Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Worst Hotel Experience Ever!!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
If your goal is to spend the night at a museum, then this is the hotel for you. BUT, if you appreciate modern-day conveniences (such as easy access to a toilet), as well as the ability to stay in your room during the time you have paid for then you should go elsewhere. We were told at 10:00 AM on our first full day that we must have all our belonging packed and out of sight, and physically vacate the room by 10:30 AM and not return until 4:30 PM. Turns out the hotel proprietor had scheduled tours of the historic building and didn't want any guests to be in their rooms. Since our schedule did not allow us to comply with this request, she asked us to check out and find another hotel (not easy to do in NY on short notice!). She promised to refund our pre-payment for the next two nights, but never followed through on this promise. Overall, this was the worst experience I've had in 30+ years of traveling around the world.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Knoxville

New York get-away

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
Felisa was very nice. Excellent breakfast. But going up the stairs from our room in the middle of the night was hard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't do it!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
If you want to feel like the scum of the earth, this is your place. However, if you like to be treated like a human, you should probably spend a little more money and go somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Nov 19, 2014
Rooms are small, floors screech throughout the building, restrooms are small, and have to share with everyone in the building, and the shower had only cold water. No cable, and the manager is loud, even early in the morning! Service is horrible and they claimed there is breakfast every morning, but that was a lie! There were also 2 days where the manager asked us to leave for a few hours! Better off staying somewhere else
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Not what it was advertised, horrible experience!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The home was in a historic district of NYC with other beautiful homes.
Cons: Customer service, cleanliness are the 2 major things needing improvement
Location: The subway is 2 blocks away so everything in NYC is available to you!
I booked the Emory Suite at the Renaissance Home and Guest House for 4 nights because I liked the charm and charecteristics that it appeared to have online. Boy was I sorely mistaken! My girlfriend and I had many issues with our stay -- -The home is difficult to find as there is no signage designating it - There was no available parking - The WiFi password we were given was incorrect, so we had no WiFi - There were only 6 available TV channels - The room was billed as a 2 bedroom suite (queen room and 2 twin room) - there was only 1 queen room - The "private patio" was anything but private and a dog ran around freely deficating on the patio - There was no breakfast as advertised any othe the mornings we were there - The floors were filthy -There was mold on the shower walls - Holes in the bathroom walls - Wednesday we recieved a note under the door at 10am telling us we needed to pack all our personnal belongings and vacate the room from 10:30am -5:00pm as they were "showing" the house -There was no hot water for 2 days! - and there was never any staff around to assist with any issues and continued e-mails and voicemails to the facility went unanswered while we were guests there All in all the overall experience was horrible and I would never recommand anyone stay there and I will definetly NEVER return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Harlem getaway

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Very laid back staff and manager, very elegant and classy rooms, supurb breakfast would definately stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Out of the ordinary

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The quiet, the ambiance and the manager.
Cons: Lighting for reading in bed is not great. An error about transportation to JFK in Expedia should be corrected.
Location: An excellent bar and grill is 1/2 block away. City College is also nearby.
The B&B is in a 114 year old house in Harlem. The ambiance reflects its era and origin. It is clean, quiet and comfortable. A sumptuous and elegant breakfast is served. It's location, while being a long subway ride from Mid- and Lower Manhattan, is but five blocks from an express train station. It's neighborhood reflects the gradual gentrification of Harlem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can I give this a rating lower than "terrible"?

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: It was actually in New York, and it did provide shelter.
Cons: Just give me the guest house on the internet. And even a rudimentary level of hospitality from the hostess.
Location: The location was okay, near neighborhoods of beautiful brownstones and also near some run down neighborhoods. It was about 10 minutes from the subway.
It was my partner's first trip to New York City, and I wanted to make the experience special. I booked this guest house because it looked like beautiful on the website and I thought it would provide a more welcoming stay than a hotel. It would have been great...if it had borne any resemblance to the guest house on the website. I booked a suite with a fireplace, cable TV, wifi, complimentary continental breakfast, refrigerator, toaster oven, luxury toiletries, complimentary snacks in the room - all with superior hospitality and located 5 minutes from Times Square. Suite? Well, there was a room with a queen size bed, but not the second room with the two twin beds which we had planned to offer to a couple of friends who were going to meet us in the city for a night. Fireplace? Only if your grasp of English is sketchy. It was an electric heater with a plastic cover in the shape of logs. Seriously. Cable TV...sort of. We had a couple of network channels and some shopping channels. Our hostess said there was a problem with the cable and she was waiting for the repairman. Sure. Wifi? No Complimentary continental breakfast? No. Likewise to the fridge, toaster oven and snacks. 5 minutes from Times Square? Only if you can teleport. And superior hospitality? Not by earth standards. Our hostess spent, at most, a total of 5 minutes with us, most of that was to explain that we needed to be out from 10 - 5 one day because she was having an "open house". Oh, of course.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, Ca

Horrible, dishonest and swindling hotel!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The owner Felicia cancelled our reservation without informing us do to a misunderstanding and charge dispute. She out of spite cancelled our reservation and KEPT the money from our reserving without rendering services! She lied and does this often. She is the ONLY hotel contact and is rude, has no customer service and difficult to get in contact with. She will leave you hanging without hesitation and has no consideration for travelers coming from afar. Read other reviews from yelp, trip advisor and more... Horrible horrible reviews! Don't risk it and don't waste your money here. Expedia should remove her from their website!
3 out of 5
by Brittney Hounslow from Kelowna

Lovely home, minor inconveniences

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
This historical house is beautiful and I personally found the manager to be quite friendly compared to reviews I've read on other websites. She was able to email instructions as to how to check In late at night was helpful when it came to questions about the city. Unfortunately, upon awakening from my first late night arrival there was a note under my door stating that everyone had to be out between 10am and 7pm that day for an open house. Because this news was so sudden I had not set an alarm and had to spend my first morning in NYC scrambling to get ready, packing my bags as well as search for what I would do and where to go on extremely short notice. I hadn't gotten to my room until nearly midnight and the note wasn't there then which means it was placed early in the morning. I don't feel that is sufficient time to prepare for a long day from your home away from home.