Ratings based on 7,843 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We stayed in NYC for 7 days and Pod39 was the perfect hotel for price, location and standard. The rooms are cosy but suited exactly our needs. The modern shower gave the room a nice touch. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. I appreciated the lack of neighbour or street noise and cleanness. The bar on the rooftop was a popular destination of ours after tracking about town all day. If you're looking for a smart hotel without the massive price tag and are willing to compromise on space then I would 100% recommend Pod39.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Tophotel op perfecte locatie!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Bijzonder fijn en hip hotel. Prachtig pand. Van binnen super opgeknapt en superschoon. Ontzettend vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. Minikamers maar alles erop en eraan. Goeie wifi. Onvoorstelbaar leuk dakterras op 17e verdieping. Ligging t.o.v. bezienswaardigheden optimaal. En nog betaalbaar ook. Best place to stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL 60565

Excellent value in a modern, well-located hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean and modern rooms.
Cons: Lobby is generally busy and fairly noisy, but the rooms are always quiet.
Location: Near Grand Central Station and thus connected to all corners of the city.
I have stayed at Pod 39 a number of times. It is clean, modern, and friendly the staff always exceptionally so. Rooms are very compact, but extremely efficient and well-designed. The hotel has everything one needs.An extraordinary value in an expensive city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: location
Great Location. Clean and Friendly staff. Small room but that is all that we needed as we were out exploring all day. Roof top bar was a nice option to have a night cap at but make sure you dress appropriately-VERY nicely dressed people everywhere!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa canada

Nice modern hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
I stay at the hotel for a week in a single room. The room was quite small but this is to be expected if you look at the pictures online. The room and the hotel are clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful when I needed anything and the cleaning staff does a good job keeping everything looking nice. The hotel has a rooftop patio that is very popular so there are people coming and going through the lobby and in the elevators until quite late. There are many restaurants in the area as well as convinence stores. I would stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Compact, clean and comfy

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Great location, efficient, great service, perfect for the busy tourist in NY.
Cons: Glass Bathroom door is partially frosted, but not really enough for real privacy. Adding to this is the fact that the sliding door doesn't fully close
Quick, friendly check-in, lovely modern facilities. Would defintely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Cute little Pod

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Cute little room modern design
The room is cute, very small, and nicely design, but I think it was made for couples as the bathroom is all glass door so you can see through everything. When I went, I shared a room with a guy friend of mine and it was awkward to have the restroom see through so when we shower or change or do anything, the other person either has to look out the window to see the back of an ugly building or construction sites, or go to the hall way. The hallways are loud as well as the construction outside the window when you try to sleep. The bed is comfortable. The room is small so you can't really do anything but sleep at night. It's a great place to just crashed when you're tired of walking around NYC. There isn't a closet, but there are hooks on the wall to hang jackets and towels. It was nice to have the bar on the rooftop if you want to get drinks and chill, however, there are mostly guys there when I went and they will try to hit on you if possible. It's NYC so you have to walk everywhere. It sucks when it rains and you have to walk and get wet as it's a little difficult to get cabs from the hotel. It's quite a long walk from time-square, but it's a few blocks from one of the subway stations. We only stayed there 2 nights and most of the time we were outside doing something so it was fine for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible staff.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: We liked the location and the fact that there was a camera at the end of the hall just above our room door.
My wife and I have been to NYC many times, stayed in many different hotels in different locations. We decided to stay at the 39 POD instead of the 51 POD as we'd never been before. BIG mistake! 1. Salvation Taco (should have been called Starvation Taco) I mean sure, the place was nice which was what attracted us to eat on property in the first place, but the portions vs. cost value was pretty disappointing. We're not cheap and always tip well, but we could have eaten double the tacos for that price at an offsite restaurant, easily. 2. The rooftop bar was very nice but packed every time we tried to get a seat. None of the people up there were actually staying at the hotel, but just walk-ins from the street below. We thought it had something to do with the 4th long weekend, but we were wrong. As we looked up rooftops we can actually get on, we noticed that 39 POD's rooftop was in the top 5 of NYC's best rooftops list... too busy, we didn't like that. 3. For some reason the women staff were all cruel. I can go on forever about the two we had encountered, but I'd rather focus on the friendlier staff. Jordan was extremely pleasant to deal with, very easy to talk to, had a great presence, and gave great advice. The door men/bag men we're extremely pleasant as well. One in particular named Alex was very accommodating and even noticed the blonde front desk girl was giving my wife and I attitude. As we waited to enter the elevator, he approached us to apologize for her behaviour.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hennef Nordrhein Westfalen

Hotel mit perfekter Lage für Sightseeing

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Die Lage
Location: Midtown Manhattan. Unzählige Möglichkeiten in unmittelbarer Umgebung (UNO, 5th Avenue, Grand Central, Bryant Park...)
Das Hotel liegt im Herzen von Manhattan. Anreise mit dem NY Airporter hervorragend möglich. Zum Grand Central Station nur 5 Gehminuten. Times Square oder 5th Avenue ebenfalls prima zu Fuß zu erreichen. Zimmer sind sauber und gemütlich, aber klein. Perfekt für einen Kurzurlaub. Koffer können am Tag der Abreise übrigens deponiert werden. Wir würden es jederzeit wieder buchen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Great for Solo Travelinf

Posted Jun 25, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay here- the room was clean and comfortable, but small. It was a short walk from Grand Central and very convenient to public transportation. Certain nights, though, the price breakdown was pricier than other larger hotels (one night was $185), especially for what it was. However, I would definitely stay here again.