Ratings based on 1,259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location and Great Staff

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Quiet side street within blocks of Time Square. Bryant Park within blocks, Grand Central Station blocks behind hotel, Rockefeller Center blocks away
The hotel staff are very helpful with every aspect of your stay. I was visiting from Florida for the 1st time and wasnt the least bit familiar with NYC transportation which the staff willingly helped my friends and I with directions. The ambiance in the lobby is very calming and the decor is gorgeous. Our room was complimentary upgraded which I greatly appreciated. The location is central to many "must see" monuments of NYC(Time Square, Rockefeller, Bryant Park, 9/11 Memorial etc), even Statue of Liberty within 20 minutes via subway's. Absolutely loved this hotel and its staffs kindness. Definitely made our 1st NYC experience a pleasant and safe adventure. Thank you so much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miramar, Florida

Should have been better

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Right in the middle of things. On 44th just off 6th Avenue. Great location. 3 minutes to time square. 10 minutes to Rockefeller Center.
Hotel is disappointing. When we arrived we were not even sure it was a hotel. Not clear hotel entrance and we even thought the taxi driver took us o the wrong place. Upon entry we though maybe this is a night club, it was really dark and difficult to navigate. My wife wanted to leave because she though maybe this was a different kind of place. We finally checked in and took the very old and small elevators to the room. Room was ok, like newly renovated but nothing works right. Not enough hangers to put stuff. Bathroom water was either too cold or too warm. This should have been better. In the end the experience was not too bad but won't stay there again. We con do way better for our money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Dark experience

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Great location.
We've been to NYC several times. We are familiar with older hotels and small rooms, nonetheless, this hotel was a shock! At first, it took us a long time to adjust to the darkness...even in the lobby! Our room was so tiny, we had to rearrange the furniture just to be able to unpack. Then we noticed the window was OPEN! We pulled the curtains and what a shock! We were facing several other windows and the floor of this...alley was littered with dozens of cigarette butts in different stages of decay. It was disgusting and I did not feel safe, even with the securely shot by my husband. The worst part? Yes, it gets worse! We didn't notice until the second night that we had a covered duvet on the bed BUT NO TOP SHEET!! Eeeewww! We only had 3 hours to sleep so we slept fully clothed and got out of there as fast as we could the following morning. One more thing: reception staff was friendly, everyone else was not. We will not be back, nor will we recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Dark & cozy stylish interior, quiet vibe.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay of a couple of nights here. It was just my partner and I. Our room was small on the 9th floor - the small window had a view of a brick wall - but since we were only there at night it didn't matter. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was modern and featured a large round rub/shower. Water pressure was great and plenty of hot water. The only thing that didn't work was the in-room phones. We complained at check out (as we discovered it on our last day) and the front desk staff removed our minor mini bar and $15/day internet fees as compensation which we were happy with.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Cons: free wifi
Très propre, bien situé, près de tout. Dommage qu'il faut payer pour le WiFi, vraiment un irritant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Dining at nice restaurants and seeing a play etc
Cons: Location was good room was spacious and clean
Very good room and location lobby is too dark location was close to things
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AUS

My first time in NYC

Posted Oct 8, 2016
First time in NYC so may be unfairly judging facilities, condition and comfort for the money spent. Overall was good hotel great staff and perfect location. Was traveling with my girlfriend who had been to NYC before and when I commented on things I wasn't happy with she promptly advised that this was NYC. Room was not terribly small but not big. Humidity meant room had to have AC on all the time but that's to be expected when staying on the hot plate otherwise known as Manhattan. Don't be fooled by all the photos and claims though, all hotels suffer this so unless you can afford thousands per night, then the Royalton is a great option. Very happy with our stay. Recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location...nice hotel!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The staff are so friendly and helpful
Cons: The air handlers in the rooms....very noisy
Location: Within walking distance of many, many great things
Hotel is within walking distance of many New York "iconic" locations...Broadway, Times Square, Lindy's, Junior's Cheesecake, theaters, shopping and many more. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and there is a nice "energy" to the hotel. Seems to be a good night spot, too, as the bars were filled every night. I know it is an older building, but the air conditioner is extremely loud. We left it on low while we were out of our room and then turned it off when we got back and that seemed to work well..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Great spot; very close to everything. Great staff and the bar in the lobby is great for post-dinner drinks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Night in NYC

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel was nice. Didn't like that I had to get out of my car to get valet guy inside hotel.