Ratings based on 1,128 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Good Airport - Amtrak hotel EWR

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Shuttle service close to airport. Buffet breakfast - good lively bar.
Cons: Have body lotion included in the toiletries.
Location: Get to the airport easily. We arrived late and left early!
Close to the Newark Liberty International Airport, via airport train, and hotel shuttle. Comfortable room, with sufficiently good shower - not luxurious, but clean, and fine for a night. Complimentary coffee& tea in rooms. Bar with take out snacks (chicken wings, pizza). Quiet with a good night's sleep. I shared a double room with my adult son - it was fine. We had a comfortable setting to catch up on family news.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Susie: Thanks for your 4 star rating! We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle and our proximity to Newark Airport. Although you stayed with us for only a short time, we hope we were able to meet your expectations. Again, thank you for choosing the Ramada Plaza - Newark Airport for your traveling needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for park and fly

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Speedy check in . Guy Joe was great and clean room. Nice var and restaurant. Great price for park and fly to Newark airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Lori: Thank you so much for your kind words. One of the many things we pride ourselves on at the Ramada Plaza is meeting and exceeding our Guests' expectations. We will be sure to reach out to Joe and let him know of you great feedback. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our Park & Fly package. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require our Hotel for your traveling needs in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Overall, it was fine. You get precisely what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We would like to extend to you our heartfelt appreciation for choosing the Ramada Plaza -Newark Liberty Airport for your accommodation needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, NJ

NEVER AGAIN!!!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!! First, I prepaid for the room online and when I get there, there's a $25 hold put on your credit for incidentals that they said would be removed once you check out. I go to check out and they tell me the hold will be off in 5 days!! So, I go to leave and there's a gate to get out with a lady in a booth telling me it's $16.50 for overnight parking!! In my 43 years...I have NEVER had to pay to park at a hotel!!!! She wouldn't let me out unless I paid. So I backed back to go back inside to speak to a manager. The manager was very rude and not accommodating at all!! I told her if I knew that I had to pay for parking that I would've NEVER stayed there!!! So I left and went back to the gate to pay to get out, they only take cash!!! I had no cash, only my credit card. She said I would have to go back inside to pay! ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! So I sat there and after about 5 minutes she lifted the gate and said she called the front desk and they told her they would just charge my card!! I didn't authorize anyone to charge my card!!! I WANT A FULL REFUND FOR THIS HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! I will be calling corporate!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for over night airport travel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great! It wasn't the most grande but very nice and quiet for one night or weekend stay. Lots of things to do at the hotel. There's a bar that serves food open all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us. We are happy you were able to make the most of your time in our area even if it was for only a short while. Please contact us if you ever need travel accommodations in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The room keys did not work, poor customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: On behalf of the Ramada Plaza Team, we would like to thank you for your honest feedback and appreciate that you chose us for your accommodation needs. The issues you mentioned on your review have been noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department. Thank you for that feedback and if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees, particularly $16 for parking overnigh

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Had two rooms before they could finally put us in a room that was comfortable. 1st room sheets had not been changed and their was rust in the bathtub. 2nd room the Heater/AC blower was malfunctioning and making very loud noise. When the staff came upstairs to check on the problem, he told me and my fiancée that we wouldn't be able to change the room again because the mgr only allows two room changes. We called the desk and they finall gave us a decent room....
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear law enforcement: Thank you for your honest feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service from our Front Desk and Housekeeping Staff which is unacceptable. We will address these points. Please rest assured your feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the department concerned. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and will work diligently to rectify unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how good our hotel can be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel..so clean and confi

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very good place to stay..I paid for only one night at this hotel and we arrived just to sleep there at 2 am. We ask the guest service to give us a late check out and they gave us till 2 pm to lewve the hotel. We adored that! We will definitely stay again at this place..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us. We are happy you were able to make the most of your time in our area even if it was for only a short while. Please contact us if you ever need travel accommodations in the future. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Slept like a baby!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Shuttle service is very professional and reliable. Bed was comfortable and room was beautiful.
Location: The airport! You can fly!
I only had time to sleep and run back to the airport but this hotel served that purpose very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for your 5 star rating! We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle and our proximity to Newark Airport. Although you stayed with us for only a short time, we hope we were able to meet your expectations. Again, thank you for choosing the Ramada Plaza - Newark Airport for your traveling needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watsontown Pa 17777

Shuttle Bus Issue

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: ok
Cons: SHUTTLE SERVICE
Location: GOOD
When our flight returned from Seattle. We went to the shuttle bus site. We were told at the hotel every half hour the shuttle would be there. We were at the site at 1:20 am but no shuttle showed up. I called the hotel twice along with numerous other people. We waited until 2 am, still no shuttle. I called hotel again. Finally at 2:20 shuttle arrived and the driver was really mad with a bad attitude. I don't know if I would recommend this hotel. After paying for this hotel just for the shuttle I was greatly disappointed. While waiting the shuttle from the Hilton came like 5 times. After all this we had to drive 2 and half hours home. peggym@familyplanningplus.org
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy: On behalf of the Ramada Plaza Team, we would like to thank you for your feedback and appreciate that you chose us for your accommodation needs. The issues you mentioned on your review have been noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department. Thank you for that feedback and if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.