Ratings based on 15,204 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Great stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Super place clean stuff is polite and nice really would recommend this place to anyone traveling to New York good value we had three rooms and it was perfect no one has ever complained about anything really a great value very close to time square and Central Park to key locations in Manhattan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff; hotel is good value

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: Very walkable to Times Square and Central Park easily and the rooms were large. The yellow line is less than half a block away.
The location is excellent and the price is very good value. While the hotel is older, the beds are fine and the room clean. We had two maintenance issues during our stay. The TV remote wasn't working and the AC gave off a strange smell. Both were looked after (after reporting them after 5 pm) within 30 minutes. The room was left smelling good. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels with much worse service. My suggestion is that if there's something in the room that could function better you should mention it and my belief is that it would be looked after quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Convenient location Close to museums and theatres
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

out side loud, nice people, old facility,

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: cleaning staff
Cons: facilities old, blow dryer broke, needs more electrical outets, too loud outside
price not as advertised. too expensive for this type of hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, FL

Treasure of NYC!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Location and staff are excellent! Rooms are huge for nyc standards.its antique motif is charming and totally New York!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, England.

Fantastic location.

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms need up-dating.
Location: Excellent. Times square, Central park, 2 Sub stations. Great Irish bar 2 minutes walk away.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Salisbury. The location is perfect, near Times Square, Central Park and Subway stations. The hotel is (tired) and needs re-furbishing but the bedding and towels are clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, SC

Comfortable hotel, great location

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: It was clean, maid service was flexible, great location and great price.
Cons: The bathroom was outdated, but everything was clean and in working order. The beds were comfortable and there were light-blocking curtains.
Location: The midtown location was perfect for our needs. Right near Carnegie Hall, Fifith Avenue, Central Park and easy to get uptown or downtown, as needed.
The Salisbury is a clean hotel, with a great location in Midtown, close to Lincoln Center, Central Park, Park Ave and Carnegie Hall. Central Park is a wonderful place to take a nice walk in the morning, with your coffee from Europa cafe, one block from the hotel. There is also a convenience store two doors down, with drinks and snacks. There are two elevators, which we did not have to wait for, and the bellmen were pleasant and informative. Considering the price point, this hotel is a bargain for NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Central location, reasonable price

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: good price, good location central Manhattan, safe area, clean. Cons: older, paint peeling in bathroom, leaky bath sink faucet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel across the street from Carnegie Ha

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Offer a quick bagel or doughnut. Maybe that isn't the way it is done in NYC, but it is everywhere else. I think people get sick of being nickled and d
Location: It is cs to take you anywhere else.lose to everything, including to subway
To begin with the hotel was THREE times what I expected it to cost. I can of course take the blame for that for not reading the fine print that the price shown was an average per night. Nonetheless I can't help but wonder why I didn't get a total under the night before my trip. When using Expedia for rooms BE VERY CAREFUL! It was a very nice old place and quite convenient, but the hot water was iffy like it can be in old places. I just don't expect that for $300/night. The thing I do expect for $300/night is a continental breakfast of some sort; not a doughnut in the place. Then, they called to see when they could clean the room , as I had the do not disturb sign out, and I told them the time we would be out. I forgot to take off the sign, so they didn't touch the room, no trash dumped, beds made, clean towels or refreshed supplies...for $300/night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to underground

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Close to all amenities, rooms very spacious. Being a wheelchair user this was great
Had a great time, being a wheelchair user it was easy to get around and use underground.