Ratings based on 12,945 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Worst hotel!!! Don't ever try!!!

Posted May 23, 2017
This is the worst hotel I ever wanted to stay in. Please do not even think to stay in this hotel!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to the train station

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Clean and practical
Cons: A community kitchen with microwave, coffee maker and frigobar
Location: Near train station, stores and restaurants
Enjoyed it, practical for a two day business trip. Employees were friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat as a Pin

Posted May 22, 2017
Our tiny room was perfect for our 5 night stay. Never mind that we had to breathe out just to walk past each other in any direction. Fortunately we are smaller than the average American, who would have had trouble squeezing into the shower or sitting on the toilet without leaning to one side. We would stay there again - no need for roominess when Manhattan is just outside the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient location at an excellent price.

Posted May 19, 2017
Cons: Better soundproofing on the door.
The Pod Hotel offers great value for the location. While the room is small it is NYC and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted May 19, 2017
Nice place. Convenient. A/C is a bit too loud. Staff quite capable and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Very good location

Posted May 16, 2017
The doors are little too noise but besides that everything is cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

a gem in NYC

Posted May 15, 2017
excellent location and the hotel is clean. really a gem for its price. definitely staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Creek, WI

Pod 51 is my first choice for solo travel in NYC.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The location! Two minutes walk to the Lexington Ave/53rd St E/M/6 trains. Coming from LaGuardia? Q70 to the E, less than 30 minutes.
Cons: Honestly, I think the hotel exceeds in every aspect of service, and I honestly cannot think of room for improvement.
Location: There are a variety of good brunch and dinner options on the block. The Smith (just across 2nd Ave) offers a first class brunch for less than $30.
This is my second stay at the Pod 51, and I would absolutely stay here again and recommend the hotel to other solo travelers. Both stays, I arrived ahead of check-in, and asked the front desk staff to check my bag, and during both stays, they graciously allowed me to check-in early. My first trip, the reality of how small a single room was hadn't hit me, by the end of my second stay, I felt right at home. There are about 15 rooms on each floor, sharing four private bathrooms that you unlock with your room key, and a dashboard in your room that indicates which bathrooms are occupied. In two stays of three nights each, I have never had to wait for a shared bathroom, nor have I ever had a bathroom that wasn't perfectly clean. During my most recent trip, I had the most interaction with the hotel staff, and everyone was incredibly helpful. They offer guided walks in the morning for guests, which I will have to check out on a future stay. I also never checked out the courtyard until my most recent trip, which is a peaceful space to relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Small. Didn't feel clean. Shared bathrooms were disappointing and could hear other guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Pod Social , Hotel Management
Our rooms are indeed small, that's why they're called Pods! I'm surprised to read your comments about the cleanliness, we often receive compliments on our stellar housekeeping team! We also take pride in our spacious shared baths, equipped with rain fall shower heads. We're always happy to remedy any concerns when guests are onsite, but it is hard to respond to general comments after the fact.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Location! Location! Location!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: Ability to set the heater in the room, it felt quite chilly some mornings, but there was no way to turn it on.
Location: Plenty to do from shopping, to being able to reach all the tourist locations by train. My suggestion is once you get off the plan purchase a Metrocard
I've been to the Pod's other hotel in lower Manhattan, and this one compares favorably in all aspects and exceeds in only the location. Close to several train stations and specifically the E and M trains which are about 3 stops from LaGuardia airport when used with the bus connection - SUPER convenient and CHEAP! Check in was super easy, the staff was pleasant and professional - highly recommended!