Ratings based on 1,166 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They run a scam on incidentals

Posted Apr 19, 2017
They claim that credit cards for incidentals doesn't work and make several reservations, not returning all of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The staff could not have been nicer. Everyone that we encountered were extremely nice and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Public Amenities

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It looks like a hip hotel but it's not. The rooftop bar and restaurant on the ground are public and the staff don't give guests of the hotel any priority over anyone else so you just get asked if you reserved and then made to wait which is not the point of a hotel bar! Good location if you like that part of town though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Where the past meets the future

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Whats not to like when a hotel provides a great supply of everything needed to make you feel comfortable and welcomed.
Cons: Hmmmmm. I think the staff and owners covered almost everything. Including the logo.
Location: The Empire State Building is within walking distance and viewable from the rooftop. Times Square is also nearby.
The Refinery takes its name from the building's past use as place that made hats, elements of which can be found around the lobby and in the guest rooms (the tables are former sowing tables). After all, this is the Garment District. This adds to the overall charm of this hotel, and the addition to the roof top restaurant tops off that charisma. But its the room's attention to detail that remains paramount as a prime New York Hotel experience that is very unique. To start, the mini bar with its affluent supply of beverages both on the table and the refer makes sure you don't go thirsty. The in-house newspaper, abundant supply of places to plug in electronic devices, the supply of toiletries ( including ear plugs to drown out the city below) are well thought out. The beds are comfy and the flat screen television is of the perfectly large size. The walk in shower, supply of robes, decent amount of space that doesn't feel confined, and even the closet to hang clothes (w/ automatic light) all add up that seals the deal as a great overall experience. This hotel should be on the top of your list and in a city that has the widest selections of hotels in its 22 square miles, look no further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel in mid town

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: eveything
Always stay here, great staff, great rooms- big bathroom- very clean- kept well,4 years old. Location is perfect- always goes the extra mile to accommodate your requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel at perfect location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It is perfect!
Location: Near everything,Less than 15 minute walk to Grand Central,Broadway,Maduson Square Garden,tons of restaurants and bars,Fifth Ave.
We arrived early at the hotel and they had our room ready within 2o minutes,the staff was very accommodating and friendly! While waiting we spent some time on their rooftop bar which was breathtaking with great drinks and tasty food with wonderful ambience.I highly recommend it.The room itself was very spacious and clean ,it was very quiet you wouldn't even know you were in busy NYC and what comfortable beds! The location is PERFECT,a 15 minute walk from Broadway,Grand Central ,and Madison Square Garden,with tons of restaurants in between.I definitely am booking this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Best small independent hotel in midtown

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: I really like the aesthetics of the hotel - simply and rustic!
Cons: The pillows seem to bother my neck but then again!
Location: This hotel is very central and close to Penn Station which makes it ideal!
I don't know that I want to stay anywhere else in Manhattan. From the moment you step into the door you feel as if you are home. While the hotel is small is it extremely well appointed. The staff is friendly and you get the feeling you are somewhere special. I particularly loved the glass of wine that was presented to me upon check-in. When I got to my room a bottle of wine and some bottles of water were delivered for being a VIP. Gotta love this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Rooftop with a view of Empire State Building

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel staff are all so attentive, from the front desk to housekeeping. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Unique and comfortable rooms. Very stylish. Great location. Lobby is a bit blah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice midtown hotel with large rooms

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are modern, well decorated & very clean. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine for being Expedia Gold members. Next day was St Patrick's day & we were treated to beautiful cupcakes (from Magnolia Bakery) waiting in our room at the end of the day. Not much of a lobby but there is a lovely rooftop bar.