Ratings based on 8,923 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

city centre location

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: functional for short stay
Cons: nothing realyy - does what it says it will do
Location: in centre of NYC and plenty of nearby facilities for eating and visiting and just chilling
spent two nights there as a base for exploring NYC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great for Midtown

Posted May 20, 2017
Concierge staff were very helpful and were genuinely happy to help. Rooms and showers are very small and not a huge amount of natural light but that's to be expected in NYC. We were very comfortable and felt safe. We went to salvation taco one night... Best guacamole ever! Wish the rooftop was open for guests for breakfast not just drinkers at night. We didn't go up but feel like we missed out. 39th street is a great location on Manhattan island. Can walk to times square and to empire state building. All in all, the hotel was suitable to our needs. The staff make it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel in great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel is ideal for a short visit to New York. Located minutes from Grand Central Station its in an ideal location. Small but perfectly formed rooms - very clean. Staff on Reception were really helpful and rooftop bar is very cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sackville, Nova Scotia CA

Great location close to shops and Grand Central.

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel rooms were clean and fairly comfortable for their size. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Bar and food staff weren't over accommodating but nice atmosphere overall. Loved the roof top bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet room in the middle of downtown.

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice quiet room in the middle of downtown. The room was tiny. It was very quiet, and I had a great sleep. Bed was comfortable. I was happy with my experience, it totally served my needs. You can get great a wonderful croissant and a coffee for $4 in a lounge downstairs. There is a convenience store just around the corner for your snack needs. I loved my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted May 4, 2017
Rooftop patio,Restaurant is excellent, unique New York vibe is great, great location, friendly staff and clean room. Could ask for better accommodations! I love it - this is my go to hotel in NYC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

No frills, but fine

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Price, great location, pleasant minimalist design.
Cons: Service.
Location: Near so much- Grand Central, Empire State Building walkable and Times Square a longer walk or a short subway/cab ride.
Nice choice for those looking for a (slightly) higher end hostel approach. You do get your own bathroom and a nice bed and a smallish TV with cable. However, no frills, not great with requests for assistance and the rooms are pretty small (although the room size was expected). However when a light does not work or the soap dispenser in the shower is empty, I would hope that they would attend to it in a timely fashion - not the case. Don't let them rope you in with their pictures of the beautiful rooftop bar. It may well be beautiful but you'll never see it. It is open to the public and seems to be one of the newer "hipster" spots with long lines every night. They tell you guests get priority, but I wouldn't buy that. I never even got close as the hipper than anyone staff kept telling me that "you don't just get to skip the line" with a rather dismissive glance at my decidedly older than 30 appearance and lack of hipster clothing. Ughh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
It's OK. In case you are going to spend most of the time visiting the city and you only want to sleep a few hours somewhere in a central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Hello, we appreciate your feedback. Yes, you are correct. Our POD brand is known for their small room size. It is an economical and very convenient hotel. Our goal is for our incoming guests to spend less time and money with their room and more in the beautiful city they came to visit. We hope you come back soon to our cozy pod.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very small, & kind of weird, rooms.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: It was slightly less expensive than other hotels in the area. The shower was good. The tap water is filtered & tastes good so no need to buy water.
Cons: Please do something about the noise, esp. from the doors . The bathrooms need fans. The HVAC vents need to be re-directed. Need new, less brite lamps.
POD 39 is just ok - its nice and new-looking, but extremely noisy. I am a light sleeper, so I found the constant noise from other rooms and mainly from the hallways (the doors and doorways are all metal and on auto-close hinges, so they slam shut, very loudly, all the time) pretty unbearable - even my husband, who is a deep sleeper, complained about the constant noise.The rooms are smaller than they appear in photos, and the queen room is really not big enough for two people - it is impossible for two people to move around the room, so one person has to either be in the bathroom or on the bed for the other to walk around. Also, the fact that the toilet is basically right next to the bed, separated by only a frosted glass door, is pretty unpleasant for two people in the room. Then, there are the weird things - there is no fan in the bathroom, so not only can you not turn it on for some privacy when you use the in-the-same-room-toilet, but whenever you take a shower the entire room is filled with steam; the thermostat is way too powerful for such a tiny room, and there are huge vents right over the bed, so even turning on the AC or heat means you are instantly frozen or cooked; the bed lamps are Way too bright and hard to adjust, & on one side of the bed the lamp shines directly into the large mirror on the wall making it even brighter. Also, there was only a bed "shelf" (no tables) on one side of the bed - very inconvenient for the person on that side. The staff were very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Terrific Value in Midtown

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Again, they're nice people, the hotel is excellent value and the location, at 39th and Lexington, is central.
Cons: Not much. It's simple and I like that.
Location: Grand Central Station, New York Public Library, the Morgan Library, MOMA, Chrysler Building, Empire State Building, the UN.
Pod 39 is always my first choice for New York. It is central, consistent and very reasonable. The free wireless works well (this used to be spotty, but no more). The staff are friendly and helpful. Oh, and the windows open. Why do I only rate 'OK' for room comfort? Easy. This is not your hotel if you require pillow-top mattresses, down duvets and heaps of fat pillows. You won't find a big armchair with a coffee table and reading lamp. The mattresses are futon-ish, the quilted bedspread is plain, the pillows are perfectly good. Your desk and one chair are more than adequate if you have work to do. There's a hip and very popular rooftop bar (I'm not hip, but it's a cool space). I have already booked myself back in for my next trip to New York at the end of this month.