Ratings based on 5,992 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erzgebirge

Sehr gut gelegen,

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Sauber, Design
Cons: Beschreibung von amerikanischen Wasserhähnen
Location: Grand Central Station, gesamt Midtown
fünf Minuten von der Grand Cental Station, sauber, freunlich, das Zimmer war etwas klein
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brantford, Ontatio

Perfect location in the city

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Roof-top terrace
Cons: Lighting in the room was dull. Bathroom glass needed a bit more frosting.
Location: Just a few blocks away from Grand Central station with great access to subway lines running up and down the city.
Good price and a good location. The room was very tiny, but to be fair we weren't there to stay in the room. Not too much privacy in the bathroom with the glass door, so you wouldn't want to stay with someone you didn't know well. The roof top terrace is spectaular, just go at the right time because it gets very busy with the after work crowd. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and compact with a hip flare

Posted Sep 1, 2015
A great little hotel just off the beaten track, but close to all conveniences (10-15 min walk to Times Square). I had a double bed room. It is small, but that is the idea. Modern design. If travelling with a partner, be comfortable with them in the bathroom (just a glass door with a finger hole instead of a door knob that you can see through). Shower was great, but a little challenging to shave your legs in. Awesome if a guy (who doesn't shave their legs...). Nice selection of shampoo/conditioner. Great staff. Popular roof top patio was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Very nice hotel right in midtown Manhattan with clean and modern room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location! Rooftop bar!
Cons: The only thing that was off-putting was the bathroom door. Clear glass but just opaque enough in just enough space... but still a bit awkward.
Location: Walking: Times Square, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Penn Station, (longer walk) Grand Central Park, Columbus Circle
Stayed for a long weekend at this hotel to show my boyfriend the city. The location is great, right in Midtown, and in a comfortable walking distance to Penn Station and Times Square. The hotel was clean and the air conditioning worked very well. We both found the rooftop bar to be pretty rad and a great place to have a drink and enjoy a nice view and atmosphere before heading out. The room was very small and the TV had some issues but over all comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The reasonable rates and it was very clean
I have stayed at Pod 51 quite a few times but this was the first time I have stayed at Pod 39 and it was excellent. My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Check in was quick and I was given a complimentary upgrade from a mini pod to a Queen room with an ensuite which was very much appreciated. The hotel is good value and although the rooms are small, they have all the facilities I need including a safe for valuables, phone, and TV. It is conveniently located just a short walk from Grand Central station and shops. I am 66 years old and was traveling on my own on this occasion and felt very safe there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Valeu muito a pena!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Da localização em primeiro lugar. Do atendimento, atenciosos e educados. Do quarto, porque cumpre com o que promete, apesar de pequeno, confortável!
Cons: O aspecto negativo é a alta circulação de não hospedes pelo hotel. Deveria ter um elevador direto do térreo até a cobertura, sem acesso aos quartos.
Location: Localização para nós perfeita.! Tínhamos tudo que precisávamos por perto e acesso ao metro para irmos onde quiséssemos, com muita facilidade!
O POD 39 é um hotel muito agradável e descolado. A equipe, de um modo geral, atenciosa e educada. Com relação ao quarto, é de fato bem pequeno, mas para mim e o marido, não foi nenhum problema, até porque já fomos sabendo disso e como saímos muito, o que queríamos era uma cama confortável, e isso o hotel oferece, e um quarto limpo, que também era o caso. Mas, apesar disso, a minha recomendação é para casal sem filhos, caso contrário, o tamanho poderá ser um problema. Quanto a localização, para nós foi PERFEITA!! Perto do metrô - Grand Central e perto também de restaurantes legais, lugar para café da manhã, farmácias, enfim, muito bem localizado. E mais, uma rua tranquila, sem aquela agitação das proximidades da Times Square. Aliás, ir da Grand Central para a Times Square, era muito tranquilo, porque pegávamos um Shuttle, que liga uma estação da outra em um tempo curtíssimo. A única ressalva que faço desse hotel é que nele existem dois bares muito legais, um embaixo e um na cobertura. E eles são frequentadíssimos, porque são bem legais mesmo. Mas, isso aumenta a circulação por dentro do hotel de muitas pessoas que não são hospedes. Nós descíamos e subíamos nos elevadores com pessoas que estavam indo para o bar e isso me causava uma certa sensação de insegurança, porque era muita gente!! Tirando esse ponto, pra mim o hotel é nota 10, tanto que não só indico, como também ficarei nele novamente se houver oportunidade. Vale a pena!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, bang in the center of Manhattan.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: I was only looking for a place to crash in at night, but the hotel has modern styling and was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only complaint were that the lifts (elevators) are a tad slow, other than that, I can't think of anything.
Location: Its perfectly situated for getting to uptown or downtown Manhattan.
I knew the hotel was meant to be compact. It was. But it was modern and had everything that was described on their website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Nice room in great Location. Roof top bar was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Walking distance to Times Square

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: Allow over eighteen into the bar who are not drinking alcohol
Location: Close to central station and Times Square.
The hotel was good, however it was let down by the rules of the roof top bar. As a person under twenty one and over 18 who doesn't drink alcohol, wasn't even allowed into the bar to be able to sit and enjoy the view. This is despite the New York law allowing over 18's into some bars. It was because of this roof top bar that this hotel was chosen in the first place, as when to spend my holiday. therefore I did not get what I was expecting.