Ratings based on 6,702 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chi

great gateway in the city

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Warm and cozy, kinda old school hospitality in the busiest city of the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red hook NY

Enjoyed our stay. Only one night for an in-town bp

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfort. Staff.
Cons: rooms need a bit updating.
Location: very centrally located. lots to do.
Very good experience. Nice staff. felt welcome. On time room service. comfortabe bar area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, HUGE room, wonderful view.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, view.
Cons: Room dated, service very poor.
Location: Excellent location, near central park.
Staff was very slow, impossible to get people on the phone at the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Above Average Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We had a great stay at the Park Lane Hotel. The location was perfect, the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Like many other hotels in the area, they charge a "resort fee" of $35/day/room for a 2 hour reception of drinks (alcoholic too) and hot/cold snacks. We had more fun than expected during the reception. We chose a room that had a "city view" and we were glad we did. It was much quieter than those rooms with a "park view". Honking horns started right at 6:30! While some may consider the decor dated, really it was fine. It was more of a style that the hotel adopted and it seemed to fit. The bathrooms could use some updating though and the wallpaper needs to be refreshed. Overall I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location but hotel is a bit run down

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: location
Excellent location but the room decorations are a bit dated. The mandatory $35 service charge (including the use of gym, WiFi and free drop/snacks in early evening) is a bit of a rip-off - it should be optional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Run down, in desperate need of update

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Only good thing about this hotel is the view of Central Park. Rooms are totally outdated and over priced. Bathrooms are in desperate need of update. Fan in bathroom didn't work and bathrooms just look dirty bc they are so old. Room was shabby and smelled like dirty feet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Holly. We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal. We regret that your room didn't meet your expectations. If you could, please provide us with direct contact information and the date you stayed with us. We would like to discuss this experience with you further. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We spent our family vacation in NYC with the kids in two rooms for 6 nights. The pros: location is superb and the view from the park view is amazing. The front desk employees are pleasant (too few though). The cons: the wait in the front desk was terrible every time!! the elevators are not running well and to get to the 37 floor takes you 10 minutes. The rooms are old, partially renovated. especially, the bathrooms, which are old and dirty. The bed is super-soft, prob bc its old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Marc. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our prime location. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. If you could, please provide us with direct contact information and the date you stayed with us. We would like to discuss this experience with you further. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Excellent Location & Hotel!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location, wi-fi, views over Central Park and hospitality reception.
Cons: Coffee makers in rom would be good.
Location: The whole of midtown, uptown & Central Park within minutes.
Perfect location with good sized rooms. The hospitality reception every night is great! Wine, Prosecco, beer, soft drinks & snacks. Get there sharpish to back a table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Lovely hotel across from Central Park

Posted Mar 31, 2017
It was a last minute reservation. We used Expedia points and got a very good rate. Got in about 9pm. We checked in and a very nice porter took us up to the first room. Not cleaned. All the way back down. Got a second room. All the way up with the porter. Not cleaned. All the way down. Third time was the charm. Beautiful room on the 44th floor overlooking Central Park. They were very apologetic and gave us $75 credit for drinks in the bar and $10 credit for the Grab and Go. Next day we ate next door at the famous Sarabeth's. A lovely stay at The Park Lane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Excellent location but the Hotel defiantly needs renovation. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful city and Central Park views. Overall we had a good experience.