Ratings based on 6,253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Took short vacation in New York. The hotel was right on the park with great restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location was very convenient. There are a couple of subway lines within walking distance.
Location: Subway
The hotel does not have a small bar fridge in the room and ice needs to be ordered. There are no ice machines on any of the floors.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The hotel is historical, meaning it is old but beautiful. It is a perfect location for a luxery trip. Located closet to 5th avenue shopping, Central Park and nice restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston, Fl

Amazing localization!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Room and localization
Location: Close to Food plaza and Apple Store.
The localization was perfect! In front of Central Pk. very close to Plaza Food where the food is amazing. The staff was very kind. The bedroom is big and the view spectacular !! I really recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, very centrally located, bed super comfortable, very nice staff.
Very clean - right across the street from Central Park. Very friendly staff and wonderful restaurant. My room was next to the elevators - so that is the only reason I didn't give the comfort a 5.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ótima localização já é minha residência em NYC

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Uso o Hotel a muitos anos Já teve apogeu e já teve fases muito ruins está muito bom agora,,, Novo dono ! Tudo melhor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Convenient Location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Facility; pet policy
Location: Museum of Arts and Design; MoMA; Jazz at Lincoln Center
The location is quite convenient to Midtown, Central Park, MoMA, MAD and high end shopping. The staff was attentive and efficient. However, for the price, the facility and accommodations have seen better days and are in desperate need of renovation for the room amenities and comfort to be on par with, for instance, today's Holiday Inn Express or Hilton Garden Inn- This is not a 4 star hotel. I think in New York City, at least, pets should not be allowed in hotels, especially multiple barking dogs. Stained and cracked tiles and worn, stained towels, and the hair of other guests were a hallmark of our room while the dining room was dirty: food residue on table tops, chairs and carpet when we sat for breakfast (Staff there was less efficient). Go to Sarabeth's next door for a much tastier and expeditious breakfast and save an average of $15.00 a meal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Nice staff but not a great experien

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Lock would not work to my room. Had to get someone to met me in every time. They did try 4 times to get me a key. All personnel was helpful. Bed not comfirtable Bathtub not clean upon arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A Huge Mistake

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: yes, hire a professional cleaning crew who can do a good job.
Location: Central Park, and shopping on 5th Avenue.
I usually stay at the Dreams hotel or Viceroy, but this time I thought why not stay across from Central Park, great location, I can go across for a run every morning. Good idea? So I found this hotel on Expedia. The price for the 2 nights were excellent, altogether cost me only $460, pretty good deal. The pictures on Expedia were very nice, it's a classic.....so I thought. I got in to my first room, and I couldn't believe what I saw. The carpet was filthy, and the bathroom was also filthy, there were hair in my bath tub, and hair in the sink, and dirty black mildew stain in the grout between the tiles on the floor. I went to the front desk and she sent me to another room. Same thing, more hair in the tub and there were mildew stain in the grout in the shower, liquid stains on the mirror and the shower head was dirty as well. I called front desk and asked to have someone come up to clean it, and I was hoping they might do this while I went out for dinner. NOPE. When I returned hours later and late in the evening, my bathroom was still filthy. I decided to deal with it in the morning, so I went to bed. I laid there from midnight until 2 am, I felt itchy all over like crawling with ants. I jumped out of bed and asked to have my sheets changed. 30 minutes later a maid came and she rudely said to me "did you eat something?" really? yes, I had some salad. Needless to say, I finally had a few hours of sleep after. The following day, the same thing happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're very disappointed to hear about your recent stay. Providing our guests with a clean and comfortable environment is something we take seriously. Please know this will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we pride ourselves in. Thank you for taking the time to share​. We hope you have a great day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Great location across from Central Park.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: We were totally satisfied!
Location: Walk Central Park, hop on a bus for sightseeing or grab a horse-drawn ride for a touch of romance. Trump Tower or Carnegie Hall very close by.
Very friendly staff and great room service...even for the ice. Might be nice to have ice machines on hotel floors. Fitness center is well equipped and water is available from the front desk at any time. Location puts you at convenient location for hop-on hop-off bus service for sightseeing.