Ratings based on 8,492 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Very, VERY old hotel. Must be refurbished.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
There is only one positive thing in that hotel: spacious rooms. Everything else must be changed. Take the bathrooms for example, you cannot take a shower: it is impossible to mix hot and cold water; the shower head is a 100 years old. Take the air conditioning: you cannot controle the room temperature. The Hotel must be refurbished entirely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rural Coastal Maine

Nice, but limited amenities.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the Arts and all, clean, with a polite, helpful staff.
Cons: Communications: Expedia notedI'd receive free breakfasts, but the Hotel informed me that they had discontinued all breakfasts a few weeks before.
Location: Near MOMA, accessible to the Met, the Guggenheim, and the Frick.
The Hotel is nice, mid-town Manhattan, accessible to the Arts and other museums, yet relatively affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Oldish but roomy

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Discount on parking and location
Cons: The sheets extremely need a fabric softner. It felt like sleeping in rough hospital sheets. I knew they were clean but I actually got abrasions on ear
Location: Everything in walking distance and close to the tour bus stops
Plenty of room and great location for the price. Central park 2 blocks away, time square a quick 5 to 10min walk. Also gives a discount on parking if you use their partner garage ($25) per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Terrific location and excellent price

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is worn and a little shabby, but the staff is friendly and helpful and room size is exceptional. The rooms are far too hot for comfort (no thermostat in-room), and I actually had to turn on the air conditioner to sleep - it also had no controls so I had to get up to turn it off and then get up again to turn it back on during the night. I would stay again because it's such a good value and location, but maybe only when heating season is over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice in a pinch

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice hotel, great area! Little old, but fine for the last minute overnight I needed! would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Well placed hotel that needs redecoration

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Where it is
Cons: Redecorate, replace some furniture
Location: Carnegie Hall, Central Park, shops on 57 th Street
Problems at checking with key making. Waited fifteen minutes to be taken to room. Room very tired, chipped and flaking paint work. Whole room tatty and tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

10 minutes walk to Time square and 5th avenue.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
If you are looking for a traditional hotel with super soft comfy beds, clean spacious rooms and close to everything this is the place! Had a really comfy stay even on the 17th floor. Staff were really helpful and accommodated our needs. The bathroom was in need of an update, but was always clean and functional, with soft towels and it's only a bathroom! We had a fridge and microwave and it was perfect for two adults and a teenager, giving us each a bit of space from each other. The hotels late 12 o'clock check in and luggage storage was perfect for our evening flight and they also organised a private car back to the airport which was easier than the shuttle. Time square and 5th avenue were within 10 minutes walk so it's really central to all the shops/places to visit. We would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Big Apple

A very convenient hotel close to Central Park

Posted Feb 17, 2017
I was given an accesible room on the 16th floor, the room was super spacious and clean, the only problem was with the elevators, they were busy all the time and you had to wait to catch one avaliable, other than that the location is superb, close to Central Park, subway etc, nice hotel, quiet as well
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and a good location
I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago. Sadly nothing has changed. It's a mix of the 40's and the 70's. Old fixtures, bad furniture. It is clean, large rooms, but needs to be dragged in 2017.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
It's an old building, could be modern but the price was good for the location..