Ratings based on 14,669 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice hotel close to Central Park. Smell of marijuana spoil the fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great deal!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: My favorite thing about the hotel was the price! And the fact that it really is worth more
Cons: The temperature of the room. It was very warm, and the a/c unit probably needs work (or a new filter)
Location: The hotel is on 57th street. So, if you want to hang out anywhere south of Times Square this is probably too far away for you if you'll be walking.
The Salisbury is a comfortable older hotel. The lobby is small and there aren't a lot of frills, but it is very well staffed and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 15th floor that was handicapped accessible. The room was large and the bathroom was really nice. It had been fully updated. There was a small refrigerator and a little sink (except the water in it didn't work-unless there was a special way to turn it on that escaped me). It was very hot in the room for my taste, so I turned on the air conditioner-- which didn't help. I imagine that since it is February the air conditioners haven't been serviced yet.....anyway, I enjoyed my stay at the Salisbury and if we return to NYC I would definitely consider staying there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Okay for the price

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The hotel is pretty old and smells of a previously smoked-in hotel. It appears clean but definitely needs an upgrade. Chipping paint and faded brass can be found. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The price is what drew me for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Excellent location! HUGE comfortable rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Excellent location! HUGE comfortable rooms and exceptionally clean!! It is my best NYC hotel experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
It was a great location and the staff was helpful. The condition on the other hand was not so great. The up keep on the actual room maintenance is lacking, there was mold in my bathroom, toilet seat fell off after the first use, the in unit Ac unit was falling apart and there was no screens on the window.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Very, VERY old hotel. Must be refurbished.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
There is only one positive thing in that hotel: spacious rooms. Everything else must be changed. Take the bathrooms for example, you cannot take a shower: it is impossible to mix hot and cold water; the shower head is a 100 years old. Take the air conditioning: you cannot controle the room temperature. The Hotel must be refurbished entirely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rural Coastal Maine

Nice, but limited amenities.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the Arts and all, clean, with a polite, helpful staff.
Cons: Communications: Expedia notedI'd receive free breakfasts, but the Hotel informed me that they had discontinued all breakfasts a few weeks before.
Location: Near MOMA, accessible to the Met, the Guggenheim, and the Frick.
The Hotel is nice, mid-town Manhattan, accessible to the Arts and other museums, yet relatively affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Oldish but roomy

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Discount on parking and location
Cons: The sheets extremely need a fabric softner. It felt like sleeping in rough hospital sheets. I knew they were clean but I actually got abrasions on ear
Location: Everything in walking distance and close to the tour bus stops
Plenty of room and great location for the price. Central park 2 blocks away, time square a quick 5 to 10min walk. Also gives a discount on parking if you use their partner garage ($25) per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Terrific location and excellent price

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is worn and a little shabby, but the staff is friendly and helpful and room size is exceptional. The rooms are far too hot for comfort (no thermostat in-room), and I actually had to turn on the air conditioner to sleep - it also had no controls so I had to get up to turn it off and then get up again to turn it back on during the night. I would stay again because it's such a good value and location, but maybe only when heating season is over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice in a pinch

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice hotel, great area! Little old, but fine for the last minute overnight I needed! would stay there again