Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Glue trap for mice under the bed. Broken thermostat left the room at 80+ degrees. Carpet never vacuumed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield ohio

No elevator hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017
No food allowed in room- never heard of that before. Im guessing its because they have a mice problem-- found mouse turds on the couch Hair was in the bath tub when we got in. No elevator- after walking several miles per day- walking up four flights of stairs was a little rough
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Had a visit from a hungry rat...! That is maybe why they don't allow food in the rooms. Stained carpets, broken curtains, towels never been changed. 10$ charge for storing luggage for 6 hours after checkout. Manager wasn't nice at all but other receptionists were helpful. very good location but unpleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The location was great and staff is super nice. The only problem is how messy the rooms are and how much stuff doesn't work. They moved us around 2 3 times because the door didn't lock and mouses. It's also too loud at night. There are AC units on the window that leave a crack where you can hear all the cars of NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right on 8th Avenue

Posted Dec 21, 2016
I liked my room. Katla was my Front Desk recipient, and was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Funky hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Perfect location - pubs to your right - madison gardens to the left time square straight on from there then straight on from hotel is Empire State brilliant and cheap
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Trump Would Hate It; So We Felt Right at Home!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and first class!
Cons: The Chamber of Commerce could have done better job when it ordered the weather.
Location: The hotel is 3 blocks from the A Train. There were 4 Irish taverns ( with good affordable food) with-in a block's walk.
The room was small with practically no closet space. The stairs are steep and not suitable for people who don't get giddy at the thought of climbing ladders with a suitcase. The price was right. Everything was adequate: a good choice for those on a budget; or like us, just insufferable cheapskates.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay here again

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I stay in a lot of hotels in Manhattan and this by far was the worst ever four flights of hotel rooms no elevator very dirty rooms had a thing for towels all three days of our stay may drop garbage in the kitchen never vacuumed it up never came in once to clean dirty out front growing bright spot of the whole trip there what's the one gentleman I wish I remember his name Swiss chard room from the floor to the bottom floor the next day four flights of stairs to get your luggage is a lot especially when you have health problems had to repeatedly ask for towels no from what I gather they're too busy gabbing up front to do their job I've stayed at the other riff Hotel and I thought I'd give it another chance at this Chelsea big mistake
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and Scary.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
This place is disgusting! Dirty and poorly maintained. I was staying overnight due to a long night at work and didn't want to commute home to come back...I wish I had. I only slept there for 3 hours and that was about 3 hours too long. I ended up sleeping at my office!!! My door didn't close all the way but it did lock, however, I was still scared. There is no bathroom in the room, the pictures don't really show this. The one in the hall was so gross. I can't say enough bad things about this hotel. The only perk is that the front desk person was sweet and I'm sure in the summer the outdoor are is cute.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Broken shower tape, no daily garbage collection, very dirty carpet