Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service is poor

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Checkin time, breakfast, cleanness
I understand that this is a cheap hotel in NYC and did not expect great service, but the room was not ready by our check-in time. We were asked to wait 15 minutes, but eventually waited about 45 minutes till it was cleaned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Overall experience was satisfactory except the locality and no parking facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2015
An inexpensive hotel that was clean, friendly and close to the subway lines. I'd stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charge extra

Posted Nov 18, 2015
I checked in and they put u right on ground level so u hear everything and I asked to move and the charged 20-40 more for same room one floor up never again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2015 by Jasmine B, Hotel Management
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn Lower East Side. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Hope you consider to stay with us again! Best regards, Jasmine Front Desk Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Get What You Pay For

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Location: Mikey's next door great burger joint. Pizza place up the street great. Walk to Little Italy, Chinatown, SoHo. Easy access to subway.
This was the least expensive hotel I could find in Manhattan at a 4 star Expedia user rating with a private bathroom. I went to Manhattan for the weekend with my wife and 13 year old daughter. Got a room with two double beds. Plusses - There were no bed bugs. Breakfast was what I expect at a Comfort Inn. Room was clean, and front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Comfy beds. As advertised, the hotel is a block and a half from the F line, which will take you to Times Square and many other places. Also a good launching point for a walk to Chinatown, Little Italy, and SoHo. Negatives - as some of the reviews say, the neighborhood looks a little rough. Looks like it was really rough 15 or 20 years ago and has improved. But I can honestly say as we walked around at night we never felt unsafe, as there as so many young people walking around to all the bars, clubs and restaurants. But we're also the kind of people that don't freak out at the first sign of graffiti, bars on windows, and street people. If you're used to a super safe pristine location, not for you. The room is very small. Easily the smallest room I've ever stayed in. With 3 people's carry on bags and backpacks/purses there was literally no room to move around. But all in all, for $185 including tax per night for Thursday through Sunday, I challenge you to find a better deal in Manhattan. It got the job done for our budget trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Tennis tournament

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: As above, plus staff
Cons: Lots of little stuff nothing major
Location: As above. Very good location
Great location! Katzs deli was two blocks away, many cool bars close to hotel. Bus and subway 2-3 blocks away and grocery store 4 blocks away. Breakfast was just ok, but I reminded myself it comes with the room price, grabbed a bagel, yogurt and an Apple good start to get to subway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Day of Check in The lady wasn't that welcoming at all. Room was too tiny. + Decent Breakfast. Clean rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Only 2 blocks away from subway station and close to cafes and restaurants.
Cons: Fix the bathroom.
Location: Hotel within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy and SoHo.
Booked a queen room and expected a queen bed but was given a double bed instead on the ground floor that was suitable for wheelchair access. We requested a change of the room and was advised that all bookings via Expedia would be given this particular room. Room was very small and bathroom was not in good condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Perfect for our needs

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Comfort inn lower east side was wonderful. We got into the city very early in the morning and they allowed us to check in. Room was always clean. Bed and pillows were great. always had plenty of towels. Breakfast wasn't great but enough to cut morning hunger until we got lunch. Great neighborhood. Overall loved it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Disappointed

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Near East Village restaurants and all night eating spots right outside the door. Beds were comfortable and clean.
Cons: Remove a bed from room 102.
We were the last ones in at 3 AM. The room was jammed with two double beds that could barely handle one. Left about 11" to maneuver around the beds. Very crowded. The room was all beds! Very crowded.