. They were kept clean and we had a keurig in our room. The hotel is located in a neighborhood type feel location, you feel very safe walking down the streets at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place to stay on the Upper West Side!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: everything...see my above note!
Cons: The only thing that irritated me is that you had to sign in to the internet each day on each device. I have a laptop, a phone and an iPad...a lot!
Location: It's the upper west side -- all good!
I thought everything about the NYLO was great. The room was standard NY size but it was navigable for two people and it worked just fine. We were up on the 9th floor overlooking Broadway and it was quiet! I didn't hear my neighbors and I didn't hear much from the street (the weather was freezing so people weren't hanging outside a lot, though!). The rates are affordable. Yes, I've stayed in less expensive places but they don't match up well...and most of my friends stay (on their corporate bosses) in places much more expensive and, I don't think, any better. It's also subway close -- the 1-2-3 trains are two blocks away at 79th & Broadway, so getting downtown is easy. The lobby was festive for the holidays and the common areas down there were all done very well. The bar was great -- they had a jazz combo playing on Thursday night...just really lovely. There were places to set up your computer and the restaurant, Serafina, is connected to the hotel so that made for easy in and out when you didn't want to go out in the cold! I'll be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Florida

My 2 night stay

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: I liked location, Away from X-mas madness.
Cons: Information in room on transportation and near by dinners and restaurants.
Location: Bar area was very inviting.
My experience was pleasant and service was good . I would return if I returned for another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location close to Central Park.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: We particularly liked the fact that it wasn't too big and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The bathroom was a little on the cold side and we couldn't find any obvious way of adjusting the heating to improve this situation.
Location: Central Park and all the city attractions are easy to access on foot or by cab.
My husband and I have stayed in New York on several occasions but this was our first hotel in the Upper West Side. We really enjoyed our stay at the NYLO particularly because of its size, the friendly staff and its location relative to Central Park, Broadway and 5th Avenue. We also found some great little restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We would certainly go back to the NYLO in the future. Thanks go to the staff for helping to make it such an enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach,CA

Overcharged my credit card $80!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Good Location, Clean and Nice Staff
Good location and nice staff, but the Hotel overcharged my credit card $80 and after a long conversation over the phone, they did not refund me, I had to call Expedia and they could only offer me a $50 dollars gift card! I am not happy with this situation!