Ratings based on 15,095 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melville, NY

Perfect location

Posted May 28, 2017
Beautiful location , close to Central Park and great restaurants . Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly . Room was clean and spacious . Linens were very clean . We stayed at a suit with living room and a small kitchen area with microwave and small fridge and that was very helpful. I will stay in this hotel again for sure .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very well located!

Posted May 27, 2017
Use it while you can, it's in the middle of some very valuable property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Not sure location makes up for terrible facilities

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above. Rooms are very run down, no wifi, little guest support, small details would make a big difference but no effort made to make the best of it
Location: Carnegie, Times Square, Columbus Square, Central Park, etc...
I don't know that I have paid so much for so little in terms of accommodation. It is hard to beat the location and it is a bed in which to sleep in mid-town Manhattan, but outside of those very modest pluses, the (surprising) cons included the rooms are VERY run down, grungy and tired (dirty floors and surfaces, lights burnt out in the bathroom, random old furniture scattered around without purpose, ripped shower curtain, etc...), there is no wifi (and when when you pay it doesn't work) and there is little support to guests generally in terms of toiletries, taxis, and advice on the general surroundings. There are so many small details/ inexpensive solutions that they could address to make the guest experience a bit better to make up for the major grunginess (updating plugs and sockets, some basic wall art, thought on furniture placement, toiletries provided, etc....). And all of this for not a significant saving compared to other places in the area. I would not recommend people staying here unless there is nothing else available, but I wish the owners well as there is a lot of potential in the space if they paid more attention and made efforts to make guests feel more comfortable and welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Old and it shows - but the people are nice

Posted May 25, 2017
The worst was that we had no internet. I paid for it, but no signal. I wasn't expecting this and due to my extremely packed schedule I had no time to deal with it. I appreciate that the staff offered to change our room - we just had no time. I don't want to be mean, because the folks were sweet, but this place definitely looks better in pictures. The bathroom floor was dirty in the corners and the toilet banged against the wall every time you stood up. Several dresser drawer pulls were hanging down, one side missing their screws. Cracks in the walls. The temperature control unit was broken, having only 1 temp: 60 degrees. And the halls were musty and hot. I was also surprised to learn there was no coffee maker in the room (and of course no fridge etc). But beds were comfy, shower was clean and had good pressure, the TV and lamps worked fine, and the hotel location worked out very well for us: close to SO much! And did I mention the people were nice?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Great location, clean and friendly staff.
Great stay, quiet clean room with comfortable bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Doesn't matter what rate you get - Skip this hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
About the only thing this hotel has going for it is the location! Oh and the size of the room. They are larger than most NYC standard hotel rooms. The hotel & rooms are very dated, the staff is inattentive & the overall service is pretty darn bad. Couldn't reach my elderly mom who was in the room because no one answered the hotel phone for more than 1/2 hour. Called repeatedly between 8:15 - 8:45 pm. Finally had to rush over there to get to speak to her. Just ridiculous! When I spoke to the reception agent about this, he said I should go ahead & complain! No apology, no nothing. Services are inadequate - no room service! Will NOT be ever coming back here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
I found the rooms very outdated and run down. The grout in the bathroom tiles were missing. There were stains on the carpets and some of the handles on the drawers were missing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 21, 2017
Very uncomfortable furniture. Wire exposed in ceiling lamp. Very dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, old hotel.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The staff were great. The in room sink and refrigerator were nice, and the rooms were pretty large for NYC.
Exactly what you should expect for the price. Great location and staff, but the furnishings are very old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hôtel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Windows
Location: Se just went to the Yankees
Nice hôtel However very difficult to sleep due to noise of véhicules 10 stories Lower