Ratings based on 1,181 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Excellent hotel. Perfect location. Would definitely come here again if I'm in NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible Experience

Posted May 20, 2017
The moment we arrived and were greeted warmly at the front door, we could feel this was a special place. Then at check in, I made some special requests where Dante, Angie, and Lamar made them happen without hesitation. They treated us like family and proved our instincts were right. After check-in, we headed to the restaurant where Gabby and the team at Parker and Quinn continued the excellent service. Winnie's bartenders and staff were incredible as well. ( It was our favorite spot to end the night !) In fact, from the day we arrived until the day we left, every person we met from the Refinery were cheerful and helpful. I never reached out to management during our stay, so I want to congratulate them as well for running such a great organization! Thanks to all .. we have already begun spreading the word in LA that the Refinery Hotel is the best place to stay in Manhattan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Nicely appointed. Modern design. Convenient location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
it was a fun place to be, good location. but the five star rating is not right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Generally nice hotel, noise a problem

Posted May 3, 2017
Good amenities, centrally located, with easy access to the subway. The Atelier suite we booked was a nice sized room by NY standards and nicely outfitted (generally clean, with a few areas for improvement). Noise was a problem, as others have noted. Street noise was audible from our room on the 6th floor plus the rooftop lounge was annoyingly loud until 2am one night. Not a great place for people who go to bed before then and want to sleep comfortably without earplugs. Housekeeping ignored do not disturb signs on two occasions. Will likely not be visiting again. Also apparently forgot about the promised Expedia VIP welcome bottle of wine we were promised pre arrival.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They run a scam on incidentals

Posted Apr 19, 2017
They claim that credit cards for incidentals doesn't work and make several reservations, not returning all of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The staff could not have been nicer. Everyone that we encountered were extremely nice and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Public Amenities

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It looks like a hip hotel but it's not. The rooftop bar and restaurant on the ground are public and the staff don't give guests of the hotel any priority over anyone else so you just get asked if you reserved and then made to wait which is not the point of a hotel bar! Good location if you like that part of town though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Where the past meets the future

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Whats not to like when a hotel provides a great supply of everything needed to make you feel comfortable and welcomed.
Cons: Hmmmmm. I think the staff and owners covered almost everything. Including the logo.
Location: The Empire State Building is within walking distance and viewable from the rooftop. Times Square is also nearby.
The Refinery takes its name from the building's past use as place that made hats, elements of which can be found around the lobby and in the guest rooms (the tables are former sowing tables). After all, this is the Garment District. This adds to the overall charm of this hotel, and the addition to the roof top restaurant tops off that charisma. But its the room's attention to detail that remains paramount as a prime New York Hotel experience that is very unique. To start, the mini bar with its affluent supply of beverages both on the table and the refer makes sure you don't go thirsty. The in-house newspaper, abundant supply of places to plug in electronic devices, the supply of toiletries ( including ear plugs to drown out the city below) are well thought out. The beds are comfy and the flat screen television is of the perfectly large size. The walk in shower, supply of robes, decent amount of space that doesn't feel confined, and even the closet to hang clothes (w/ automatic light) all add up that seals the deal as a great overall experience. This hotel should be on the top of your list and in a city that has the widest selections of hotels in its 22 square miles, look no further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel in mid town

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: eveything
Always stay here, great staff, great rooms- big bathroom- very clean- kept well,4 years old. Location is perfect- always goes the extra mile to accommodate your requests.