Ratings based on 2,775 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 9, 2015
Incredibly small room however, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel staff was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, canada

Old Vintage Hotel that needs some work

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: I liked the vintage feel of the hotel. Location was excellent for our stay. Very convenient to subway, restaurants and Central Park.
Cons: Detailing of room should be improved.
Location: Location is awesome in Upper West Side. You feel like part of the neighbourhood without the intensity of Mid-town Manhattan.
At first it seemed like a nice vintage hotel despite the tiny rooms. I have no problems with that. The staff were very friendly and helpful. After two nights on a five night stay, the room was clusterphobic. Don't look at the carpets too closely, and the bathroom vent didn't work probably because it was filthy. A lot of the original woodwork has been painted over which is regrettable. The bedding did not fit the twin beds properly and instead of a proper mattress they had thick foam padding. I wish I could be more positive, as I prefer a more authentic hotel, but this one needs serious work.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Funktionales Hotel, in einer guten Lage.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Lage. Personal
Cons: Eingangsbereich.Ausstattung der Zimmer
Location: Centrel Park
Aufregende Stadt die niemals schläft. Würde gerne in ein paar Jahren nochmal die Stadt besichtigen,mit den Erfahrungen vom ersten Aufenthalt.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

new York stay

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: location and staff
Cons: would be helpful food in hotel but plenty eating places nearby
Location: museum central park
excellent stay two blocks from subway opposite central park . staff very helpful and very polite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too old discusting hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Tooooo Bad experience I will never do it agine This's hotel need remodeling not worth a night more 10$
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lelystad

eenvoudig hotel met uitstekende locatie

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: De locatie vlakbij park en de buurt. Loopafstand naar de Hudson
Location: Central Park, Greenmarket en GreenFleamarket op W77th elke zondag, leuke restaurants, bijv. Boat Basin Cafe aan de Hudson
Het hotel is enigszins verouderd, eenvoudig met basisvoorzieningen. Smalle, wat benauwde kamer ondanks de ( lawaaierige) airco. Wij hadden een gedeelde badkamer, wat m.i. geen bezwaar is, want nooit hoeven wachten op andere gasten. Kamer was schoon, evenals badkamer. 'S'morgens gratis koffie en thee uit automaat. Personeel is correct. Meer dan genoeg restaurants, deli's en cafés in de omgeving, evenals metrostations (81th str). De nabijheid van Central Park maakt het hotel erg aantrekkelijk.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Ottimo htl adiacente Central Park

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Stanza molto confortevole con aria condizionata, cassaforte, tv e anche asse e ferro da stiro. Personale gentilissimo e servizio in camera molto buono. Ottima posizione attaccato al Central Park a due passi dall american museum of natural history e dalla metropolitana.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever !

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pictures of room are misleading ! Room very very small ! Bathroom, filthy ! AC not working !
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Clean, Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Staff were helpful and friendly as others have commented. Very clean room and quiet location.
Cons: Probably could do with a slight update, however, that would also increase the room rates. My room was perfectly comfortable as is.
Location: If you head toward Amsterdam, go to Bagel & Co. for a great bagel and fresh black & white cookies. Was able to squeeze in Central Park and the Met.
This was my first trip to NYC for a business event, and Park 79 fit the bill for what I needed - clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced considering I booked pretty last minute. Location is a bit quieter and I felt very safe in the area. The staff was exceptionally prompt, pleasant, and helpful. They checked me in quickly, and I paid for my room straight away, so I could check out quickly the next morning. The room was bit bigger than I had anticipated after viewing various rooms of NYC hotels in my lodging quest. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. People had commented that the elevator was very small and old, and it is - and I found it perfectly charming. I was on the second floor, and it was very quiet - rarely heard anyone else. The free wifi was very helpful to keep in touch with work and with my little ones who were missing me back home.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Amazing Location, but hotel conditions poor

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Whereas I loved the charm of the old, European styled hotel, I do feel it was lacking in certain areas. The coffee each morning was served in styrofoam cups--which have been banned in California for the past 10 years for their hazard to the environment! Also, the way the coffee was served was cheap and modern--not fitting with the quaintness of the place. I think improvements could be made in this service, possibly including a fruit bowl and assorted muffins or granola bars--not too expensive, but worth the trouble! Also, our room's carpet was dirty with visible debris and I found a bobby pin that was not mind under the top sheet! Ick! The staff was very nice and the location is absolutely amazing!! You are mere steps away from delicious cafes like Nice Matin, Isabelle's, and a wine shop, etc...Not to mention Central Park and easy subway locations!