Ratings based on 10,272 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great place to stay right in the middle of everything walking distance to time square cant wait to visit again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is good.
Tried to call the night before to tell that my flight would be delayed. No one picked up. Tried several times after, no one picked up all night. Then go to the room, it was horrible. Dank, dingy. Carpet is soiled, A/C unit does not work well. Walls are thin. Just not quality. They charge a lot becomes its in Time Square but not worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
horrible not clean the carpet was dark the room to small the
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parrish, Florida

Nice hotel close to time square.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Nice hotel located within half block of time square. Easy walk to many restaurants and stores.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice distance to times square

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Had $30/day facility fee that they don't tell you upfront. We thought it was if you used the gym or wifi but it is a standard per day fee. We checked in at 11:15pm and still had to pay the fee for that day. Talked to the hotel staff and they were rude about it. Wouldn't budge on the $30 for 45 minutes. Room was very small as well. Only a little over 100 square feet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Don't let the negative comment stop you!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I had a great time in NEW York while staying at the Paramount! I am big on reading reviews on everywhere I go and the negative comments on this hotel is ridiculous I'm glad I saw one review that overshadowed the bad. For starters it is close to everything in Time Square and most Broadway shows. Although during my stay a huge blizzard came, so it did cause staffing to be short so they couldn't clean our room but they constantly called checking to see if we needed towels or toiletries. The rooms are small but everywhere I went it was small in new york so I don't know why the hotels would be so much bigger than other places. I like the safety precautions they take by asking for your room key before you can go up the stairs. I like the bar area we hung out there during the blizzard. Overall I loved it I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location is great and staff are friendly
Cons: Rooms look tired and a bit neglected. I would definitely improve the menus of the restaurant. had dinner there and it was very disappointing
Location: location is great
Nice location however there are many things could be improved. Our room was facing the street and it was very noisy. I would expect more from the restaurant downstairs. the food was below the average. However, the staff are very friendly and willing to help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Close to times square

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Stayed here for a business trip. The room was small with OK decor. Staff were generally OK - I got stopped every time heading to the lift and asked to show my key card. When I checked out I was asked to pay a $25/day + tax facilities fee. I told them it was a bit daft to be asking for this post visit why wasn't it just included in the upfront payment if it's not optional. He assured me that on the Expedia booking it says there's a fee post visit (my work booked it so I wasn't privvy to this and had to put in on my personal card). I travel quite a bit in Europe and have never once paid a post stay facilities fee for wifi and gym. Most hotels offer them for free. Seems like another way to earn a quick buck on the hotels part at the cost of the consumer. The man behind the desk helpfully told me "my friend went to amsterdam and had to pay a $36/night facilities fee so it could be much worse" as if his friend getting ripped off is supposed to make me feel better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Watch out for "hidden fees"

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Hotel was fine. All the common areas, lobby and elevators were very darkly lit. Rooms are very small and so is the bathroom overall it was good for the price. When we checked out we were informed there was a daily facility fee for internet and the fitness center that was never disclosed to us. The hotel staff told me to open the confirmation email and she would show me. I did but neither she nor I could find it. She told me I would have to contact Expedia. Not helpful at all and it felt like a bait and switch. After dealing with Expedia for several trips the last couple months, I am very disappointed in the communication between the hotels and Expedia. They blame each other and leave the customer stuck in the middle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice clean hotel close to all the sights

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I would recommend the Paramount to those visiting NewYork who cannot walk to far as it's central to most places