Ratings based on 8,921 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york 8th Ave

Basic hotel in excellent location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Had know problems at all . Check in and check out one . Hotel needs updating but as only using it to sleep in it wasn't a problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Great location in NYC

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators
Location: Close to everything, right in the spot of midtown and times square
Awesome location right next to Times Square , just great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlow

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Loaction
Location: Central to most things
Told the hotel that the room was not hoovered properly and that dust had accumulated around all the edges because the are using an upright hoover. Was assured on day 1 this would be sorted but never was. Sink plug did not work so had to have this reapired. Heater at low level in bathroom made the floor so how by the sink you could not stand there with bare feet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I have used a hair dryer in my room. Guess what? It almost flamed and I had to smell a lot of smoke. It was too old to use. That night was 1:30am, I called to the front desk and the staff didn't say even any single word 'sorry'. He called to an electronic maneger and then I have waited almost 20min with my wet hair. She came in to my room and she just gave me a new dryer and turn back to the hall way. I was so embarrassed so I said "Excuse me, Can you smell it?". She answered "yeah I can smell in the hall way." She also didn't say sorry. I had to sleep with the smoke without any service and an apologize. If I wasn't tired I would complain about that night. Also I saw a cockroach at the lobby bathroom. That was horrible. Only lobby looks like good hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Maurizio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed you had such a challenge during your time with us. We deeply regret that your hair dryer didn't work properly and caused such an inconvenience for you. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. It's unfortunate our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate you or make you feel valued. We hold ourselves to a higher standard. Your satisfaction is very important to us so we'll be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you and demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of providing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Dumpy McDump Dump

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Line for checking in was 45 mins long & when I finally got to reception the person was rude & offered no apologies. Beds are actually not the size you think you're getting bc a "queen room" refers to the type of room, not bed size, which is actually full. Furniture was chipped & cracked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Maurizio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. We do provide the Stay n Touch check-in system which allows guests who book through the hotel to check-in via email thus bypassing the lines. We also offer a variety of room sizes and would be happy to help you choose one which better suits your needs next time. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Good for sight seeing

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Hotel situated just off time square and pretty central to other attractions. Good size room but very noisy at night with traffic noise, sirens etc. Staff were friendly. Be aware on check out to check the bill as telephone Calls included with fees but tried to charge them to my bill. Overall nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for a first time visit to New York

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Very modern, contemporary hotel with all the necessary facilities. It was great to have eateries onsite, a computer station as well as a small shop.
Cons: Our bedroom was right next to the lifts so we could hear these through the night during our stay.
Location: The location was fantastic. There were plenty of diners nearby for breakfast and restaurants for dinner - all within a 20 minute walk of the hotel.
We stayed for a week at The Row Hotel in February this year. This was our first visit so the best part of the hotel was the location as it is just next to Times Square. This meant we were close to all of the main tourist attractions and we were very central so we could get everywhere easily by walking and using the subway. I was concerned about the noise and lights from Times Square affecting our room but this was not a problem. Our room was contemporary and in-keeping with the rest of the hotel. The one thing I felt was missing was a tea and coffee station in the room as I'm quite used to have a tea in the morning and before bed. One night we also came home to find our bedroom had been left open by housekeeping but the reception staff were helpful and we logged this to ensure we were covered for security and insurance purposes. Overall, we had a great stay with the hotel and we would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sh

Not worth it!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
While the price is attractive and the hotel is well located, this is as my first and last time. Staff is super rude, and not willing to help. While I was compensated for a very unwelcoming check in, I ran into issues with my check out. I was trying to call a bell man and stayed on line for 30 min no answer... when I complained to one of the supervisor, who's name I do not have as all hotel staff do not wear name tags, he said there's nothing he can do about it:" you should have called the bell boys and if they do not pick up, it's non of my problem". For the price I paid I didn't expect to get a suite. Yet the room was tiny and... Dirty. Luckily I booked only one night. There are nice perks to the hotel. City Kitchen is one of them. I enjoyed the good tremondsly. A little overpriced even in NYC terms, but worth it! While the prices the hotel has to offer can not be beat, I would still stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Maurizio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thanks for your feedback. We're deeply disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than ideal. We strive to offer our guests quality service and convenience. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. Your happiness and satisfaction are very important to us and we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider allowing us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we're capable of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Right in the centre... Great

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Nice staff clean perfect location and rate tge hotel st 3 stars
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Dirty rooms.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Room was very dirty. I never had to go buy cleaning products after arriving to a hotel. I actually didn't even want to take my shoes off in the room. The bathroom door didn't close. Bathroom smelled of urine and had urine all over the walls. Beware of the extra fees you get charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Maurizio, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback, Dakota. We're disheartened to hear about the problems you faced during your stay with us. We strive to offer our guests quality service and convenience. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. Your happiness and satisfaction are very important to us and we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider allowing us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we're capable of.