Ratings based on 4,767 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Last review I wrote was read by 1,700 people!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Great hotel. Under an hour from JFK on the E subway. No wasted space at all and the rooms are well maintained. This was my 5th visit. Small cafe in foyer and very helpful staff. The price in spring is extremely competitive and means one can stay a whole week for a couple of hundred dollars. Location terrific and interesting to see the restaurants and new shops establishing themselves in the area over the last few years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

small cosy hotel, walking distance to everywhere

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: perfect location, great price, clean, modern rooms
Location: located beside great Thai restaurant, walking distance to Times square, Central Park, close to the subway and to Grand Central station
we had the most amazing weekend in NYC, it was very warm and sunny, Pod 51 was the perfect distance to everything and the price was excellent for midtown Manhattan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Place to Stay in NYC for Young Adults

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We went on a girls trip to NYC and wanted to stay in a good location for a cheaper price! While the rooms are smaller than normal, we knew we weren't going to NY to spend a lot of time in a hotel. The room was comfortable and you're given the option of private or shared bathrooms. The staff was quick and ready to help with any questions we had! We enjoyed the lobby cafe in the mornings and having a couple of drinks at the connected bar/restaurant in the evening! I'd definitely recommend Pod51, especially for young adult travelers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 06492

Location. Location. Location.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Prepaid on Expedia and was able to change the bed requirement one day prior to check in with a quick call to the hotel. No charge. You're booking at this hotel for sleeping quarters and for the money the best deal for the neighborhood. Try it, you'll like it. Salvation Burger is right there for the Classic or the Salvation burger. Just go. #foodieslivesmatter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Very nice place. Bathrooms clean. No problem with slamming doors as some others have said. Just asked for a room away from the bathrooms - very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Price, Great Location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Love this hotel, you can't beat the price and very close to the office. Everything you need for a quick overnight (or longer).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Customer service

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Checked around 3pm didn't realize my room didn't have a bathroom spoke to someone at the front desk upgraded my room without a problem just had pay the differenc!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Better than expected

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We stayed two nights here. We booked a full bed room but we checked in late and they were full, so we got upgraded to a queen room. It was on the top floor, a corner room. Room was a good size, cozy. Really good deal! Would definitely stay again. Only complaints were: kind of noisy and the bed wasn't the most comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great deal.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
I've stayed at The Pod a few times and always enjoyed it. I had a better view from room 807 then I did at The Ritz Carlton on 59th street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel in the middle of everything!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, great location, & just 2 blocks away from the 6 train (which we used almost everyday)
Location: Ess-A-Bagel, The Smith, Barkogi, late night jazz bars off 53rd, Sushi Yasuda (reservation only)
I've been staying here the past 3 years that I've visited and not once have complained about anything. The rooms are a bit small but why stay in a bigger room when you will only be using a hotel to sleep in. The shared bathrooms are always clean and the staff are friendly :)