Ratings based on 15,302 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in New York

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Having never been to New York I didn't know what to expect. The hotel was in a great location walking distance to Times Square, and extremely close to Central Park. Staff were pleasant if I returned to New York I would definately stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Good location but the hotel could use some updating. The air conditioner in our room was leaking which was causing the window sill to rot. The mirrors in the room could use a good cleaning and room itself needed to be painted. It's a great location and the rooms are a good size. Also, the hotel staff repeatedly entered our room without knocking first. Apparently we had a closet they used for extra linen storage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Won't be going here again.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I made a reservation here because I **thought** I was getting a great deal because Expedia told me the "normal" price was $500/night and it was about one mile from the New York Public Library, where I needed to conduct research. Nonsense. This place is worse than a motel and looks like it hasn't been renovated in about 20 years. I'll never visit this hotel again despite needing to return to NYC in January for MLA 18. Fellow MLA goers AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS. I paid an exorbitant rate that did **not** include breakfast, parking, or even internet. Combined those other common amenities cost me a lot of money. On top of that, they hotel doesn't have a fitness space, so if you're hoping to start the day right or unwind you'd better go elsewhere. The room was gross. Cracked paint, broken amenities, and loud noises will remain with you throughout your stay. I also had housekeeping enter my room despite my do not disturb sign. Nothing was amiss but I cannot believe the sign meant nothing. I told management about my concerns and they shrugged me off. I told them that I was using the room for official university purposes for tax reasons and they didn't give two damns. I could have secured my room for about Half price by not using Expedia. I'll never use that service again. But most important, I'll NEVER stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Bad Experience. Not worth discounted rate!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer Service; room decor and update furniture
Location: Central Park; Times Square; Carnegie Hall
Pros: Location - you are well within walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, Theater District and Hell's Kitchen, plus more Cons: Room was 1960s decor and had not been updated; paint was peeling off walls; window air conditioners; was promised continental breakfast per amenities on Expedia site and was told they discontinued months ago; check-in staff was rude and not accommodating; tried several times to reach front desk only to have phone ring 30 times with no pickup; asked for late checkout at 1am the day of checkout and was told we would have to substantially tip front desk clerk or wait until 730am the next day to ask for request for late checkout; called at 8am to find out all the "late checkouts" were taken and our request would not be honored; no free calls; charge for wifi; room with a view = room with view of fire escape We are VIP+ with Expedia and received no extra benefits. Would not stay in this location again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Needs lipstick & rouge though.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Location is great! Suite was gigantic, 4 closets! window unit poorly insulated, loudest room I've had in NYC for street noise. Clean, but needs updating, many rough edges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
You are literally in the middle of everything. Walk to MoMA, Rockerfeller Center, Carnegie Hall, St Patrick's, Central Park, 57th Street subway stop, Lincoln Center, even Times Square(15 minutes away).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but not recommendable

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Proximity to places where you can walk around Mid Manhattan and also to subway.
Cons: This hotel is dated and needs a make over. Repaint the rooms and add more power outlets. Change sheets very 2 or 3 days. Lobby is not presentable.
Location: Location is very good and you can find restaurants, deli, subway just outside the hotel. Walking distance to Central Park, Apple Store, etc.
Room is not well maintained due to paint chipping, hinges on bathroom door is rusty. Had to request room transfer due to faucet near microwave is not working and bathroom smells like pee so I assume bathroom is not sanitized for the next guests checking in. The beds are made but the sheets are not changed. The curtain blocks the air conditioner when you close it. I had to requests for extra towels every day. They leave 2 towels but I booked 3 people in this room. Overall the room is ok but not very comfortable considering we stayed for a week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Yes it's an older hotel but it was clean and comfortable. I had reserved one room and ended up with a "living room" as well. Staff was really kind and helpful, they even brought us a rollaway bed. Good location if you are looking for the hussle and bustle , it was a good location for our first trip to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Excellent location- large, clean, comfortable room

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This hotel has an excellent location with large, clean, comfortable rooms. Hotel is dated, but you can't beat the location! Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful, and professional. Room was very large- which is a rare find in New York, and extremely clean with very comfortable beds. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would absolutely stay there again. Great hotel with a great price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
No free wifi bar fridge or coffee maker beds were uncomfortable Bathroom out dated. Clean and tidy though.