Ratings based on 5,985 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Very nice hotel right in midtown Manhattan with clean and modern room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location! Rooftop bar!
Cons: The only thing that was off-putting was the bathroom door. Clear glass but just opaque enough in just enough space... but still a bit awkward.
Location: Walking: Times Square, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Penn Station, (longer walk) Grand Central Park, Columbus Circle
Stayed for a long weekend at this hotel to show my boyfriend the city. The location is great, right in Midtown, and in a comfortable walking distance to Penn Station and Times Square. The hotel was clean and the air conditioning worked very well. We both found the rooftop bar to be pretty rad and a great place to have a drink and enjoy a nice view and atmosphere before heading out. The room was very small and the TV had some issues but over all comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The reasonable rates and it was very clean
I have stayed at Pod 51 quite a few times but this was the first time I have stayed at Pod 39 and it was excellent. My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Check in was quick and I was given a complimentary upgrade from a mini pod to a Queen room with an ensuite which was very much appreciated. The hotel is good value and although the rooms are small, they have all the facilities I need including a safe for valuables, phone, and TV. It is conveniently located just a short walk from Grand Central station and shops. I am 66 years old and was traveling on my own on this occasion and felt very safe there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Valeu muito a pena!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Da localização em primeiro lugar. Do atendimento, atenciosos e educados. Do quarto, porque cumpre com o que promete, apesar de pequeno, confortável!
Cons: O aspecto negativo é a alta circulação de não hospedes pelo hotel. Deveria ter um elevador direto do térreo até a cobertura, sem acesso aos quartos.
Location: Localização para nós perfeita.! Tínhamos tudo que precisávamos por perto e acesso ao metro para irmos onde quiséssemos, com muita facilidade!
O POD 39 é um hotel muito agradável e descolado. A equipe, de um modo geral, atenciosa e educada. Com relação ao quarto, é de fato bem pequeno, mas para mim e o marido, não foi nenhum problema, até porque já fomos sabendo disso e como saímos muito, o que queríamos era uma cama confortável, e isso o hotel oferece, e um quarto limpo, que também era o caso. Mas, apesar disso, a minha recomendação é para casal sem filhos, caso contrário, o tamanho poderá ser um problema. Quanto a localização, para nós foi PERFEITA!! Perto do metrô - Grand Central e perto também de restaurantes legais, lugar para café da manhã, farmácias, enfim, muito bem localizado. E mais, uma rua tranquila, sem aquela agitação das proximidades da Times Square. Aliás, ir da Grand Central para a Times Square, era muito tranquilo, porque pegávamos um Shuttle, que liga uma estação da outra em um tempo curtíssimo. A única ressalva que faço desse hotel é que nele existem dois bares muito legais, um embaixo e um na cobertura. E eles são frequentadíssimos, porque são bem legais mesmo. Mas, isso aumenta a circulação por dentro do hotel de muitas pessoas que não são hospedes. Nós descíamos e subíamos nos elevadores com pessoas que estavam indo para o bar e isso me causava uma certa sensação de insegurança, porque era muita gente!! Tirando esse ponto, pra mim o hotel é nota 10, tanto que não só indico, como também ficarei nele novamente se houver oportunidade. Vale a pena!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, bang in the center of Manhattan.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: I was only looking for a place to crash in at night, but the hotel has modern styling and was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only complaint were that the lifts (elevators) are a tad slow, other than that, I can't think of anything.
Location: Its perfectly situated for getting to uptown or downtown Manhattan.
I knew the hotel was meant to be compact. It was. But it was modern and had everything that was described on their website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Nice room in great Location. Roof top bar was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Walking distance to Times Square

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: Allow over eighteen into the bar who are not drinking alcohol
Location: Close to central station and Times Square.
The hotel was good, however it was let down by the rules of the roof top bar. As a person under twenty one and over 18 who doesn't drink alcohol, wasn't even allowed into the bar to be able to sit and enjoy the view. This is despite the New York law allowing over 18's into some bars. It was because of this roof top bar that this hotel was chosen in the first place, as when to spend my holiday. therefore I did not get what I was expecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
部屋は狭かったけど清潔感があり、快適。付近に軽食が採れる店が多く、便利。グランドセントラル駅に近く交通の便が良い。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for single use

Posted Aug 22, 2015
simple and clean room, but a weird smell from the beding fabrics. The room is small but not bad for a single person. The rooftop bar was not as awesome as i heard. The space was small and too many not-guest people. The view, well, just plain
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great location!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Location, roof top bar, staff.
Cons: Bigger rooms!
Spent 3 nights here to see so Broadway shows. Great location - 20 minute walk to Times Square. Fabulous inexpensive restaurants within a few minutes walk. Delicious Thai restaurant on the corner of 39th as well as really good bagels on Lexington (right around the corner). I was solo and the room was really small, which was fine for me. Had I been with my husband and daughter it would have been way,way too small. I'd stay here again by myself or if I stayed with my family we'd need a much bigger room.