Ratings based on 928 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Very comfortable for a stay in NYC

Posted Jul 22, 2009
The hotel is simple, no big lobbies or restaurant or other services. Elevators and alleys are not that wide. Although what matters to me is the room. It was clean and nice. The kitchen is the star in this case and makes up for the rest, as you save hundreds of dollars you would otherwise spend in breakfast and dinner. Also the bed is comfortable, and the living room is nice. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from El Cerrito, CA

Excellent choice

Posted Jul 22, 2009
Good location, nice hotel, big room. Perfect ! Worth the price !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Deal, Great Location

Posted Jul 22, 2009
My best friend and I make an annual trip to NYC and have stayed at a variety of hotels in different locations. We've decided that the Eastgate Towers was the best hotel, and will come back every time we're in Manhattan. The location is excellent, within walking distance to Grand Central Station and a nice stroll to the Empire State Building. There are a few good restaurants near by and the room was larger than most rooms in NY. Our room was a studio suite and it had a nice little kitchen, living room area and the bathroom was very clean. The staff was extremely helpful with all of our requests and questions and went out of their way to accommodate us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It was great value, especially if you can get a discount, or special offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

A lot of room for NYC

Posted Jul 22, 2009
I will definitely come back. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical after reading some of the negative reviews but I needed a room that could comfortably house my family of four, and this was it. Tiny kitchen, but just enough for those mornings where Mc Donalds wasn't going to cut it. If you are one of those people who can't take the smell of cigarette smoke, you'll have to walk fast through the hallways. Lots of carpet and years of this place being residences (that allowed smoking) have made this a tad noticeable. But don't fret, the rooms smelled just fine. A bit dated and could use some trim work and finer details but for the money, I don't think you'll find anything that compares.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from buffalo,newyork

good location,but need updates

Posted Jul 22, 2009
THE LOCATION WAS WONDERFUL,NICE STAFF. VERY SPACIOUS BUT IT DEFINITELY NEEDS TO BE UPDATED AS FAR AS THE DECOR..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from VIENNA, VA

Would definitely stay again

Posted Jul 15, 2009
The rooms were very comfortable ...and Large. We essentially had an apartment. The linens and bathrooms were spotless. The furnishings are old, but well kept. The staff did a good job of replinishing the room daily. The front desk staff and the 'bell hop' were outstanding. The hotel is in a great location. Cabfare from Penn Station for 4 of us was less than $10.00
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

good value

Posted Jul 15, 2009
this was our first trip to NYC and we had no clue where to stay. we found Eastgate Towers on Expedia and then read reviews on tripadvisor.com. every review - without exception - spoke favorably for Eastgate Towers. we were not disappointed. the room decor didn't match what we saw on the website - however, we were well pleased with the accomodations. in addition, the hotel staff was very attentive and quickly responded to every request made. overall, we were well pleased - will recommend Eastgate Towers to others (in fact, already have) - and would stay there again when visiting NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

good value for money

Posted Jul 12, 2009
We spent 5 nights at Eastgate and were very impressed by the friendliness and 'willingness to help' of the staff. The room was spacious and The hotel iswell equipped and we appreciated being able to cook if we so desired. Location is very quiet and only a 10 minute walk from Grand Central Station.Having use of a laundry was a big asset and there are plenty of places within minutes of the hotel to purchase food. We had a very positive experience and although the decor is a bit tired, we would certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from Beijing, China

Very pleasantly surprised

Posted Jul 8, 2009
Stayed in a two-bedroom suite, with far more space than we anticipated. Clean, quiet accommodations, plenty of room to stretch out and unwind after the long trip from China, and room to get online and fire off emails while the kids slept. Convenient to subway. Good restaurants and eating options in the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

A good value by New York standards

Posted Jul 8, 2009
I was traveling with my husband and three children, 16, 13, and 11. It was key that we have a bed for each of the kids and a bit of room to move around. It is very hard to get a big enough place in New York for our kind of family, and the Eastgate was perfect. I was a bit worried that the neighborhood would be too nondescript, and being in midtown was not my first choice. But it turned out to be a great location for getting downtown and uptown. The first night, we walked to Times Square in about a half hour, and the hotel is only about 10 minutes from Grand Central. It is about 6 blocks from the subway, but with 5 people, taxis actually ended up being as economical.