Ratings based on 1,280 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheppartin, Australia

Clean

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff friendly enough. Need to understand area better not forthcoming for any information. Totally needd an upgrade & very noisy but would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, price and staff and not much else

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location, price and the fantastic, friendly staff.
Cons: Lots. The beds are as hard as a rock, the refrigerator in my room didn't work at all,
Location: Central Park, great food within walking distance and lots of shopping nearby if that's your thing.
The staff at Park Savoy are great, extremely friendly and very accommodating, unfortunately, the hotel is one of worst hotels I've stayed at due to the low quality rooms, extreme lack of amenities and general lack of upkeep. Examples: I found a bloody tissue paper in my room, the refrigerator didn't cool anything despite being on the coldest setting, the light bulb was out in my room and the bed was rock hard - which would be appealing if I was a Klingon, but as a lowly human, I found the rock hard bed to be uncomfortable. There isn't a iron and ironing board in the room, so if you're a thrifty business traveler like myself, you'd probably need to request one from the front desk. Continental breakfast is served by the awesome and friendly staff at the pizza place next door, but it's pretty basic stuff unfortunately. My room had the world's smallest flat screen TV which I didn't bother with since there's so much to do in NYC and ultimately a waste of time. Even with all the cons of this hotel, if I wanted to save money and be in a centrally located location, I would still book this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Cheap but well-located

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The proximity to Central Park as well as the Lincoln Centre, Carnegie Hall, Times square and Broadway theatres.
Cons: The matresses were OK, but the actual beds should be replaced. Window air-conditioners should be properly sealed all the way around.
Our first little room faced 58th St where very noisy construction work continued until early morning. At our request we were given another (even tinier room) which was indeed quieter. In both rooms the bed creaked and the bedhead clanked against the wall when there was movement on the bed. The window air-conditioner had a poor seal around it and cold air blew in and, when it rained, water came in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great Area TERRIBLE HOTEL.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: There is NOTHING TO LIKE !!
Cons: Customer service, amenities, staff, cleanliness, EVERYTHING.
Location: This is the best thing about the hotel. What is OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL. Midtown west Manhattan. Walking distance from Columbus circle and Carnegie hall.
It was so uncomfortable, the room was cold, no running hot water, no Ice, it took almost an HOUR to reach any staff in the front desk!!! because they were not physically by the desk. The ineptitude was ridiculous Their was nothing good to say about this hotel or room where I stayed in. #Garbage!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

You will be miserably disappointed!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Good location still not worth the horrible visit.
Horrible! Maybe I would have been able to look past the room that smelled like urine, the bug infestation we found, that broken air conditioner, the dirty bed linens, and the shear inadequacy and disgust of the whole experience had it not been for the worst part: the guys at the front desk. They do not deserve their jobs there. They are extremely rude, uninterested, and couldn't care less about your comfort. I assure you, they aren't the only budget option, go elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Near to Rockefeller center

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Small but clean and staff was super great. Helped me and my daughter
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Disgusting

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Shabby, dark, dingy, this is a homeless shelter disguised as a hotel. Expedia' representation in photos is disgraceful. Pitiful excuse for a hotel. Mattresses with Springs exposed. Tv's that broadcast only snow. Elevators with sticking doors. Don't walk away; run away from this nightmare of a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Small, dark, and lights in bathroom kept going off.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not match expectations - unhappy guest

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Friendly hotel staff and good location. Everything else terrible and disappointing. A big roach in the room! NO air conditioning, dirty room, and they did not change me to another room. And in addition it was very noisy. It was hot at night, very uncomfortable and I could not sleep, which was very bad because I went tired to JFK airport for my transatlantic overnight flight the next day. The hotel room did not match the description at Expedia site.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, New York

Nothing grand

Posted Apr 16, 2017
If you just need a place to lay your head, then I guess this is the hotel for you. "Breakfast" consisted of a choice between two items, and coffee or tea. Hotel is old, but generally clean.