Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, lovely clean room, great continental breakfast. Well set out room with king size bed, small fridge and enough storage.
Cons: Quieter air conditioner
Location: Great location, easy access to the subway into New York, also easy walk down to Astoria shopping area. Good restaurants across the road.
We have previously stayed at 2 other hotels across from the Nesva. I think it was being built or had just been built the last time we were in New York. We find this location convenient for visiting family and sightseeing. Right from the first moment we arrived we found all the staff really friendly and helpful. I always recommend this location to others instead of staying right in New York.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Real bargain.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 4 nights in August and the staff were all very helpful and accommodating. It's not the Ritz but neither is the price. The breakfast was basic but adequate, everyone could eat and this set us up for the day. The subway was less than a five minute walk away so very convenient and we were in Manhatten in no time at all! The rooms were very clean and well presented and the shower was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a bargain. The area looks a bit tired but felt totally safe at all times of the day. The shop on the corner was great for sandwiches fir a picnic in Central Park and very good value. Would definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Scott from Nashville

A Gem in Queens

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Was in town for a wedding and a getaway weekend. This hotel was great. Small but comfortable with a very hospitable staff. Breakfast wasn't great with just the basics. Good value for the location.
5 out of 5
by WENDY from Cork, Ireland

A nice stay at The Nesva...!!!

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Myself & my Mother in Law stayed at The Nesva Hotel for 5 nights from 18/23 May 2016. We chose The Nesva after reading excellent reviews on TripAdvisor & we were not disappointed. Our room was a good size, very clean with a big bathroom. Continental Breakfast was included in our stay & consisted of Pastrys, Bread, Fruit, Yoghurts, Tea, Coffee etc & was all very nice. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, in particular Diana who works on Reception. We were a little apprehensive when we first arrived as the neighbourhood looked a little dubious, however, we had no need to worry & felt very safe going out to a local restaurant/bar on our first evening after a late arrival from Heathrow. We even had our photo taken with the firemen from the local firehouse!! We would highly recommend this hotel & would have no qualms in staying here again ourselves. It's very close to a subway station which will get you into Manhattan within 10 minutes, all very easy & accessible. If you're looking for a good hotel, clean & with good prices this is the place to stay. Forget all the expensive hotels on & around Times Square, stay here & keep the money you have saved for shopping till you drop in New York!! Thank you everyone at The Nesva, we'll be back!! PS.If you ask nicely, one of the staff will take you up onto the roof terrace at night where you will get a fabulous view of Manhattan all lit up, brilliant for photo's!!
4 out of 5
by Michael from Hood River, OR

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was good. Hotel was close to the subway and the facility was very nice. Loved the view of Manhattan from the roof top. The only problem was parking. When I made reservations I was told that there was parking right across the street. When we arrived with a car, we found that was not the case. We found a parking lot eight blocks away.
3 out of 5
by Kelly-Anne from North carolina

Great room, amazing views and friendly staff

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great with this hotel however the thing that hurts this hotel alot is parking. They don't have parking, the streets are full so you have to find parking bays and if you there for a week, you better put aside 100 dollars just for parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet hotel - great for sleeping.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: As above there is really nothing to hate about this hotel other than if your safe fails to work it may take at least 4 day to fix the issue.
Cons: Timely resolution of safe issues - probably a one off (the safe needed to be replaced)
Location: Food options nearby within walking distance. Safe area. NYC is but a subway ride away.
Other than the hotel failed for the duration of our trip failed to get our in room safe working this hotel is fantastic. The hotel is in a great location, about two blocks from a subway station. The area the hotel is in never feels unsafe. The are a few food options within a couple of block of the hotel. With only 4 rooms per floor as long as the guests on your level are consideration the hotel is one of the quietest we have ever stayed at. You would not expect to hear no traffic noise at night in NYC, (some rooms may be noisier our room faced away from the railway line. The the room was on the small size (as you you would expect in NYC unless you were playing a fortune) it contains all you need. Whilst no coffee/tea making is available in the room you have a small fridge and are able to access hot drinks from the lobby 24/7. The breakfast offers a good selection. The hotel room was very modern and other than the safe everything worked. Whilst the initial welcome we received on arrival at the hotel was a bot frosty after the initial arrival the safe were friendly and easy to deal with. Safe yourself a fortune stay at this hotel and get a multi-day subway pass rather than staying in the heart of NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent travel links.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Good continental breakfast which is a bonus. Friendly attentive staff. Very comfortable bed. Good shower. Would highly recommend.
Cons: Nothing to improve on.
Location: Area does not do the hotel justice which is a shame. Unable to comment as spent no time in the area.
Fantastic hotel. Quiet area. Great subway links. 2 minute walk from subway and 10 minute subway ride to Times Square. Great views from room. Excellent standard of cleanliness. Fresh towels every day and individual toiletries. Fridge facilities in room. Luggage storage on departure day. Given proper labels and collection tickets. Very organised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nesva hotel. We were here for a week and all staff were brilliant. Our only complaint was noise when people returned to their rooms-perhaps a sign to say please be quiet on landings in the lift would be helpful. Overall brilliant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great Manhattan Views

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Cons: Proper glassware replacing the plastic cups.
I stayed in the Nesva in early March and it is the third hotel in this neighbourhood that I have stayed in. Last time I stayed in the Verve Hotel which no longer offers hotel services. Nesva is a modern hotel in a small building and as such the room I had was not as large as I had become accustomed to in this area. However, it was clean and adequate with a balcony from where there were fantastic views of Manhattan, particularly the skyline at night. There were numerous power points in the room allowing for the charging of multiple devices at once. Wi Fi worked perfectly in the room. Drinking cups/glasses in the room were plastic. A continental breakfast was also offered and it was strictly continental. The staff I came across were hospitable and helpful, in particular Diana at the front desk. With several bars in the immediate area offering dining options and the proximity to Manhattan by subway, Nesva is the smart choice for accommodation in NYC.