Ratings based on 1,184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is situated really close to Times Square

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay would go again and central to everything once you know what to look out for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
It's like walking into a Mad Men meets Modern Luxe world. I had a King Deluxe room but would've preferred an alcove suite after my viewing one. But everything from the ultra friendly staff, cool bar and amazingly large rooms was excellent. Will definitely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Great hotel good location staff was very helpful! Would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Beautiful Boutique Hotel with excellent friendly s

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Design. Friendly helpful Staff.
Location: Very close to Times Square and the theatre district. Short walk to the subway for all other New York sites.
Loved it here. Hotel was stylish and trendy. A little dated but that's its history of Starcks design that is its charm. Very friendly helpful staff. would recommend this hotel. We stayed 6 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great New Year's Eve hotel!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
I loved staying at the Royalton for New Year's Eve, super close to Times Square but far enough away if you wanted to go home and take a nap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great location, trendy hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Trendy, cool decor, close to the big attractions, great for young couples (not kids) and offers value for money in terms of location and cool factor.
Cons: Rude, unhelpful staff. Room decor and fixtures starting to look tired.
Location: Perfect location for Times Square, theatres, Central Park, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller etc. Close to several subways for getting anywhere else.
This hotel is perfect for couples who want a boutique New York hotel experience within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions. The location is perfect for Midtown - very close to the action yet on a quiet and salubrious street which felt safe. The hotel's decor, vibe and food/drinks are cool and trendy. We had a great, spacious room which had a nice bathroom and good facilities such as a safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, plus a very comfy bed. The check in and out was swift and we had no issues during our stay. However two things stood out as being not quite up to standard - the decor of the rooms (not the lobby) is a bit worn around the edges and could do with a lick of paint and bots being renewed. Secondly the staff, every one of them except for one porter, we're abrupt to the point of being rude, reluctant to help, and almost scornful at some of our questions and requests. It's a real shame that a hotel that could qualify as 5 star in many ways is let down by staff who seem to feel they are above their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Right in the heart

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Second time stay and still can't see any other possibility of staying elsewhere. Late to check in as room wasn't ready on time but staff help to high degree. Giving us free breakfast. 2 mins from Times Square 2 mins from 5th avenue 10mins from Central Park. 5* rooms without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Location and attentive staff
Cons: Provide tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms
Location: Ideally centrally located, easy walking distance to several attractions i.e. Time Square, Rockefeller Centre, Empire State etc.
This was our first time NY, staying at the Royalton gave us an ideal base to work from in viewing tourist sites etc. It also gave us the luxury to be able to relax after a day's activities and recharge batteries in a pleasant and convivable atmosphere and social environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2015
The staff was courteous, helpful, and outstanding. They made our stay. The room itself was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent Romantic Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: The Services, the beautifulness of the reception and the round tub in the room.
Cons: the way the service clean the fire place after turn off.
Location: The location is perfect and you are close to everything in time square. If you want to have time to do everything in NY this is the place.
Actually the Hotel exceed my expectation in beautifulness. The Staff was very kind and we call front desk many times and the answer my request in less than 5 minutes and that is awesome. The only thing i didn't like it was the fire place. We ask the staff to turn on and when the fire consume it all the smell stay in the room for 3 days and that was very unpleasant for our stay. That was our only complain.